Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RELAX AND ENJOY!
At illustrious Spey Public School loathed teacher Gerald Conway is murdered. Suspects abound, not just amongst the staff. All (except the culprit) are indebted to Mrs. Bradley for her help.

For the most part, this novel delights. Sparkling dialogue is a particular feature - be it youngsters surmising and engaged in squabbles or adults vague, artless and...
Published on 16 Mar 2012 by Mr. D. L. Rees

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining enough, but...
One mystery about this book is the title. It is set in a boys' boarding school but the victim is not one of the boys and there is no character called Tom Brown. The story starts promisingly and maintains a certain pace for the first half of the story, but from then on I felt it was somewhat padded. The end, when it came, seemed rather sudden. The motive for the murder was...
Published 2 months ago by A. BUTTERWORTH


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RELAX AND ENJOY!, 16 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tom Brown's Body (Paperback)
At illustrious Spey Public School loathed teacher Gerald Conway is murdered. Suspects abound, not just amongst the staff. All (except the culprit) are indebted to Mrs. Bradley for her help.

For the most part, this novel delights. Sparkling dialogue is a particular feature - be it youngsters surmising and engaged in squabbles or adults vague, artless and pedantically at variance. To add to the interest, blind Lecky Harries, a reputed witch, lives nearby - unashamedly hamming it up for visitors.

Throughout, Gladys Mitchell mischievously pokes fun at an enclosed community with its own way of life. (Mrs. Bradley is informed all boys take Divinity, but the Army Class "the Old Testament only, of course".) Contributions from pupils Scrupe, Issacher and Prince Takhobali enrich (the latter's nickname a reminder of how attitudes have since changed).

The investigation unconvincingly (but entertainingly) stretches over many weeks, allowing a range of school activities to be described. The book's title may be weak, but its characters are not - especially, of course, Mrs. Bradley - she descended from a witch and witchlike herself, causing people to recoil whenever she cackles (which she is often). Mercifully she has here stopped calling everybody "child" - curiously with the term more appropriate in these surroundings than in other novels.

Roman bath, grotesque masks, secrets, undercurrents - I enjoyed it all immensely. And, goodness, was that a touch of real magic at the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tom, not John., 28 Feb 2012
By 
kettlecharlie "john" (fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's body (Paperback)
The books by Gladys Mitchell do not fall into any of the usual types-- no aristocratic detective connected with the only, but innocent, suspect. There is no small village packed with characters all suspicious and all with skeletons neatly arranged in all the cupboards. No, Mrs. Bradley can be found in many parts of the UK-- here it is an out of the way public (in the UK this means a very private) school. During the action, an "abominable" master is murdered and Mrs.Bradley has to use guile on both the students and the masters before the solution to this 1949 mystery is revealed. A fine read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Bradley and a school for boys, 28 Sep 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Body (Mrs Bradley Book 22) (Kindle Edition)
Set in a boarding school for boys this is a brilliant example of Gladys Mitchell's Mrs Bradley mysteries. The boys themselves are well drawn as are the masters and the murder victim is the best sort of corpse - one who everyone dislikes. Mr Conway is found dead in the garden of a cottage occupied by another master - Mr Kay - who has many reasons to dislike him.

There are plenty of suspects both boys and masters - very few of either category can account for their movements on the night in question. Mrs Bradley, who knows the headmaster, is staying in the area and trying to buy a book belonging to her ancestress, Mary Toadflax, who was a witch. The book is currently in the possession of a blind witch called Lecky Harries who seems to have doubtful associations with several of the most likely suspects.

The inimitable Mrs Bradley is at her best in this book, seeing what is going on under the surface and uttering her gnomic pronouncements at regular intervals. The plot is complicated and intriguing and the writing is crisp and stylish. I thought the dialogue between the boys was well done and their behaviour was convincing. An enjoyable story which will keep the reader guessing until nearly the end of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining enough, but..., 20 Oct 2014
By 
A. BUTTERWORTH (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tom Brown's Body (Paperback)
One mystery about this book is the title. It is set in a boys' boarding school but the victim is not one of the boys and there is no character called Tom Brown. The story starts promisingly and maintains a certain pace for the first half of the story, but from then on I felt it was somewhat padded. The end, when it came, seemed rather sudden. The motive for the murder was revealed but there was no great revelation of how the amateur detective solved the crime. The process seemed more a matter of intuition than detection. I found this rather unsatisfying. Over all I found the story entertaining enough but not so good as to encourage me to seek out the author's other books, of which there are more than 60.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not my taste at all, 26 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Tom Brown's Body (Paperback)
This is the second title by Gladys Mitchell I tried to read. Although most other reviewers are quite enthusiastic about her I don't like what I have read so far. Usually I don't skip to the end of a detective novel, but in this case I did because I didn't want to struggle through the whole book. Apparently tastes are different and Mitchell's work is definitively not to my taste. I am sorry I bought the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Brown's Body, 24 April 2010
By 
S. M. Shaw "Knittynora" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tom Brown's Body (Paperback)
Well worth money and as ever, excellent story from Gladys Mitchell. Old fashioned and sometimes quaint but good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Brown's Body (Mrs Bradley Book 22)
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews