Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars181
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2014
Another good Karen Slaughter book, it was only after I started reading it, I remembered I had read it in paperback form, but, thoroughly enjoyed reading it again. Just started Broken, the next one in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
I bought this book to take on holiday, I had never read a Karin Slaughter book before and was in to it straight away and found it difficult to put down. I have since purchased 4 more Karin Slaughter books and will be making my way through them too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
This author knows how to keep a reader interested whilst introducing you to the various characters within each chapter. The content within each chapter makes you want to continue reading to establish the who, what and why ..... I have given this book 5 stars and I cannot wait to start on the next one of the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Gripping storyline, a real page turner that you can't put down.
Can't wait to read the next book.
Karin Slaughter has a real talent for keeping you wanting to read more, strong main characters in the book and was good to see Sara Linton's story character and life continue from The Grant County Series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
I love all the Atlanta and Georgia series , they are brilliant and cleverly intertwined , I wish I had read the Georgia series first though but she's a fantastic writer and can't wait to start next book :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Karin Slaughter never fails to deliver well written and gripping stories that keep you hooked right to the last sentence. Full of twists and turns that take you to the deepest darkest place in a killers mind. The characters are complex and you feel like you know them and want to be involved. Utterly absorbing. Ten out of ten
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Wow, wow and wow again! My first but definitely NOT my last Karin Slaughter novel. This is what a good thriller is all about and Ms Slaughter certainly delivers first time, nothing in this book is as it seems.

Clearly well planned and executed to perfection. The ONLY gripe I had was that it was VERY graphic in the opening scenes which made for uncomfortable reading at times but were central to the story as you got to understand the mind set of this sadistic man and what he was capable of.

Highly recommended, thank you Karin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
Most writers give their detectives a quirk, to make them memorable or seem a bit interesting. This book teams a pair of early middle aged detectives, neither of whom would normally even get a decent job in law enforcement, let alone the State Bureau of Investigation.

First - the male detective. He is unnaturally tall, wears a three piece suit and drives a Porsche. He is virtually illiterate and is dyslexic. He cannot tell his left from his right and cannot understand directions. He is an orphan who married a girl from his orphanage. She turns up once every six months for a day of torrid sex before disappearing again. He has a mobile phone that is falling to pieces. It's held together by duct tape and bits of wire. He is almost colour blind and has to set his screens to strange colour combinations so that he has more of a chance of deciphering messages. But as a good point, he is strong and very brave.

The female detective was a teenage mother who is suffering from an insulin deficiency that causes her to faint, go crazy, lose control and be unable to think clearly. She is also pregnant and has brief affairs with very unsuitable partners. Being diabetic you would think she would always have a handy supply of insulin with her. Not so! With their confused private lives, it is unthinkable that this pair of detectives could catch the very clever serial killer who abducts and tortures women victims. They stumble upon the solution in the end, rather than deduce the culprit.

Now this is a cracking read - an enjoyable book. You just have to seriously suspend reality to believe this pair of detectives could find the thief of a library book, let alone the brilliant serial abductor of women.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
As always, Karin Slaughter managed to grab my attention from the second I start reading Genesis, never letting go till I got to the end. I almost forgot to get off the train at my stop whilst reading this book and I'm not ashamed to say that this happened more than once.
Will Trent is a great character and so is Sara Linton, the medical examiner and I always keep my fingers crossed for them. I love all Karin Slaughter books and literally suffer from withdrawal symptoms when waiting for a new one to be published.

Would definitely recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 July 2009
GENESIS by Karin Slaughter is a cross-over of her two series - the first being her most known Grant County series starring Sara Linton, the other being the more recent series featuring Will Trent and Faith Mitchell. The story is based in Atlanta where Sara has moved to since the death of her husband three and a half years ago. Women have been kidnapped and brutally tortured before being found either in critical condition or dead. Will and Faith are on the case with the help of Sara to find one of the most vicious and sadistic serial killers that they have ever came across. Two women have been found so far but two more that they know of are now missing so it is a race against time to find them.

If you're a fan of either or both of Slaughter's series (like myself) then there is no doubt at all that you are going to love this book. It is more focussed on Will and Faith than Sara (she isn't in it as much as in the Grant County books) so if you are familiar with TRIPTYCH and FRACTURED it helps but is not essential. The relationship between Will and Faith feels very natural and realistic with regards to how they speak and act around one another, however their relationship with Sara does feel a little forced at times. The case is very graphic and can be quite dark and disturbing for the most part (think in the style of SILENCE OF THE LAMBS). There's quite a few suspects that could be the killer so it will keep you guessing and changing your mind the whole way through. It also gives us small chapters now and again from the perspective of the victims which tells us their fears and emotional trauma that they are going through, which just adds to the disturbing content. As well as the shocking case that the characters are all dealing with, it also touches on a lot of other matters such as Sara's grief for Jeffery (which is quite heartbreaking at times), Will's dyslexia and Faith's pregnancy and newly discovered diabetes.

Overall this is a very enjoyable novel - one of Slaughter's best I may add - and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an exciting and thought-provoking thriller. It's not essential to have read Slaughter's previous books (in both series) but does help and definitely makes you feel more for the main characters if you are familiar with them. I look forward to where she goes with her series now!
44 comments|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse