Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent cross-over and a fantastic thriller
GENESIS by Karin Slaughter is a cross-over of her two series - the first being her most known Grant County series starring Sara Linton, the other being the more recent series featuring Will Trent and Faith Mitchell. The story is based in Atlanta where Sara has moved to since the death of her husband three and a half years ago. Women have been kidnapped and brutally...
Published on 15 July 2009 by Dr Evil

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonably good thriller
A woman runs out of the woods and is knocked down by a passing car. When the cars occupants get out of the vehicle to help the woman, they discover that she has a lot more injuries, than from being hit by the car. Georgia Bureau of Investigation agent, Will Trent arrives at the scene, and he uncovers a man made chamber in the woods, were the woman hed been held captive...
Published on 1 April 2010 by J.Flood


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent cross-over and a fantastic thriller, 15 July 2009
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
GENESIS by Karin Slaughter is a cross-over of her two series - the first being her most known Grant County series starring Sara Linton, the other being the more recent series featuring Will Trent and Faith Mitchell. The story is based in Atlanta where Sara has moved to since the death of her husband three and a half years ago. Women have been kidnapped and brutally tortured before being found either in critical condition or dead. Will and Faith are on the case with the help of Sara to find one of the most vicious and sadistic serial killers that they have ever came across. Two women have been found so far but two more that they know of are now missing so it is a race against time to find them.

If you're a fan of either or both of Slaughter's series (like myself) then there is no doubt at all that you are going to love this book. It is more focussed on Will and Faith than Sara (she isn't in it as much as in the Grant County books) so if you are familiar with TRIPTYCH and FRACTURED it helps but is not essential. The relationship between Will and Faith feels very natural and realistic with regards to how they speak and act around one another, however their relationship with Sara does feel a little forced at times. The case is very graphic and can be quite dark and disturbing for the most part (think in the style of SILENCE OF THE LAMBS). There's quite a few suspects that could be the killer so it will keep you guessing and changing your mind the whole way through. It also gives us small chapters now and again from the perspective of the victims which tells us their fears and emotional trauma that they are going through, which just adds to the disturbing content. As well as the shocking case that the characters are all dealing with, it also touches on a lot of other matters such as Sara's grief for Jeffery (which is quite heartbreaking at times), Will's dyslexia and Faith's pregnancy and newly discovered diabetes.

Overall this is a very enjoyable novel - one of Slaughter's best I may add - and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an exciting and thought-provoking thriller. It's not essential to have read Slaughter's previous books (in both series) but does help and definitely makes you feel more for the main characters if you are familiar with them. I look forward to where she goes with her series now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonably good thriller, 1 April 2010
By 
J.Flood (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Genesis (Paperback)
A woman runs out of the woods and is knocked down by a passing car. When the cars occupants get out of the vehicle to help the woman, they discover that she has a lot more injuries, than from being hit by the car. Georgia Bureau of Investigation agent, Will Trent arrives at the scene, and he uncovers a man made chamber in the woods, were the woman hed been held captive. It appears, she is not the only person to have been kept in the chamber.

I thought this novel got off to a great start, and was riveting for the first 100 pages or so, as the scene is set. However, like it's predecessor, Fractured, I thought the pace of the story slowed down considerably in the middle part of the book, as Will and his partner Faith piece together their case, with the help of Dr. Sara Linton, (who readers may be familiar with from the 'Grant County' series of novels by this author).

The story does pick up though, towards the end and I thought it was a fairly good book, but very gruesome in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in favour, 7 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
I have purchased and read every book that Karin Slaughter has written She started off just great but after the first few books I was feeling 'let down' and had decided not to buy any more of her books as I felt they were becoming just like any other Amazon offered Genesis at a special discounted price so I half heartedly decided to give the author one more try I am so pleased that I did I enjoyed this book much more than the ones that preceded it though I do not think she will ever be able to recapture the originality of the first few
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slaughter back on form, 9 July 2009
By 
R. Hollingdale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Genesis (Hardcover)
After reading the last few Grant County books I was feeling that they had lost their edge, while the Will Trent books where much better. This book brings the main characters from the two series together and is Slaughter back to her best.
The story follows Will Trent trying to find a kidnapper/murderer and when one of the victim's ends up in Sara's hospital she becomes some what involved in the case.
My only comment would be that the ending was too fast; it seemed to hand the killer on a plate with no real detective work being done. Having said that though it was a really enjoyable book and is worth giving a read whether you are a follower of the other books or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis: (Georgia Series 1) (Kindle Edition)
I always figure it out just before the characters do but it's some ride to be on, suspenseful and exhilarating! What does the letter say though can't wait to start the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genesis, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis: (Georgia Series 1) (Kindle Edition)
Full of suspense. A real page tuner.
Could not put it down. A must read from one of the world's best suspense writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis: (Georgia Series 1) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable read I would read another one of her books. Bit scary as it could be true. Keep on writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the first book in this saga, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis: (Georgia Series 1) (Kindle Edition)
...but well written,characters are strong and familiar friends as you twist and turn through the series... can't wait for the next one... Good job I already downloaded it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis: (Georgia Series 1) (Kindle Edition)
I am a Karin Slaughter fan and this novel did not let me down, always awaiting the next new book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing.., 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis: (Georgia Series 1) (Kindle Edition)
...I can not get enough of Karin Slaughter!! Her books are some of the best I've ever read and she's definitely one of my all time favourite author's. This book is no different from the rest in the overlapping stories of Sara Linton and Will Trent.

I honestly can't recommend Karin' s books highly enough, read them you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Genesis: (Georgia Series 1)
Genesis: (Georgia Series 1) by Karin Slaughter
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews