Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets - an AMAZING book and one of my favourites!
I read this book and immediately I knew that it would have pride of place on my bookshelves.Filled with detail,the superb writing made me feel as if I was actually in the same room as the two main characters, India and Treasure. I could particularly relate to India's frustration at times .
The keeping of diaries filled with secrets and the lives of the two girls...
Published on 28 July 2002

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting!
This is a really exciting read for older pre-teens. Younger kids still at Primary Scool (except perhaps final years of junior school) may have trouble understanding the many difficult issues that are broached in this story.
The author uses the theme of Anne Frank's Diary and in particular one of the main characters is a bit obsessed with her. This becomes a tad...
Published on 18 Mar 2004 by mazza


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets - an AMAZING book and one of my favourites!, 28 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Secrets (Hardcover)
I read this book and immediately I knew that it would have pride of place on my bookshelves.Filled with detail,the superb writing made me feel as if I was actually in the same room as the two main characters, India and Treasure. I could particularly relate to India's frustration at times .
The keeping of diaries filled with secrets and the lives of the two girls truly brings out the outstanding originality of this story. With Treasure's currently happy life with her nan, which is continuously troubled by the prospect that she might have to go and live back with her mum and terrible stepfather and India's constant battle with her mother about her weight, on top of her dad who is apparently too busy to take notice of India anymore, you are slowly drawn into the lives of the girls throughout the book.
I loved this book, and I would seriously recommend it to anyone who enjoys a great book with an original storyline. It keeps my eyes glued to the pages whenever I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely story about friendship, 11 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Secrets (Hardcover)
Secrets is a very touching book about two girls and their life.India an Anne Frank addict meets a girl called Treasure.Treasure lives with her nan in a flat.She is trying to get away from her mum and mean step dad.And when Treasure runs away India is the only one who can help her.I rate this book 10/10 and i think 10-13 is a suitable age group for this excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE divide Jaqueline's books into age groupings!!!!, 11 Mar 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets (Hardcover)
I bought this for my 11 year old; she devoured the book, but became quieter and more sad the more she read. Why? One of the joint heroine's has made a heroine of Anne Frank and there is quite a bit about the the Holocaust in the book. My daughter is young for her age and I had to explain all the references in the book to her. It ended up with both of us crying. She is too young to know about such things - it upset my other girl at 13 and she is far more emotionally mature than her sister at the same age.
It is a good story for 13-15 year olds, but it does not make this clear. If such a classification had existed, I would have bought the book for my elder daughter, not her sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read!, 25 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Secrets (Hardcover)
This is a very exciting read.
It is about the troubles of friendship and family and will keep you reading till the end - it is funny but still gripping.
Treasure is a girl with serious family troubles - she hates her stepdad but her mum is always sticking up for him. India lives with her mum who she can't stand and her dad who she loves, but something's wrong. They meet by chance and are friends from the start. They go through highs and lows together but are always friends.
A brilliant book that shows that totally different people can be the best of friends and what a true friend really is. I'd recommend it for 11 year old's and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *[[ Secrets ]]*, 3 May 2007
This review is from: Secrets (Paperback)
jacqueline wilson has done it again, produced a fabulous,account of the lives of two young girls who become friends, from very different backgrounds they share the one thing they both need...someone to listen. every chapter is written out as though a passage from alternately treasure's and india's diary. a funny, well-written, encouraging story of how two people from different backgrounds and extremely different personalities confide theyre biggest and darkest secrets.

recommended and reviewed by shannah berry,12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Wilson's Best, 19 Dec 2006
This review is from: Secrets (Paperback)
I think that this is one of Wilson's best books--it introduces a traditional role model throughout the story, and has a significant parallelism to the life that this role model led. I think it is good that this runs through the story.

Also, Wilson has also once again succeeded in showing children emotions--there is also the issue of overcoming class within the story, which becomes the actual moral at the end.

Overall it shows how friendship can help with many problems such as family violence and over demanding something off someone, which helps to contribute to a very good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting!, 18 Mar 2004
By 
mazza (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Secrets (Paperback)
This is a really exciting read for older pre-teens. Younger kids still at Primary Scool (except perhaps final years of junior school) may have trouble understanding the many difficult issues that are broached in this story.
The author uses the theme of Anne Frank's Diary and in particular one of the main characters is a bit obsessed with her. This becomes a tad tedious as the story progresses and there comes a point when you think 'Oh please, stop!' but, having said that, this is a great read for young and old alike; it had me gasping out loud with excitement in parts!
If you can ignore the many dramatic liberties the author has taken throughout, you will love this story!
One major criticism though...this author does not have many boys or men as positive main characters which is very disappointing and in doing so, she is potentially marginalising half of the population (roughly).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 21 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Secrets (Hardcover)
Secrets is a brilliant book about India a rich young girl whos all time heroine is Anne Frank and tresure a girl who runs away to her nans house away from her mum and nasty step dad. India and Tresure are two very different girls who become best friends, they go through alot together but this book shows that real best friends are always there for you. I have read all of Jacqueline Wilsons books and reccomend them all but this is probly one of her best. It was emotional and funny.I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 3 Jan 2013
This review is from: Secrets (Kindle Edition)
Jacqueline Wilson's books are lovely and exciting but not this book I'm 12 years old and I've been taken in to care, I've never come across a book like this for starters don't read it if you don't like violence, because Treasure`s dad Terry gets his belt and whacks it right across her face.
Its very confusing when It said Tressure I found oh wow someone has found treasure not some violent stuff suddenly happens, don't get me wrong this is what I think.

Then it goes strange on to India I thought Treasure was going to India but when I finished the book, I realized they were to diffrent girls, like on this over book there's 2 different girls with 1 extrodanery friendship, Destiny and Sunset why can't it of been awesome like that one?

I'm giving you advice If you like violence READ IT if you don't DONT READ IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very secretive, 13 Jan 2008
This review is from: Secrets (Paperback)
Jacqueline Wilson has created a masterpiece which is one of my favourite books. Secrets is about a friendship between two people from two different backgrounds. India lives in the lap of luxury on a posh housing estate. Her mum is a famous children's clothes designer and her dad is top man at a top company. But India is far from happy with her life. Her uptight anorexic mother does little to hide her disappointment in her chubby offspring, and her dad is decidedly distracted these days, so India follows in the footsteps of her heroine Anne Frank and reveals all in her secret diary. Treasure lives in a council flat with her glamorous, line-dancing Nan but is scared she may one day have to go back to live with her mum. She, too, keeps a diary but hers is called the Terrible Terry Torture Manual and is filled with all the things she would like to do to get her own back on her bullying stepfather. Nan takes her to hospital where she lies to keep Terry out of trouble and then Treasure stays with her Nan for a while. Treasure meets India one day while coming back from school, at the bike park. They become good friends and see each other often. Treasure, the floppy-haired string bean, and India, the rotund red-head, meet by chance and against the odds forge a friendship that is tested to the limit when Treasure runs away to avoid having to go and live with her mum and Terry again. The frightened little girl takes refuge in her new best friend's attic, while India relishes the chance to take care of a real Anne Frank...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secrets
Secrets by Jacqueline Wilson
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews