Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars21
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2014
Debates will rage on and on forever and no-one will ever agree to end the debate.
This book is of a similar nature, whilst i agreed with a lot of what they said, i still completely agree with everything they debated.
Was okay read though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2009
Ahoy-hoy! (To quote the authors)

This is a classic slice of the two Dannies, a delicious serving of their old radio show made flesh. Or paper, at least. In a nutshell: two knowledgeable football punditry veterans share quips, tales and bon mots, while keeping the humour level at a page-turning high. Happily, Mr Baker elected to 'tell all' about his time with Paul Gascoigne, while Mr Kelly kept references to Over the Moon to an absolute minimum. Win/win.

The chapter on B&K's trip to the World Cup was particularly good and I sincerely hope that the 'Volume 1' subhead on the cover is a foretaste of more books to come.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2009
Made me laugh a lot... full of wit and wisdom, plus nicely sentimental in the right places. A good antidote to all those po-faced analyses of the modern game and great for real football fans who despair of the antics of Blatter et al.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
Purchased as a Christmas present for my husband, who is a big Danny Baker fan - and was also a big 'Danny & Danny' fan during their joint broadcasting days...
Happy hubby, good price, fast delivery - would recommend :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
...so says the tagline at the bottom of the front cover. Thoroughly agree. You either love Baker and Kelly or you don't, and I love 'em. Although the book is structured through specific questions, it differs from books like "Modern Football Is Rubbish" or even "Is It Me Or Is Everything Scheisse" (sic) in that the well-known personalities of the two chaps pours through the pages. It's not about mere opinions on subjects, it's their customarily infectious accounts of all things related to footy, whether in the park, on the pitch, in the studio, or in the bar. As Keggy Keegle has already said, the account of their trips to the World Cups in 1990, 94 and 98 is particularly hilarious. Get it, tuck in, enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2009
Too little in print today tackles the crucial role played by Kabaddi in the development of televised sport. Thankfully, the two Dannys are on hand to correct this oversight, whilst delivering much that is similarly splendid besides. I wholeheartedly recommend those who take their sport seriously - and not so seriously - to 'get involved'.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
It says a lot for British radio that Kelly is wasted on Talkshite having to kiss Collymore's backside(you are so much better than that Danny) and Baker is doing a show he could do in his sleep on Radio 5.These two belong together they bouce off each other.If i was the boss of a radio station i would give them a 4 hour show everyday and tell them just get on with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2009
This book may well be lost on people who have discovered football via Sky TV and the premiership. For the book is not strictly about the game, nor any debates. It is about life, the universe and everything. I was initially a little worried after the first few pages seemed a touch dry and the humour was weak but then the ball started rolling and I couldn't stop reading. Danny Kelly's tales of visiting various World Cup's are outstandingly good reading - barely does he touch upon a ball that was kicked, and that is the beauty of this magnificent book. There are tales contained with this book that are simply entertaining stories, and it suggests that whenever Misters Baker and Kelly get round to writing proper autobiographies, we are truly in for a treat. Both authors pen genuinely moving yet marvellously funny tributes to their football loving fathers, Baker's piece in particular cuts right to the nub of what football is all about. Also, the classic Wooden Bow Tie phone call from 606 is recounted word for word. If you love football, you will get this book. If you are the kind of person who listens to or calls 606 on a Saturday night, you won't. What is this book missing? The full story from Joanne (of course Joanne!), who during B&Ks glory days on TalkSport repeatedly called up with stories of dating / sleeping with footballers. It is sad that we will never know the outcome.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
The two Dan's deliver an excellent group of facts, figures & laughs, not enough slating United though, where are their Knighthoods?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
I am a big fan of Danny Baker and, to a lesser extent Danny Kelly, but this is not one of their finest hours. It is funny in places and covers some great topics, but there is too much about the book that plays on their own celebrity. I have also read the far funnier Modern Football is Rubbish.Modern Football Is Rubbish: An A-Z of All That Is Wrong with the Beautiful Game Classic Football debates covers similar themes to MFIR, some would say ripped it off, but I prefer a variation on a theme, but without as much wit or wisdom. If you want to buy a humorous football book for your Dad or brother this Christmas, avoid this and head for Moden Football is Rubbish, a cheaper, funnier and more fulfilling offering.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)