Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw, honest, funny ... and sexy as hell :)
"Dances with Werewolves" starts out as a familiar, gossipy introduction to the spanking industry, full of recognisable figures and mischievous commentary. The narrative soon deepens, however, into an investigation of how Niki came to be aware of her kink and how it affected her growing up. Like many kinky people, Niki's desires manifested young, and like many of us she...
Published on 6 Aug 2008 by Pandora Blake

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a brave biog
The reason I didnt give this more stars was that at times I found this a rather uncomfortable read . The descriptions of the movies were so dark that I did skip a few pages , so maybe this book is more for fans of this genre . Found her personal descriptions very honest , open and refreshing and unlike other authors in this field she can actually write and tell it as it...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by cartoon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw, honest, funny ... and sexy as hell :), 6 Aug 2008
"Dances with Werewolves" starts out as a familiar, gossipy introduction to the spanking industry, full of recognisable figures and mischievous commentary. The narrative soon deepens, however, into an investigation of how Niki came to be aware of her kink and how it affected her growing up. Like many kinky people, Niki's desires manifested young, and like many of us she went through a phase of fearing that they were harmful and unhealthy, and despairing of ever having a "normal" sexuality. Her discussion of fantasy, consent, fear and discipline is sensitive and thought-provoking. Although she and I seem to be into similar things on the surface, the underlying motivations between mine and Niki's kinks are very different, and it was fascinating to read another perspective. At the same time as celebrating the broad range of human sexuality, Niki's story has enough common ground with my own for me to identify strongly her as she gradually explored her desires and her deepest self.

At this point the book deviates from my - and most people's - experience, as Niki decides to apply for a part in a Lupus film, having never done professional spanking work before in her life. This brave leap takes her further up and further in to a compelling world of political, psychological, painful films that allow her to come face to face with the extremes of human experience. Her conscientiousness and self-awareness during her voyage of discovery are to be admired as much as her courage. Niki's a fantastic storyteller with a brilliantly dark sense of humour. Her honest appraisal of her desires and experiences make for compelling reading.

The book is a celebration of kink, a wry look at an industry that is both sublime and ridiculous, and a powerful story about fear, desire, and knowing oneself. If there are any films mentioned in the book that you haven't seen, you will come away wanting to watch them. And quite right too. Niki's influence on the world of spanking films has been positive and lasting. Her imagination, spirit and bravery has left a legacy of films that are, like this book, raw, scary, honest, challenging, intelligent and funn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well crafted book; definately must read, 30 Dec 2007
One might expect that this book was written for mere erotic voyeurs and therefore would never reach a wider audience. It deserves a much wider audience. It is a finely honed and crafted book which includes an insight into an area where one would not usually expect such an honest and explanatory text. It mght not be suitable for minors, but it deserves be read by a large adult audience. This book allows the reader into the life and reality of one person who is probably unique and certainly not "run of the mill". You may not get a buzz from the events she writes about, but you should have your eyes opened and mind broadened as you begin to understand and realise that we might all be different, but maybe we should all be tolerent of those who enjoy and believe in their own pleasures without hurt to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making the Strange the Furniture, 10 Oct 2007
Niki Flynn, a very strange little girl, becomes a very wild big girl in this telling of the life of a model. From the first words this book rings like the true silver, the only thing you can make your talisman out of, the only thing that can save you from your secrets. This is erotica, horror, humor, and a terrific read. Niki is talented. She is a great writer. She is a beautiful, if tortured, and enjoying it, soul. She dances in places the rest of us won't even crawl. She is naughty, you are going to want to take her across your lap and smack her bottom. But she has the soul of an angel, and the poise of a queen. Give yourself time to finish, because you are not going to be willing to interrupt your read once you start. And unless you are daring as Niki, you really aren't going to want to explain yourself to the school-marm reading over your shoulder on the tram.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Autobiography of a Cinematic Spanking Submissive, 14 Nov 2008
By 
Clifford (Weymouth, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the autobiographical memoir of a young American woman, an actor in many memorable, high quality spanking movies. In any autobiography, the author will not, indeed can not give the whole truth, such as it is, and devotees of a practice that attracts both prurient interest and public disapproval may well be the least reliable in this. Particularly when the author admits to some earlier fabrication, as does Flynn in this book. However, the words ring (painfully?) true, and paint a credible picture of the events and emotions that befall a seasoned practitioner of the disciplinary art. Flynn provides much material of interest to the amateur shrink in search of motivations for what many consider an `irregular' practice, but what comes through clearly is that she enjoys spanking for itself, and not as a `starter' for `something else'. The memoir also provides a valuable insight into the way the film industry works in this speciality, particularly in the case of the Czech company Lupus. Differences between Lupus and `others' are enlightening, too. This isn't really an erotic book, but it will be found interesting by those wanting to probe deeper into the practicalities of this particular branch of erotica as presented on film, and also, to a limited extent, on `the scene'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful insight to a closed world, 1 Dec 2007
By 
Archie (Edinburgh, scotland) - See all my reviews
The making of spanking and BDSM movies is usually a twilight world.

Niki has thrown that world open with an honest and informative account that I found compulsive reading.

although the fact all the models are willing participants will disappoint those who can't understand the psyche of the female submissive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtakingly Honest, 5 Feb 2008
Niki Flynn's book is a rare thing, an erotic memoire that is neither a hagiography nor a condemnation. Instead it is balanced, providing an honest, open account of her time as one of the world's best known and best loved spanking models. The writing is simple and clear, her intelligence evident throughout, allowing no room for misinterpretation of what she is saying.

To anybody familiar with the secretive, exotic world in which she moves her story will be instantly familiar, both with respect to events, thus proving her veracity, and to her feelings, which provide the most important lessons of the book.

First and foremost, if, like Niki and so many others, you feel that you are alone, without a soul in the world to share your unconventional and socially unnaceptable sexuality, her book will help you realise that you are not.

Secondly, that strong, independent woman can and do come to terms with their own sadomasochistic needs in a way that goes beyond simple acceptance to an ability to glory in that which many would comdemn and others attempt to "cure".

Thirdly, that women can and do making these choices of their own volition, not through necessity, nor by coercion.

Inevitably there will always be doubters and critics, but Dances With Werewolves brings a new honesty to this often misunderstood world and I recommend it to anybody interested in the subject, for if you have not read it, then your knowledge is far from complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for every Spanko! Superb., 4 Oct 2007
Niki Flynn might be the most famous spanking model in the world as well as the most edgy and interesting. Niki has set out to explore the world of spanking, both personally and commercially, with an eager thirst for different and challenging experiences. Making this autobiography a must-read for any spanking fan. Niki provides us with a tantalizing and voyeuristic peek into the real world behind the glamour of the spanking websites and films and it's an eye-opening journey of discovery! As a reader you literally share Niki's journey and experiences as Niki has an unprecendented talent for engaging her reader. And it is fascinating. Dances with Werewolves is fascinating, funny, hugely entertaining and poignant, but most importantly it is refreshingly HONEST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant view from the inside, 13 Oct 2007
By 
Jesse (The corner of no and where, TX) - See all my reviews
Niki Flynn is one of the best known 'spanking models' in the industry, and this firsthand memoir gives the reader a wonderful glimpse into the life of not only a very dynamic and intelligent individual but also the often misunderstood world of spanking films. From stern and strict school scenes to edgy political dramas, Niki has performed just about every role on the spectrum. She brings her own wit, sass, and undeniable appeal to every film she participates in. Being gifted with a 'behind the scenes' view only makes those films all the more appealing.

Sharing everything from her early childhood experiences, personal dreams and hopes, and even 'fan letters' she's received, Niki lays it all out for the reader. For those who are already fans, this memoir will only further endear her to them. And for those who have not yet experienced the joy of seeing Niki on film, I fully expect that they would be eager to sample some of Niki's work once they've completed this book.

This is open, honest, and frank. It's also incredibly funny and Niki's own unique and sharp sense of humour shows throughout. She has such an amazing way with words, you can't help but feel like you're there on the set with her or in her head, experiencing all the highs and lows of the power dynamic she is so drawn to. If you're into spanking at all, this is one book you will NOT want to pass up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a brave biog, 22 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The reason I didnt give this more stars was that at times I found this a rather uncomfortable read . The descriptions of the movies were so dark that I did skip a few pages , so maybe this book is more for fans of this genre . Found her personal descriptions very honest , open and refreshing and unlike other authors in this field she can actually write and tell it as it was, rather than attempting to sauce it up .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Girlfriend Experience says - this made spanking erotic and compelling, even though it's not my bag!, 5 July 2010
I was given this book by an editor of Virgin books when I approached them to publish my memoirs. He wanted me to show me the sort of thing they published. It's not a book I would have purchased because 'spanking' or any sort of pain is not my bag at all. I have never understood how people can get off on it.

However after reading it I completely understood. Niki's writing is incredible. Her talent at writing is such that it even made something that is completely not my thing; corporal punishment - sound exciting, erotic and intriguing. I actually read it as if I were her, and that is level of her writing skill. I was experiencing her experiences through her eyes, and I felt her need to be punished, her enjoyment, excitement, and release and I understood it.

This book doesn't hold back, it's an in depth account of her experiences of spanking, films and modelling. I didn't find it crude to read it was simply fascinating hearing about her life and her fantasy roles for filming that involved CP.

Like everyone in life she meets some nasty characters along the way, and there are some stories that are a little shocking and disturbing when people have gone too far with her or other girls she was working with but this is what I savour about books... you have to show the good and bad to make a well balanced, interesting book.

So what I would say is don't avoid this book because you think, 'well I'm not into spanking' if you are opened minded, have an interest in autobiographies/memoirs, and enjoy and appreciate talented writers then this book will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabacf624)

This product

Dances with Werewolves
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews