Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterly
While this may not rank against the American trilogy this is nevertheless a masterpiece. The writing is faultless and the narrative is constantly engaging. Above all Roth is, as ever, capable of creating a state of mind that is coherent and compelling.
Published on 20 Nov. 2008 by Hamsun

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacked depth and had nothing new to add to the coming of age story
I loved The Human Stain when I read it a few years ago, so have been wanting to read another one of his books for a while. When I saw that his latest book had just arrived at my library I decided to take the opportunity to be the first person to borrow the copy.

Indignation is a coming of age story. It is set in the early 1950s, when the possibility of being...
Published on 24 Nov. 2009 by Jackie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterly, 20 Nov. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indignation (Hardcover)
While this may not rank against the American trilogy this is nevertheless a masterpiece. The writing is faultless and the narrative is constantly engaging. Above all Roth is, as ever, capable of creating a state of mind that is coherent and compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Roth classic, 17 Oct. 2008
By 
William (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indignation (Hardcover)
The isn't, of course, the only Roth novel that will still be read in 50 years time, but its brevity and accessibility might make it one of the most popular. A young Jewish student is crushed between his upbringing, his intellect and life at a provincial college. Meanwhile, The Korean War, the humanist's hell, waits for him to fail. Oh yes, make no mistake, this is certainly grim stuff but Indignation is also full of humour with some genuinely hilarious moments. Work that one out. Better still, read this marvellous, short novel at one sitting. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poignant and compelling, 8 Sept. 2013
By 
Paul Harris (Llantrisant, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Indignation (Paperback)
This brief novel was one that I found poignant and irresistibly compelling. Set in 1951 with the spectre of the distant Korean War overshadowing events, Marcus Messner is a 19 year old sophomore from Newark. A good Jewish boy, and the only child in a family of butchers, he is desperate to escape the cloying claustrophobia yet well meant concerns of his somewhat neurotic father - whose greatest fear is that his son, so clever and full of promise, will do something to land himself in immense danger. After his first year, Marcus switches from his local New Jersey college to a conservative former seminary, Winesburg, out in distant Mid-Western Ohio.

Determined to avoid social frivolities, work hard at his studies and graduate as Valedictorian, the plan is to make sure he gets drafted as an officer in the Intelligence Corps, rather than as a misfortunate Private in the front line. And so, much to his consternation, and accompanied in his head by the Chinese national anthem's dramatic intonation of "In-dig-na-tion, in-dig-na-tion", Marcus' troubles begin... Unable to settle in with his room-mates, unwilling to join in with fraternity life, and unprepared for falling in love with the beguiling and complex Olivia Hutton - the once suicidal and hospitalised 'blow-job princess'- the 'expert'; he struggles to refrain from walking away from it all and heading back to Newark. What with Winesburg's compulsory chapel attendance, the Dean of Men making him physically sick, and the cigar-chomping Republican college President, at least back home he'd only have his father to make his life a misery!

But this is no simple coming-of-age tale, or rite of passage story. Roth's great skill lies with disguising the difficult and the thought-provoking as a basic story, familiar to many of us. There is a cruel twist here that I won't mention, but when it came I was at once both fascinated and saddened. The wonderfully rich portrayal of Marcus' parents is in itself a study of what love means.

After first enjoying Philip Roth when I was about the same age as the young protagonist here (I loved 'Goodbye Columbus'), I'm really enjoying an unplanned for rediscovery of his books in the last year or so. After previously giving 'Zuckerman Unbound' the full five stars, I plan on completing the whole 'Zuckerman Bound' series in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant short novel, 18 Oct. 2008
By 
J. H. Bretts "jerard1" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indignation (Hardcover)
This is one of Philip Roth's best novels, the funny and poignant story of a young man's journey to adulthood in the 1950s. Although short, it manages to pack so much in - stifling mid-Western conformity, New Jersey Jewishness, first love and the horrors of war. It is a shame the critics now take Roth for granted because he is so prolific.He is still at the top of his game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Roth novel I have red, 5 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Indignation (Paperback)
This is a poignant and compelling novel on a young man getting of age in the early 1950's. Several themes impact the reader in a very strong way: the cultural difference between the East Coast and the mid-West, the clash between atheism and religious beliefs and the difficulties between two generations to understand each other. Furthermore the tense relationship between a father and his son are very interesting as are the different characters that will intertwine in the Ohio university campus.
The greatness of this novel lies in the fact that the author goes directly to the point and focuses on the feelings of his characters; it reminded me of books I red by Coetzee that have the same power to get the attention of the reader. Thank you very much for such a powerful book Mr. Roth, I will remember this novel for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Roth - truly wonderful, 23 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Indignation (Hardcover)
Some are suggesting that Roth has become too prolific, with the implication that quality begins to dip, but Indignation refutes that. This is a tightly written, evocative and moving novel. It's the story of Marcus Messner, a young man dealing with an overbearing father and the strangeness of moving away to college, set as America is fighting the Korean War. Messner is also dead and from this vantage point, he is reviewing his short life. Such a device can be clumsy or silly, but Roth employs it to incredible effect. The characters are all vivid and memorable (the scene between Messner and the dean of men is a wonderful example) and the narrative is beautifully structured.

At the denouement, when Roth's purpose comes into final focus, I was left with the feeling of having experienced something simple and wise and powerful. I can't recommend this novel highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best of the 'Nemeses' novels, 31 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indignation (Hardcover)
Roth fans will find little to surprise them in this short novel. All the usual ingredients are here - a pinch of sexual frustration a la 'Portnoy's Complaint', the blue-collar Dads and meticulous attention to their work as per just about every other Roth novel I can think of, the New Jersey origins of the central character - but that doesn't make it any less of a pleasure. Indeed, 'Indignation' is far and away my favourite of the 'Nemeses' short novels, beating 'Nemesis' by a nose, 'Everyman' by a couple of feet, and 'The Humbling' by a country mile.

There's a certain kind of coldness to Roth's writing about the ravages of old age (see 'Exit Ghost', 'The Humbling', 'Everyman') but in focusing on a young, doomed protagonist in 'Indignation' we get a lyrical, if wistful nostalgia that's often bittersweet, and sometimes laugh-out-loud funny. Witness the narrator's reaction to his unexpected... erm... oral encounter, and his automatic assumption that she must be mentally damaged in some way. The fact that this turns out to be kind of true doesn't make his sudden, and slightly hypocritical prudishness any less amusing.

I kind of wish I could give 'Indignation' five stars, and I would have done if I were measuring it against only the other Nemeses novels. However, Roth has also given us 'American Pastoral' (one of my favourite all-time novels), 'The Plot Against America', and 'The Human Stain'. His recent work (except, perhaps, The Humbling, which I hated) is impressive, especially given his age, but these novels are still minor works compared to his output in the 1990s and early 2000s.

Still... None of them outstay their welcome. Even 'The Humbling' can (mercifully) be read in one sitting. And in the case of 'Indignation' and 'Nemeses', they're an absolute pleasure to read, however ultimately tragic their subject matter might be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Kundera, 26 Sept. 2008
By 
Daniele Sgaravatti (Florence, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indignation (Hardcover)
I got this yesterday afternoon, I finished it this morning at four. It's simply great. It is, as the title of another review has it, a novel about "the way one's most banal, incidental, even comical choices achieve the most disproportionate result." In this respect it resembles Milan Kundera's best novels. But it also is a novel about a bunch of complex, realistic characters, and about an important piece of History of the 20th century, and even more about the sincere, intelligent, passionate, and yet frustrated efforts of the protagonist to understand all that: History, people, and the way our choices can influence them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable short novel, 14 Aug. 2009
By 
This review is from: Indignation (Paperback)
"Indignation" follows college student Marcus Messner as he struggles against his overprotective father to establish his own life, identity and place in the world. Roth writes Marcus as a lively and engaging narrator and conversations and descriptions that could have become banal and repetitive leap off the page here to entertain and amuse. This is Philip Roth at his most accessible and readable and there is no doubt that this book is a thoroughly enjoyable read.

As usual, I have a slight pause for thought in Roth's depiction of female characters and sexuality. I appreciate that I am a female reader, and that Roth is male and writes from a man's point of view, but "Indignation" again shows this author failing to properly capture the sexuality of women, somehow.

Nevertheless, this short novel is great fun: playful, satirical, cruel in places and thoroughly entertaining. The pace never sags and even though the plot and characters are relatively straightforward, this is still a very complelling story and one I very much enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational Indignation, 12 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Indignation (Paperback)
One reviewer here observed that this is a "tired" effort. But surely it's just the opposite - wide awake, energetic, full of zest, bitterly funny, truly tragic, and seething with outrage at the horror that lurks at the margin of all our lives. Characters appear who we've all met and had to deal with, and not once does PR judge them, though his likeable protagonist Marcus does - and you can't blame him. Literal and metaphorical butchery is at the heart of the matter, with blades wielded to lethal effect, physical and emotional bloodletting occurring wherever we look for any number of reasons - a kosher butcher performing his ceremonial killings, Chinese soldiers defending their political ideals, a college dean battling for his vision of order, or a young woman struggling to cope with her personal suffering. In short, it's a superb effort, a whole life packed into a few hundred pages of brilliantly written prose that is a joy to read. Just click on your basket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Indignation
Indignation by Philip Roth
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews