Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You need hands
NB; THIS IS AN ACTUAL REVIEW OF THIS BOOK AND NOT A RELATED PRODUCT

Another novel adventure for the tenth doctor who and his companion martha. as usual with this range it runs for 244 pages of quite large print and is suitable for all ages to read. and the main characters are spot on in their characterisation.

Does anything make this one stand...
Published on 21 April 2008 by Paul Tapner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Many Hands
In 1759, the Doctor and Martha find themselves running from reanimated corpses through the streets of Edinburgh. But when beings appear from the Loch, that's more than the local soldiers want to know about. And Martha finds herself mixed up with Alexander Monro, who seems to have more hands than he ought. There's ghouls and ghosties afoot in Scotland, and it's up to...
Published 12 months ago by Keen Reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You need hands, 21 April 2008
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
NB; THIS IS AN ACTUAL REVIEW OF THIS BOOK AND NOT A RELATED PRODUCT

Another novel adventure for the tenth doctor who and his companion martha. as usual with this range it runs for 244 pages of quite large print and is suitable for all ages to read. and the main characters are spot on in their characterisation.

Does anything make this one stand out?

yes.

A very well realised setting, edinburgh of the 18th century, that will teach you an awful lot of history about the place.

Some good supporting characters who are very believable.

Interesting monsters who could be absurd but are actually quite a clever idea.

And some excellent and exciting set pieces. Although a few chases mean it takes about sixty pages to really get going.

A throughly enjoyable read and an above average entry in the range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Many Hands make light reading, 26 Nov 2008
Dale Smith's latest novel for the BBC Books range of original Doctor Who adventures is a fast-paced tale set in Eighteenth Century Edinburgh and featuring the Tenth Doctor and his companion Martha Jones.

The Gothic tone - mad scientist, disembodied organs, ghostly graveyard and grisly anatomical experiments - put me in mind of the 2006 TV story 'Tooth and Claw' as well as stirring memories of the show's celebrated mid-70s Gothic period and such classics as 'The Horror of Fang Rock' and 'The Talons of Weng=Chiang'.

The depiction of the Tenth Doctor immediately reflects David Tennant's uber-excitable action man, and the book's opening scene is as cooly memorable as anything from a latter-day James Bond movie.

Overall, Smith has delivered a story that one could definitely imagine as a televised adventure, and which has to be one of the series' finest original novels to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Many Hands, 29 April 2008
By 
Michelle Moore (Dartford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Despite being a big fan of the TV series, this was the first Doctor Who book that I had tried. The format is a little smaller than most books, which made it really nice to hold and read.. especially in the bath! It also allows for the story to be fast paced, so that it feels like a TV episode.

This one was based on the 10th Doctor and Martha - The Doctor's character is well written, which makes it very easy to picture him whilst reading (always a pleasure!), but I did feel that Martha wasn't captured quite as well.

The actual storyline was actually like many of the TV episodes.. it could have been quite silly, and yet somehow, it works. I don't know which age groups this book is aimed at, but younger readers may find this one a little frightening.

All in all, if this one is anything to go by, these books are great for fans, offering yet more time with The Doctor. I've already spotted some more I'd like to pick up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Many Hands, 22 Dec 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
In 1759, the Doctor and Martha find themselves running from reanimated corpses through the streets of Edinburgh. But when beings appear from the Loch, that's more than the local soldiers want to know about. And Martha finds herself mixed up with Alexander Monro, who seems to have more hands than he ought. There's ghouls and ghosties afoot in Scotland, and it's up to the Doctor and Martha to work out why and how to resolve it.

This was a story that didn't really gel too well for me - it felt like it started somewhere in the middle, and didn't have a beginning, so was hard to get involved in, or to feel that you were taking part in a story that you wanted to learn more about. While the Doctor (Tenth, as played by David Tennant) and Martha were well characterised, the story itself did not hold my interest particularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better ones!!, 5 May 2008
By 
Karina Everett "filmaholic" (East Susex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read a few doctor who books now and have tended to be dissapointed with the ending or the 'monster', however, this one is fabulous. it keeps you gripped throughout the whole book. you also have two stories running along side each other as the doctor and martha are seperated and martha gets into serious trouble and you actually feel relief when the doctor inadvertanly finds her and their two stories join.

the descriptions are so good and the 'hands' are very creepy, especially as it describes marthas thoughts as shes trapped in pitch black knowing they are somewhere in the room.

all in all a much better one than some of the others, and the doctor and marthas characters are very well written from the actors in series 3, in the way they speak and their relationship - even making reference to Rose at one point when the doctor makes a life altering decision!!

fast paced and keeps you glued!! ****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who - The Many Hands, 19 April 2013
Edinburgh, 1759.

The Nor' Loch is being filled in. If you ask the soldiers there, they'll tell you it's a stinking cesspool that the city can do without. But that doesn't explain why the workers won't go near the place without an armed guard.

That doesn't explain why they whisper stories about the loch giving up its dead, about the minister who walked into his church twelve years after he died...

It doesn't explain why, as they work, they whisper about a man called the Doctor.

And about the many hands of Alexander Monro.

Featuring the Tenth Doctor and Martha as played by David Tennant and Freema Agyeman in the hit Doctor Who series from BBC Television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, despite some impressive scenes, 5 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book lacked the gentle banter and surprise that most of the other books open with, where you get to experience the confusion of the companion as they arrive. In this, you are literally thrown into the action - danger, mystery, chases etc, but with no time to work out what is going on. There are some impressive set pieces, especially the church, but I found several scenes confusing as they required knowledge of the geography immediately around the castle in Edinburgh. Some of it seemed unfeasible, like the streets that have been built on top of and remain like tunnels beneath the buildings, and the loch at the bottom of a cliff below the ramparts where everyone from lords to servant girls tumble to their deaths. The creature was very odd and hard to work out, and I didn't know enough about the visiting American scientists to appreciate all the comments. Despite the set pieces then, the novel jars because it breaks the formula and relies too much on local knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The worst book in the series, 22 Feb 2010
By 
Chris Lunn (Portsmouth, Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was quite surpised to read the positive reviews for this book as having read all the books in the series i find this the worst by some distance.

REASONS WHY:-
1. The main monster (when it is eventually formed) stretches disbelief a little too far and was completely unbelievable (unusual for a series where the monsters are nearly always credible).
2. The prose was clunky and i struggled to finish this one (it took me 4-5 attempts)

One of only 2 stories that i haven't liked so far, the other being "The Price of Paradise" by Colin Brake.

However on the plus side the characters were well concieved and the Doctor and Martha were spot on.

Unless you are a completist borrow from your local library, rather than buying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 29 April 2008
This book is great if you have brought and not read it then do so now. The setting is great if you like Edinburgh you must read it even if you are not a Dr Who fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Many Hands
£2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews