Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars13
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Tom Harper is a pseudonym of Edwin Thomas, who grew up in West Germany, Belgium and America before returning to England to study history at Lincoln College, Oxford. Writing under the name of Tom Harper he has written three previous books: The Mosaic of Shadows, Knights of the Cross and Siege of Heaven. He writes the type of books that I usually enjoy.

The Lost Temple, could by some people be called another Da Vinci Code clone and in some ways I suppose it is. It is about the world's most dangerous treasure that has been lost to mankind for three thousand years. Now the code is about to be broken. Deciphered it could lead to one of the greatest prizes in history,

The treasure could be as dangerous as it is valuable and all the major governments in the world want it. For starters the CIA are after it and so are the Russians and it is a race against time for who is going to get what could be the greatest and also the deadliest find there has ever been.

The book contains all the factors necessary to make an appealing and exciting story. Yes it may be similar to the Da Vinci Code and many other books published since, bo so what, not every book has to be a literary classic, sometimes we just want to be taken out of ourselves and entertained and i think that this book does that. I for one enjoy this type of novel and if you don't, well, that is the point of the review, you will not buy it.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2007
Tom Harper's fourth novel is set just after the second world war and is an imaginative, fast paced and intelligent tale of the deciphering of Linear B (an ancient Greek language that was actually decoded in 1952).

The book's heroes are "Sam Grant, a disgraced ex-Special Forces soldier... a brilliant Oxford professor and a beautiful Greek archaeologist". Together they set off to beat an assortment of hoodlums, former Nazis and KGB agents in a race to crack the code.

I liked Dan Brown's da Vinci Code, and Lost Temple is, to some degree, similar. But I think there is much more going for Tom Harper's tale. For a start, Harper's grasp of history is better than Brown's, as is his story telling. Think of it as a cross between the da Vinci code, Indiana Jones and James Bond, with some extra special "Harper spice" thrown in and you might be close to the mark.

Very good indeed.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2008
This was a good read, although it never got truly gripping or compelling. A previous reviewer (11/01/08) has mentioned the siege of Antioch, but he/she is mistaken as that event does not appear anywhere in this book, nor is this novel set in the Crusades. Indeed he/she seems to be reviewing a different book. Previous reviewers have done an adequate job in describing the novel, the plot and its good and bad points, so I shall keep this brief.

The book is different in that the secret or historical mystery is not concerned with Christianity, but with ancient Greece and Mycenae, the age of heroes and of Homer, and the Linear B text. In this respect the novel is an original, and welcome, addition to the historical thriler genre. The book remained interesting, and there was plenty of pace. However, things did get predictable and you could spot the bad guy a mile off. Most disappointing of all was the weak ending - a bit of a cop-out - and it made all that had gone beforehand irrelevant and perhaps a waste of time.

In conclusion, I would recommend the book, but be prepared for a let-down at the end!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
To begin with I need to say that I like adventure/mystery books that offer me ideas, locations and plots that are totally outside of the average person's day to day experience and so offer a means of entertainment and escape to the reader.

This book fulfilled all of my expectations.

What made this book stand out for me was the basing of the plot in ancient Greek mythology. Many people would say that such an area would have little modern relevance but the author develops the plot in such a way that links events in the Bronze Age with those of the immediate post-WW2 era.

That the locations included places along the southern edge of the USSR where millennia ago there had been ancient Greek settlements was an added level of interest to me.

This was for me an enjoyable book of its genre
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2008
This book is not up to the strength of the other Harper books. It is an enjoyable summer holiday read, but if you have seen the Indiana Jones films and read the Da Vinci Code you know precisely what is going to happen before it does in the book. It is pretty well written and readable but very much a mixture of previous fictional plots.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2012
As with all the Tom Harper books this again appeared a well researched piece of fiction. So thrilling I was reading it whenever I could. Presently reading The Lazarus Vault and will review that when I've finished it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
Love the book which arrived on time and in good condition. Look forward to when I have the occasion to read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
A very enjoyable fast moving book. Very informative and gives a lot of historical information as well as moving in a very pacy way. Novels which inform as well as having an all action plot are particularly enoyable being better than the run of the mill adventure stories with no deeper background. This book makes you think and I would recommend this novel to anyone. Having found Tom Harper I intend to read more of his books and hope they live up to this one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
Highly recommended for secret adventure seekers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Son in law liked this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.