Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great
Read this on Kindle. Another good `Nick Stone' thriller. They say McNab knows his stuff and as a former soldier I definitely agree. Good locations, especially liked the description of Dubai (not like the tourist brochures) Iran and Russia. Decent plot with some good action scenes but a bit too `writing by numbers' to be five stars. Overall liked it and will definitely...
Published on 2 Feb 2011 by Walshy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Expected more...
In some ways it gets back to the "original McNab" - the sense of observation, the detailed oriented descriptions...but then...there isn't much action. It gets boring at times. I struggled, but got to the end of it.
Published on 5 Dec 2011 by Rafal Gruszczynski


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: Exit Wound: (Nick Stone Book 12) (Kindle Edition)
Read this on Kindle. Another good `Nick Stone' thriller. They say McNab knows his stuff and as a former soldier I definitely agree. Good locations, especially liked the description of Dubai (not like the tourist brochures) Iran and Russia. Decent plot with some good action scenes but a bit too `writing by numbers' to be five stars. Overall liked it and will definitely read his next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST EVER!, 5 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pacy, punchy, Nick Stone rides again - once more with a totally compulsive plot and characters, and seat-of-your-pants suspense from the first page to the last. Exit Wound is more than a thumping good read - it's a pulverizing assault on your senses and nerves!

All the McNab hallmarks are here on parade: dark humour, graphic description, and dialogue as sharp as razor-wire.

For the umpteenth time since Remote Control, I found myself propelled through a Nick Stone adventure in only a couple of sittings, always promising myself I would stop for a brew when the chapter I was reading ended, and finding myself breaking the promise again and again. You get so sucked into the whirlpool you feel you're being pushed and pulled round the streets of Dubai, Tehran and Moscow (hope that doesn't give too much away) until you're finally spat out on the last page.

Stupendous writing. McNab - you've done it again, mate!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great writing, 9 Dec 2009
McNab is a great thriller writer but his last two novels have taken him in another direction. This time it's the geopolitical relationship between Iran, Russian and the unpleasant underbelly of American politics. At the same time his fictional character Nick Stone is gradually becoming a (slightly) more reflective individual rather than a one man war machine. The action still comes thick and fast. For the second time he has shown that he is ahead of the curve in world events. Another superb read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another excelent thriller from McNabb, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit Wound: (Nick Stone Book 12) (Kindle Edition)
12th in the Nick Stone series from Andy McNab, and the original formular still holds its own. Fine action written by someone who has been there - worn out the 'T' shirt, a believeable story and an excellent way of painting the scene with words. Looking forward to no 13, Mr McNab, these books are best read inorder as the character (and the author) developes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from McNab, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow. Lived up to all my expectations. I love the way the books are written. The tension and excitement builds well and draws the reader into the story. This book is no exception and was thoroughly enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars hugely disappointing, 18 Dec 2013
By 
McNab's plots have been getting more and more silly over his past few novels and this one plumbs new depths of nonesensical implausibility, without even much action to redeem it. Not sure if I can even be bothered to read the last few pages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit Wound: (Nick Stone Book 12) (Kindle Edition)
Andy McNab has managed to turn his military experiences into written format with such professionalism. His Nick Stone character is especially good and with very believable story lines. Great reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Andy McNab is one of the best Authors i have read in a long time, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. T. Waddington "grandprixmitie" (West yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit Wound: (Nick Stone Book 12) (Kindle Edition)
Andy McNab is one of the best Authors i have read in a long time, as soon as I finish one book I cannot wait for the next, once into each story its easy to imagine every scene and detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit Wound: (Nick Stone Book 12) (Kindle Edition)
I started reading this on the Tuesday and had finished it by the Saturday. Although it was along the same lines as the other Nick Stone books (Nick goes on a mission and it all goes horribly wrong), it was an absolutely gripping read and held my attention until the very last page...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is good, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit Wound: (Nick Stone Book 12) (Kindle Edition)
Nick Stone is honest and what you read is what he is.
Andy McNab takes you to places where you would never dream of going yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6d92fa8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews