Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous original Russian fantasy
I agree with the previous reviewers -- read the other two books first. I found this one first without knowing about the others and it was more enjoyable to revisit after the first two. The fantasy world is original, the stories have pace and are full of intrigue like a political novel, the characters, both Light and Dark, interesting, and the dialogue often funny. Each...
Published on 10 Dec. 2007 by Kindle Customer

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Overall I thought the book was good. However, as a trilogy I would expect all the loose ends to be tied up at the end. This did not happen, I can only speculate this is due to the authors need for us to purchase another book. If it is supposed to be a trilogy why is there already four books. Can they not count!
Published on 9 Feb. 2009 by Eileen Banford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous original Russian fantasy, 10 Dec. 2007
I agree with the previous reviewers -- read the other two books first. I found this one first without knowing about the others and it was more enjoyable to revisit after the first two. The fantasy world is original, the stories have pace and are full of intrigue like a political novel, the characters, both Light and Dark, interesting, and the dialogue often funny. Each novel has three stories, each of which starts as a separate story but is in fact complexly intertwined with the previous history.
What gave these novels the edge for me is the setting of modern Russia, with its post-Soviet background, the new and the old still side by side, the Moscow street names, the run down trains... Now I understand something about the proper Russian way to drink vodka and why only Russians can do it right.
The camaraderie between the characters -- more with the Light ones -- is satisfying, the way they manage to have fun even though they're engaged in a permanent secret war with the other side, the occasional uneasy fraternizing with the enemy, all contribute to the enjoyment.
By the way, the blurb "Harry Potter, Russian style" on the book covers does not cut it at all, in my view. If you like fantasy and are looking for something original, dark but not dirty, and which may cause you to search your own heart for the good & evil that is there, then I think you'll be well served.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Russian Dark Fantasy, 27 Sept. 2007
By 
Wyvernfriend (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Twilight Watch (Paperback)
So dark it's dancing with horror.

I would recommend reading this after the other two in the series, Night Watch and Day Watch and if you've read them a while ago refreshing your memory.

The story starts with Anton and an attempt to find out who revealed the existence of the Others to regular humans. After Anton has finished with this he joins his wife and child, who are on holiday and from there on in things get very involved and messy. The lines between good and bad are blurred and confused and Anton isn't usre of who to trust, who to believe and what way he should go.

It's interesting and the unfolding of the mythology of the Other world is quite well handled. I've enjoyed the series, I've found it interesting to have a darker view of the world, to contrast with a lot of the Vampire Romances I've been reading recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third in the series, doesn't disappoint, 3 Aug. 2007
By 
E. Rolison (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Twilight Watch (Paperback)
I caught 'Night Watch' when it came out on film in the UK, because ... well, it was Russian, fantasy and modern day setting.

I was stunned by the quality of the work, especially given the rather limited budget they had available.

So I picked up Night Watch when I saw it available.

Twilight Watch is the third in the series. I've loved every page so far, and this one remains on good solid form. It follows the usual format, of 3 stories in one book, that seem only peripherally linked. But it remains a fascinated and compelling setting, with characters that are interesting and complicated, but at the same time have a rough human edge to them.

A glorious book, and a very worthwhile read. But catch Night Watch and Day Watch first - whilst this one does actually stand alone fairly well, it's worth getting some of the history in place beforehand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As entertaining as the previous two books, 21 Jan. 2009
By 
Mr BD - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A slight change to the previous format. Yet again there are three stories within this book, but the link between all three is more obvious. In the previous books it wasn't until the last story that the joins became apparent.
As well written as the previous books in the series, with insights into Russian life and behaviour. At one small section I do suspect the author's own opinions of the 'breakaway states' comes to the fore (it's almost a rant), but it doesn't detract from the mood of the piece at all.
The whole story relates to the discovery of a book that was thought to exist only in myth - detailing the process needed to turn any 'normal' human into an Other; the rumours of it's existence, the discovery and theft of it. Within this series of stories the power of the Others is explained to some degree, and the amount of dependency that they have upon 'normal' humans. It also describes the deeper levels of the Twilight and how each level affects those using it.
(As an aside, I find it interesting that what is referred to as the Twilight in the books is called the Gloom in the films, and I think the Twilight is a far better name. Slightly different interpretations of the same Russion word.)
As with the two previous books, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Although reading those books first is not vital to this volume, it would make understanding the whole concept a good deal easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 3 of 4: Metamorphosis from Light to Dark?, 2 Jun. 2007
By 
Mao (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
This particular edition "Sumerechnyi Dozor" is a Russian publication, but the German version of "Twilight Watch" has been available for some time and the English version is about to be released this summer.

"Twilight Watch" follows "Night Watch" and "Day Watch" and anticipates "Eternal Watch" (available already in Russian and German).

In this third instalment of the series of four the son of the leader of Moscow's Night Watch blackmails a stranger into altering him to become an "Other", a member of the forces of Light or Dark, which has previously been believed an impossible feat. The novel follows the Night Watch's attempts at uncovering who this stranger is. This novel is a direct continuation of the previous books regarding background story and main characters, although some former secondary characters have become more important.

Described as Russia's (belated) answer to Tolkien, Lukianenko has created a lively and absorbing narrative evolving around the forces of the Light and the Dark, who, embraced in an eternal battle for the minds and spirits of the human population, share the responsibility to monitor each other's activities to uphold an equilibrium agreed upon a thousand years ago in the "Great Contract". Thus both forces have set up units tasked to control each other, making sure the respective other side observes granted quota of influencing humans: at night, the wizards and shapeshifters of the Light (the Night Watch) will police the streets, while at day it is the vampires and witches of the Dark (the Day Watch) who monitor the Light's activities.

Lukianenko does not simply take a manichaean stand point in his stories where the Light is the absolute Good and the Dark is the absolute Evil, but describes both sides as natural aspects of live and thus willing to go to considerable lenghts to assure their own status (aspiring dominance over the other). A feature Lukianenko uses to infuse the narrative with mysticism is the concept of the 'Twilight' and its several layers through which the forces of Light and Dark can move - unobserved by humans in the 'real world' - always endangered to be sucked into the void of un-being.

Each of the novels feature a pre-prolog stating this story's significance to the cause of the forces of Light and Dark, indicating both sides' actions. The narrative in "Twilight Watch" is described as being 'inconsequential' to the cause of both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 April 2011
By 
simon211175 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Twilight Watch (Night watch triology Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
It's been far too long since I read The Day Watch, but I'm glad I finally got here. This book follows nicely from the first two, and I can only repeat what other people have said: you really do need to start with The Night Watch or else you will be totally lost. Once you've read the first two books in this series, come back, we'll all be waiting.

Okay, up to speed? Good. This book sees us following Anton again as he struggles to fight the good fight for The Night Watch. Witches, werewolves, vampires etc etc. You all know what to expect. That's why we're here, right? The Night Watch, Day Watch and the Inquisition all find themselves teaming up against an unlicensed witch with great power, the hunt for a book thief and an Other trying to turn a human into a magician. Three individual stories, all separate, and yet all linked, just as the other books were.

Each story is brilliantly told, with enough action and suspense to keep the pages turning. There are a few twists along the way, some predictable, but it matters little when the writing is so well done - even considering this is a translation of a Russian story.

I really liked The Night Watch, but I found the sequel to be slightly more enjoyable - probably due to recognising some of the faces. This one I think I liked even more than The Day Watch, which can only mean I now have to go read the final part (The Last Watch) as soon as I can!

If you've read the first two books - and of course you'll have enjoyed them - you need to read this. If you've not read the first two, why are you still here? Go do it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural adventure twisting Russian folklore, 16 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Twilight Watch (Night watch triology Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The third book of the Watch trilogy and one that takes a slightly different path. A lot of the action takes place outside of Moscow and seems to draw on Russian folklore without making this tedious and offering explanations. All cultures have stories of witches and other worldly beings but I like the fact the book seems to brush up against these and continues in it's own mythology.

Once again the pattern of 3 stories in book is continued and possibly even starts to feel a little predictable at this stage. Also there are instances of the wrong character named in scenes (something that happened a lot in The Day Watch) but it's only a couple of times.

The writing is very strong and Anton's struggle with his place in the world and the cause of the Light v the cause of the Dark is very interesting and is the same moral struggle we all go through in daily life but obviously in the book it's played out in much greater scale as Anton has powers beyond those of you and I.

The Twilight Watch is a great read, you feel you know the characters so well at this point that it's a comfort to settle down to another adventure with them and, if you've read the other books, you'd feel cheated if you didn't read this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong, 26 Mar. 2010
This is another good book in this series, and once again Anton Gorodetsky is back in the main role. The first story here isn't quite as exciting as some of the other ones, but the author makes up for it in the next two, and the second story in particular is one of my personal favorites throughout the whole series. Lukyanenko keeps inventing new characters and deeper levels of the Twilight, along with greater possibilities in the realm of magic. If you liked the first two books, I would be greatly surprised if you didn't like this one as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 4 Feb. 2009
By 
M. Raymomd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Twilight Watch

Well written. An interesting story line. I liked the modern Russian perspective. This is not like JK Rowling despite the jacket claim. It is for adults and far better,including the English. The translation seems to have kept the idea of including Russian sayings etc. These feel authentic, and at least they work. The characters seem plausible, particularly Anton and Ceaser, and human behaviours are credible, thus leaving room for the magic elements to be contextually viable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 14 May 2010
Following on from the Night and Day Watch books I really enjoyed The Twighlight Watch. I can't wait to read the next one. I read this quite a while ago but I loved it. My only hope is that there will be more to come! The whole series is like a grown up version of Terry Pratchet's work, anyone who's a fan of the Discworld series, and fantasy in general, but wants a read that has a bit more adult themes you'll love this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews