Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious
This is my fourth Roddy Doyle book and although I would recommend anything he writes, this is by far the best I have read so far. It struck me that anyone who likes the UK series "The Royle Family" would love this book. The central character is a beer-loving layabout who sees the Van Project as a big game, which he eventually tires of. The Rise and Fall of...
Published on 7 Sept. 2001 by G. Bowman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Van a story about a chip van
Tedious, I have given up three quarters through the book. So disappointed. I did not find it funny as some of the reviews do.
Published 13 months ago by Diana Gibbs


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A Bitter sweet tale of friendship, 24 Sept. 2012
This review is from: The Van (Paperback)
Roddy Doyle is best known for being the author of The Commitments which was made into a smash hit film. When I started reading The Van I expected the same kind of larger than life characters as The Commitments and I wasn't disappointed.
Jimmy Senior is unemployed and depressed. He spends his time with his granddaughter trying to fill the endless days. He tries his best to make light of his situation but his anger often gets the better of him.
This is where we find ourselves at the start of the novel. Doyle injects humour into everyday situations whilst at the same time showing us some ordinary Irish folk having a very rough time of it.
When Jimmy Senior's friend Brendan, known to all as Bimbo, is made redundant Jimmy's mood is lifted as he gets to have some company to fill the long and lonely days. When Bimbo's redundancy cheque arrives Bimbo has an idea and the two friends embarked on an unlikely business venture.
The story isn't the fastest moving and it's a story about people rather than events. Doyle's comic touch livens things up nicely and I found myself laughing out loud often when reading it. There's a melancholy to it but this seems to blend nicely with the humour. A tale ultimately about a friendship between men that was a fantastic read. My one criticism is that the ending petered out a little and could have been better developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's da bom, 1 Sept. 2004
This review is from: The Van (Paperback)
This is the first book i have ever finished reading it's hilarouis.If you really hate reading and your asked to read a book or you just fancy trying to read a book and finish it well i can garentee u this is the book for you.if you buy it and read it try asking other people to read it howm read all the time they'l get lost and fedup so if you fance an exelent funny book which will definetly entertain the non reader this is the book for u.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Roddy Doyle fans won't be disappointed, 6 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Snapper (Paperback)
Fans of Roddy Doyle won't be disappointed by The Snapper. With this book, he manages to create an air of suspense that grips the reader from the first couple of pages, and keeps you hooked with a household of lovable rogues and strong women characters until the very end.

The Snapper is a tale of an Irish family and community told in the context of Sharon Rabitte's unplanned pregnancy by a man she refuses to name. It is largely told through witty and sensitive dialogue, and follows the Rabbitte family's coming to terms with this fairly scandalous event, especially her `da', Jimmy Snr. and her mother Veronica.

This is one of his earlier works, written before Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha and a Star Called Henry, and while this is apparent primarily in the fact that this story is not nearly as ambitious as his latter works, it is still rip roaringly funny. It is also an easier read. I would recommend reading Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha first, and if you enjoy that you will probably enjoy this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT READ ON A FULL BLADDER !, 11 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Van (Paperback)
This is the funniest Roddy Doyle book that I have ever read.It is a wonderful story of male friendship that captures the Irish sense of humour brilliantly.The language did not offend and in a way adds to the hillarity of the story.The Van also gives an insight into a very harsh way of life and how a sense of humour can help you through the tough times.I also get the feeling that you are looking at a real slice of the male thought process - you know the bits they won't admitt to !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Van a story about a chip van, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Van (Paperback)
Tedious, I have given up three quarters through the book. So disappointed. I did not find it funny as some of the reviews do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Snapper, 7 Nov. 2009
This review is from: The Snapper (Paperback)
It states on the back that you will laugh out loud - I can only say that this is true! People on the train thought I was a lunatic but believe me this is a fabulous read on so many levels.

Doyle tackels the serious issues of rape and unwanted pregnacy in what you initially think as a passive comment but don't be fooled fatherhood, family, community and friendship are all under scrutiny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Irish Tale, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
T. L. Roache "Ten" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Van (Paperback)
Full of laughs and with a perfect ending, I recommend this quick read - once you get around the lingo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the finest book ever written, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Van (Paperback)
I treated myself to reading this again after about 15 years. It was a joy from start to finish. Apart from the comic set pieces (cleaning the van, Bertie teasing Bimbo about his mother in law) this is a sensitive portrayal of tender relationships, none more so than the friendship of middle-aged men in the midst of existential crisis. With chips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, yet touching, 2 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Snapper (Paperback)
Doyle deals with woman issues like no other writer. In the Snapper we see Sharon Rabbitte pregnant by an unlikely suspect. She is both shunned by Barrytown and at the same time a local hero because of it but her fatgher is not pleased when the father is named. This book is really funny and a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absoloutely pure Irish comic-GENIUS!!!!, 16 Oct. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Van (Paperback)
The Van by Roddy Doyle is absoloute faultless comic writing on the authors behalf. I have never read such a funny, warm or more down to earth book than this and i have read millions of books. Chose this book to do my english higher and i recommend it strongly to anyone witha sense of humour!!!! BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Snapper
The Snapper by Roddy Doyle
£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews