Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRILL!, 4 Jan 2008
By 
This was the first biggles book i ever read. Formerly Biggles of the Camel Squadron this book has not changed, even though i expected that they would use more up to date language. They Haven't, this book has been unaltered since it was first published. It shows how much strain fighter pilots are under and brings out the heart of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biggles of the Camel Squadron, 21 July 2011
By 
Michael Field "Mikes Headroom" (Somewhere in England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To complete the WW1 collection of Biggles short stories - when published in the 60s, they were collected together as Biggles Pioneer Air Fighter, Biggles of 266 & Biggles of the Camel Squadron.

As ever, these are more of the best Biggles stories, striking a wonderful balance between the very deadly real dangers of fighting above the trenches versus an air of levity, adventure and comradeship.

If you enjoyed any of the other stories set at the same time, you have to complete the set. They're so addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book, 13 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This is a great book it's about Biggles and Algy's adventures during World War 1. they find themselves dicing with death as they fly around France shooting down the Germans. They become very good friend's with a clever pilot which they nickname the 'Professor'. Biggles saves the 'Professor' many times and it makes a great story.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoorah for Biggles, 14 April 2014
By 
C. Innes (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Biggles of the Fighter Squadron (Kindle Edition)
It is very difficult to get our son (11 years) to read. He loves this book and is now reading more in the series. A hit for a recalcitrant reader - it is well written and introduces new vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Biggles of the Fighter Squadron, 11 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. P. H. Gallienne "Peter G" (Channel Isles, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A number of the stories in this book also appear in other Biggles First World War books.
This does not detract from the enjoyment of reading them.
See my other reviews of W E Johns Biggles Books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I <3 biggles, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Biggles of the Fighter Squadron (Kindle Edition)
as soon as my dad introduced me to
this book-series I loved it so much. I am so happy and
Will read lots more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sky High With Young Biggles!, 12 Mar 2013
A REVIEW OF `BIGGLES OF THE FIGHTER SQUADRON' by Captain W.E. JOHNS
`Biggles of the Fighter Squadron' was first published in 1934 under the name of `Biggles of the Camel* Squadron'. Comprising 13 short stories, it recounts the early days of James Bigglesworth's career when he was a young pilot in the RFC (Royal Flying Corps) at the latter end of The Great War.

Like all of the best entries in this mammoth series of action-adventure yarns, it is full of excitement and incident. In a forward by W.E. Johns, we are told that - no matter how far-fetched they may appear to be - the stories are all based upon genuine incidents of madcap airborne heroics. Thus, we must accept that a pilot could survive flying underneath a too-narrow German-held bridge, losing his wings in the process of dropping an all-important bomb. Likewise, the terrifying `reality' of lethal phosphorous-fuelled clouds must be taken at face value. Indeed, Johns instils his tales with such energy and credibility that comes from knowing the HE WAS THERE, that the reader cannot help but be mesmerised by the described events.

Although ostensibly a `children's' book, `Biggles of the Fighter Squadron' doesn't shirk from some of the grim realities of warfare. Although there is a shoot-`em-up feel to some of the aerial passages, the loss of a fellow pilot is truly FELT by Biggles. Similarly, in one terrific story ('Biggles Finds His Feet'), our hero crash lands in No Man's Land and finds himself caught up in the grim theatre of trench warfare. Finally, `Scotland Forever!' (the last tale) offers up a wild, bloody showdown inside a British aerodrome with the Germans launching a fierce, futile closing onslaught at the end of the conflict.

What is perhaps most interesting about `Biggles of the Fighter Squadron' is the fact that this young Biggles (he could only have been in his late `teens in 1917-1918) is a far more raw and therefore credible character than the more sterile `stiff upper lip' air ace that he would later become. So much so that this Bigglesworth is not averse to some pointed sarcasm and mickey-taking aimed at his fellow flyers, notably the geeky maths-mad `Professor'. This is far-removed from what might be described as `banter', reflecting what would have been taut nerves and strained relationships among the men during the waiting for take-off.

Thus, to conclude, `Biggles of the Fighter Squadron' is an engaging and exciting read. Owing to the inevitably variable quality of its baker's dozen of stories (`Biggles Day Off' for one over-presses the, "Trust me, this could happen." button), it does not score as highly as some of the stronger novels in the serious, notably the truly-brilliant, `Biggles Defies The Swastika'. Nevertheless, `Biggles of the Fighter Squadron' undoubtedly hits more than it misses and offers far more highs than lows.

Barty's Score: 8 / 10

* Don't be confused folks. There are no desert-dwelling, even-toed ungulates here. A `Camel' is the nick-name of a British plane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Biggles of the fighter squadron, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First Biggles book bought for 10 year old grandson who enjoyed it and wants to read more. Good to see Biggles is still going strong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real War, 18 Jan 2001
By A Customer
I first thought I hadn't read this book yet but now I realise that I have. It was the first one I read. I loved it because it showed excactly how it felt in a real Camel, in the First World War. It really must have been scary. But, as usual Biggles never dies so he manages to outwit any pilot because most of the Huns (as the RAF and Biggles called them) were not Ace's like Biggles. Biggles is superior. He, and Algy (Ginger and Bertie he hasn't met yet)survive through many battles and dogfights. As well as the story the words used in the book are the same as they probably called them in that time. E.g. Archie which was called Flak in the Second World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews