Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars35
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2009
I've read many, many Black Lace books in my time. Books about bad girls and good girls and weird girls, books set in ancient times and Victorian times and totally non-existent times.

But seriously, I've never read a Black Lace book like this. It's both a short story collection and a novel, of sorts- we're given enough to care deeply about the main heroine, but she also spends a lot of time dissecting (delightfully) the sex lives and kinks and tricks of the various visitors to the Hotel, so you can dip into it at various points, or gobble it up all at once.

I'm afraid I had to gobble it up, because each teasing vignette left me wanting more, while frantic to find out about Sophie and her continuing storyline. She gives the book what it needs- a sense of exploration, of a real heroine trying to understand each new naughty thing that the Hotel's guests are indulging in.

Which makes her getting sucked in all the sweeter, of course.

But I don't think saying so really covers what Ms. Elyot has achieved, here. She's used an old skool Black Lace setting, but re-invigorated it and re-evaluated it and made it completely real. She's delivered a book that is absolutely chock-full of wit and humour, without losing the steaming heat. She's written a perfectly erotic book, and yet somehow allowed in romantic elements that don't lessen the impact of that eroticism.

And I want to bonk all of its heroes. Which when it comes down to brass tacks, is the highest accolade I can give. Why aren't you reading this book, already?
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 December 2009
Previous to reading On Demand, I'd read Justine's stories in anthologies and always enjoyed them. So I was pleased to get my hands on a whole book of her writing! Rather than being a novel, though, On Demand is an anthology of short stories, all written to a theme. And the theme in this steamy read is the setting - a hotel.

What makes the book so fabulous is the fact that it isn't just a book of stories based in a hotel; it's also centred around the same characters. This means, of course, that you get to know and care about the characters and what happens to them. You'll feel yourself getting thrilled when they get hot under the collar, and getting hot somewhere else when they're getting laid! And boy, do they get laid!

With a theme like the one chosen for this book, it would have been very easy to get stuck in a rut and for all of the stories to have been formulaic. However, Ms. Elyot has skilfully written the stories in different places and scenarios, so every tale is fresh and fun, as well as damn sexy. The tone is light, and there's definitely more physicality going on than emotional attachment, but that's what makes this book what it is. It's a fruity, frisky fun fest that has something for most tastes, and will get you horny in no time!

As well as being fabulous, On Demand is also the end of an era. For it's the last book to be published by now defunct erotica publisher Black Lace. R.I.P, you will be missed. So grab yourself a piece of history and get a bonking good read at the same time!
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2010
On Demand is the first full-length novel by Justine Elyot. The novel's protagonist is the young and adventurous woman, Sophie, who one dreary day finds herself at a crossroad in life and chooses the less conventional path. To put it simply, she makes a deal with herself to accept any and all sexual possibilities that should happen to fall into her lap. Through her funny and laidback voice we hear of not only her experiences and explorations, but are given the proverbial tour of the entire hotel, its guests and employees. Through Sophie we hear of the housewife with a forbidden and long-denied fantasy that suddenly re-surfaces, stronger than ever and in desperate need of sating, we hear of the gym instructor who's always been too cocky for his own good being taught manners by a pair of strong-minded English celebrities, we hear of the dreamer who is given a much-needed lesson in her own desires and we hear of Sophie herself, of course. Her story is a story of discovery; throughout the chapters we are confronted with Sophie's thoughts about her own nature, the nature of the men (and women) she meets and upon the general nature of sex and love, which, she finds, are not always connected and need not always be. At one point Sophie, who keeps her promise and says yes to any and all opportunities she gets, starts looking, not for more, but for something else. She decides to take on the ultimate challenge; the only man in the hotel who hasn't tried to sleep with her. In her pursuing him, she finds out more than she probably cares too about herself, him and the hotel she is working at, and she also finds out that sometimes what you want and what you get may be two completely different things but no less gratifying. On Demand is a fun, sexy and thoroughly enjoyable novel. It holds the perfect blend of humour and gravity, of smut and love, and everything else a good story needs, and if you fancy a light read that's guaranteed to strike hot with at least one of your kinks, this book is highly recommendable.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2009
Justine Elyot has had several tempting short stories in black lace anthologies but at last a full book just for her. The short stories are woven together by a witty and intelligent protagonist in Sophie and each is filled with the fabulously humorous yet wonderfully sexy style from Justine's previous work. The stories are nicely varied so will appeal to a range of readers and kept my interest throughout.

overall I'd recommend this to any reader of erotica
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2010
Lust, we have been taught, is something better kept private, hidden even; a source of pleasure of the shameful kind that can only be freely discussed and unabashedly enjoyed by congresses of depraved baboons.Therefore, erotica writers find themselves in a conundrum : abide by the unwritten law and present the readers with archetypal perverts in lieu of actual characters or send it all to Hell and remember that people who like sex are just that : people. Luckily for us, Justine Elyot is one of those many good erotica writers who chose the second option.

On Demand is a book about sex, all sorts of sex : two-person sex, many-person sex, heterosexual sex, homosexual sex, front-and/or-back sex... And all these types of sex have one thing in common (aside from joyful titillation) : fulfilment. They delight the characters and the readers alike. Not just on a physical level, though this is always nice, but also in a more personal manner for the characters imagined by Justine Elyot are not victims of their appetites. They have simply reached the intelligent conclusion that starvation is not all that exciting. They have thought it through. Like normal, regular, ordinary people. Normal, regular people who do not just say a couple of things, do a couple of people and then say another couple of things (possibly about that couple of people they did). Normal people who 'unhook', 'gasp', 'smack', 'hold', 'clutch', 'tap' and 'smear'; 'gripe', 'assert', 'wail', 'ask', 'lie', 'breathe' and 'laugh'. Just people. With pee-pee parts !

Varieties of people, all of whom get satisfaction, some of whom find more. It is the case of Sophie Martin, the main character, whose self-designed sexual escapade turns into a sentimental education of sorts. But here, and it may be the strongest point of the book, feelings are not hammered home. No grandiloquent love declaration, no rain-soaked French kiss, no diamond ring. Emotions are discreet, almost impressionistic in nature. They are captured through elusive moments of intimacy, fleeting phases of mutual acceptance that are better at showing the sincerity and depth of the characters' sentiments than any psychobabble ever would be.

Emotionally modest and sexually liberated, Justine Elyot's characters feel real. They are funny and messy when they think, moving and fragile when they forget to. Naked or dressed, they are delicious and honest. And they have great, guilt-free, gourmand sex. What more could one possibly ask for ?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
Never was there a more appropriate Black Lace book to read at the start of the New Year than `On Demand'

January tends to be the month where we start planning challenges and making changes to our lives.
And Sophie Martin decides to set herself a challenge like no other.

When Sophie reaches a standstill in her life she decides to say yes to any sexual proposition that comes her way and put some fun into her life and what better place to help her say yes, than her place of work Hotel Luxe Noir.

As Sophie tells us her story we embark on a journey of discovery with her, we experience, lust and fantasy whilst Sophie learns more about herself than she ever thought possible.

What makes this book different is that although Sophie is the main character throughout, it reads as though it is a collection of short stories which all relate to Sophie and the customers and staff at the Hotel Luxe Noir.

I personally really enjoyed the Pool and Jacuzzi chapter and Luxury Bedding made me laugh. Its great to see it all through Sophie's eyes because she is far from naïve.

Justine Elyot writes in a very descriptive manner which will please those cold this winter, because this book will certainly heat you up.
Its a flirty, fun and sexy read which fans of adult fiction will love.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
This book was chosen for our regular bookclub, but sadly was found lacking in any real storyline. The book felt like a collaboration of many short stories strung together, which made it difficult to warm to the leading character. Infact, at times it appeared to lack any leading character at all. Not a book that I'll be reading again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
I loved this book, and loved Sophie's character - kinky little minx. Couldn't put this book down it was so good. Sophie likes no strings sex with strangers, what better place to be inundated with willing participants than working in a hotel - working in a hotel where the boss is more than happy for her to carry on indulging in her fantasy when the hotels takings are up because of her. As usual with Justine Elyot this is jam packed with steaming hot kinky sex scenes. The second part to this is even HOTTER - 'Game'
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Even worse than 50 Shades of Grey - if that's possible. Just endless boring sex with no story or any redeeming features to recommend it - avoid at all costs unless you're frustrated and the only way to get any excitement is by reading trash like this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
What a great book, brings on the blushes though, started reading it at work, bit of a mistake due to the shock on my face!
Far more risque than fifty shades as you'd expect. Not for the faint hearted.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.