Customer Reviews


561 Reviews
5 star:
 (352)
4 star:
 (135)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how 'low brow' thriller writing should be done...
Jack Reacher novels are always pretty good. Child's got a knack for keeping what are essentially quite similar stories fresh and interesting.

Here, however, he turns it up a notch and delivers probably the finest Reacher novel I've read.

While the novel is not going to win any awards for great literature, the so called heavyweights like Dan Brown and...
Published on 8 May 2007 by Matthew Thorbes

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reacher by Numbers (3)
Trouble finds Reacher.
Reacher meets beautiful woman.
Reacher falls for beautiful woman, who's embroiled in aforementioned trouble.
Reacher cheats death and kills all the bad guys.
The End
Published 5 months ago by J. Hulbert


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how 'low brow' thriller writing should be done..., 8 May 2007
By 
Matthew Thorbes "Pads" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jack Reacher novels are always pretty good. Child's got a knack for keeping what are essentially quite similar stories fresh and interesting.

Here, however, he turns it up a notch and delivers probably the finest Reacher novel I've read.

While the novel is not going to win any awards for great literature, the so called heavyweights like Dan Brown and Michael Reilly could take a leaf out of Lee Child's book when it comes to penning a good thriller.

The story begins when a man sent to find Reacher by a woman Jack's never heard of turns up dead behind a motel in Florida with his fingers cut off. Reacher's curiosity is piqued and he journey's to New York to find out why the man had to die, and what it has to do with him.

His search brings him face to face with his own past, and with Victor `Hook' Hobie.

Hobie is far and away the best villain to feature in any Jack Reacher novel I have read so far. A man with a secret that he will go to any lengths, no matter how brutal or sadistic, to protect. For the first time, you feel that Reacher has met an adversary worthy of the name, and as the book winds towards its climax, it grabs hold of you and won't let you go.

An essential read for Child fans and a great book in its own right to keep the Reacher virgin entertained, I honestly can't recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 18 Oct 2011
By 
A. Kennedy (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another page turner from Lee Child with a great twist right at the end. Couldn't put it down . . . buy and enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reacher by Numbers (3), 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripwire: (Jack Reacher 3) (Kindle Edition)
Trouble finds Reacher.
Reacher meets beautiful woman.
Reacher falls for beautiful woman, who's embroiled in aforementioned trouble.
Reacher cheats death and kills all the bad guys.
The End
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Menarc, 12 Aug 2011
This book is a great read as are all of the Jack Reacher series, could not put it down, if you have not read any of this series you must, you will be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tripwire, 6 Aug 2011
Another winner from Lee Child!He clearly puts some much into these and we really reap the rewards in every page. The ideas are so original, the prologue sets up the story and throughout its purpose is slowly revealed and at the end it all comes together beautifully.

I'm glad that there are so many more Reachers out there.

Keep them coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tripwire, 22 Jun 2011
By 
Y. Hudson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tripewire by Lee Child is as usual a facinating read. I have now read all the Jack Reacher novels nd enjoyed them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near flawless thriller, 9 May 2006
I've read most of Lee Child's thrillers and this is my favourite. The story is compelling, with plenty of twists and mysteries to unravel. The villain is exceptionally threatening. There are plenty of minor characters to identify with, so every reader can think "what would I do if that was happening to me?" I also found Child's tough-guy hero Jack Reacher more rounded and convincing in this book than in eg Killing Floor or Persuader. All in all, a tremendously good read.

Downside: avoid if graphic violence and torture disturb you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, great hero....., 7 Sep 2000
This was my third Lee Child novel, and I was not disappointed. This story moved at a cracking pace, but was different in style, which was refereshing. It allowed more depth & insight into the character of Jack Reacher. The standard has been maintained, I am looking forward to 'The Visitor' next...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is the third Lee Child/Jack Reacher book I have read, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripwire: (Jack Reacher 3) (Kindle Edition)
Given the number of positive reviews for this series I persevered with the first two but gave up part way through this one. In their favour these novels are page-turners, but you do need to come to terms with some negative elements evident in all three that I have read.

The plots all too frequently stretch credibility too far.
The central character is a shallow two dimensional being from the superhero mold who I find it very difficult to empathise with and what appears to be the token female seems to fit a very predictable profile.
The dialogue totally lacks humour of any kind - even the blackest of scenarios should occasionally be lightened with suitable humour.

I do appreciate that this series is not meant to be 'great literature' but other authors, and I can immediately think of Peter May, Jo Nesbo and perhaps Stuart MacBride, can produce thrillers with really good story lines and believable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Jack Reacher Novel - Book 3, 23 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (Farnham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jack Reacher delivers a punch to rival any action hero in print, and in Tripwire, Lee Child is back on form with an all out blockbuster that delivers.

In Die Trying - Book 2 - the story was a bit one dimensional. In Tripwire we are back on form with a Machiavellian pulling strings in the background and Jack caught in the middle of the chaos.

Despite hiding out by working hard in Key West Florida, Jack Reacher is pulled back to New York to find answers to the senseless killing of a private detective who was looking for him.

An action triller that keeps you entertained. As good as a David Morrell action thriller such as his clssic First Blood: Rambo.

Time to buy The Visitor - book 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa73b3c30)

This product

Tripwire: (Jack Reacher 3)
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews