Customer Reviews


338 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (49)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As much fun as eating a whole tub of Cookie Ice Cream alone.
Following the familiar Dan Brown relentless chasing formula, this book zips the reader through all 360 pages with ruthless vervour around some particular tight blind corners even by Mr Browns standards.
The story revolves around the events both political and personal surrounding the discovery of an alien meteorite, but even at the political level it's the personal...
Published on 7 Jan 2002 by R. Finney

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This was the third Dan Brown book I read, after DVC and Angels & Demons.

DVC was pretty poorly written and based on, well, a whole heap of bilge, but there was no denying that it was a page turner and it had me gripped to the end despite characters that were so slight a breeze would have blown them away and a plot that tried so hard to be unpredictable that it...
Published on 19 Feb 2009 by tiggrie AKA Sarah


‹ Previous | 1 2 334 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Days, 22 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
It sure was happy days reading this spine tingling thriller !!! I thought that the di vinci code was good, but this is a literary milestone. With every new word, Mr Brown keeps you enchanted in this edge of your seat thriller!!! Yesterday I literally ran to the pc to order Angels & Demons, i've only read about ten pages but i can tell Mr Brown has done it again!!! Dan Brown is a fairly new author, but with his first four boks he has released, he has set himself up for a great spellbound career as an author !!! I recomend this book as much as I recomend having blood in your veins !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 19 Feb 2009
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
This was the third Dan Brown book I read, after DVC and Angels & Demons.

DVC was pretty poorly written and based on, well, a whole heap of bilge, but there was no denying that it was a page turner and it had me gripped to the end despite characters that were so slight a breeze would have blown them away and a plot that tried so hard to be unpredictable that it became predictable. (Work out the least likely thing to happen in any given scenario, and bingo, that is where your plot's heading!)

Angels and Demons was more of the same: bits of it were fascinating, bits of it were a tad grotesque, and I had the oddest sense of deja vu, though as yet I couldn't figure out why.

Deception point was the book that crystalised my views on Dan Brown's writing, and the one I enjoyed the least out of the three mentioned. Why? Because I knew the plot already.

Don't get me wrong - there is no art history in here, no religion, it's all politics and science etc, and *that* side of things is quite interesting.

But... here's a familiar face - the male protagonist, specialist in his field, handsome and intelligent, (but surprisingly incapable of working anything out ahead of the reader) who will unravel the mystery with the help of another familiar face - the female love interest. She will also be intelligent and beautiful (but of course!) and in some way related to or connected with a murder victim and/or a high up official type person in the hierarchy of the organisation she is affiliated with. The baddies are after them - and how! But the baddies are being manipulated by... oh no! One of the goodies! Who is actually a baddie! And has been pulling their strings all along! For his own ends! Shock!

Or, well, not. Because by this point I recognised the plot from the previous two novels I'd read.

By the time I got any way into the book I was already looking for the turncoat who would attempt to betray them and who would meet a deservedly messy end. I got it right, too, and I am no fan of thrillers or whodunits. I am usually as dense as anything about this kind of stuff!

If you downed a shot every time he reused a plot twist that has appeared in another of his books, you'd be blind drunk before you were halfway through. If you also drank a shot every time a grammatical error, clunking cliche, hackneyed simile or other howler appeared, you'd send your liver into terminal decline.

It's a page turner, if you have failed to work out that Dan Brown only has one plot - if you have worked that out, it's quite fun spotting his well-used (to put it kindly) plot devices etc. It gets two stars for entertainment value either as holiday fluff or as a Dan Brown drinking game.

I gather this was one of his earlier novels, so maybe this was the blueprint for his later success. Read it for fun, but be warned of his addiction to cliffhanger endings in every other chapter, his inability to turn a decent phrase, and just generally writing that is so poor I don't know whether to be more depressed or amused that this is one of the most popular writers of our age...

edit: OK, I tried to give it two stars, obviously clicked in the wrong place, and now I can't seem to edit it. Sorry. My bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dan Brown is a genius, 8 Mar 2004
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
On reading this review you will fall into one of two catergories. You will have either read some of Dan Brown's work and will be looking for more of the same. Deception Point will not fail to deliver. Alternatively you will have never read Dan Brown's work, in which case, read on...
If you are looking for a book that you LITERALLY cannot put down, then this is it. At the end of every chapter he generates an overwhelming desire to read 'just one more'. It is truly gripping.
The story is a fast paced thriller, with an invigorating mix of superb descriptive writing mixed with accurate science and in depth facts about the inner workings of the American political system. It sees the main characters involved in a monumentous scientific discovery in the Artic Circle, which has complicated connontations in the presidential race back in Washington. The answers lie in a conspiracy that runs right to the top.
If you have read any of his other books then expect more of the same. He takes a slightly different angle in Deception Point. There is slightly less information packed in, which I personally feel gives the plot some more room breath. The characters are fantastically diverse and beautifully described, and the plot will have you guessing right till the end.
READ THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoying read, but the science and characters are a bit off, 14 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: Deception Point (Hardcover)
While I have enjoyed all of Dan Brown's stories, I found Deception Point somewhat unbelievable and far-fetched on some of the adventures and science. For a work of fiction, an adventure and thriller, it meets the requirements, so long as you don't delve too deeply into the facts. The abilities of the characters also doesn't quite meet the mark, somewhat exaggerated and not in the realm of reality. I discovered a new thriller recently whose characters (unique) and strong science and facts, provided me with more thought-provoking ideas - Fusion, by Bruce Huntly. Huntly's techno-thriller has ideas and characters you can enjoy and take seriously, and he provides a possible solution to some of today's energy problems. I would recommend Fusion as a serious addition for readers of Dan Brown and Michael Crichton. Deception Point, a good book but I felt fell short on some of my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent romp..., 15 Feb 2006
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
A decent book that kept me interested enough to read in 3 sittings.
Does fall away somewhat at the end, but still a fine read.
If you enjoyed Dan Brown's other books, then you'll enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dan Brown Goes Overboard, 20 Oct 2004
By 
Mark James (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
This novel starts out in 'vintage' Dan Brown style: High level conspiracy; beautiful heroine; enigmatic, intelligent and strangely unattached hero; trusted 'father' figure.
The initial set-up is dramatic and breathtaking.
The plot is cleverly concieved, and deviously followed through to the end.
Unfortunately, Brown has taken on a little too much Matthew Reilly 'Ice Station' style, a ludicrously improbable drama, in the second half of this book. This is a cheapening of the rich and believable themes established in his book 'The Da Vinci Code'.
My observation is that Brown has exhausted his academic themes, and is embarking on a course of Arnold Shwarzenegger style action/drama.
I only just managed to make it through Matthew Reilly's first book, 'Ice Station', and vowed never to read another. Dan Brown is perilously close to achieving the same status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who Needs Movies?, 14 Jan 2003
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
Thoroughly absorbing, diverse, gripping even seat-tilting. Dan Brown, again proving the special effects of a novel can compete on exactly the same level as any overbudgeted Hollywood production.
As ever, Dan sends us careering around the globe at high speed in yet another government prototype, with a host of unique characters. While you might recognise some parts of their personalities from his other novels, they are nonetheless complete with unique and interesting features, both the likeable and intensely revolting.
As usual he melds the places, objects and events of the real world seamlessly into his fiction to make his 'special effects' far more beleivable than those on the big screen.
The plot is yet again another budding romance set secreted within the sinsister plot created by the misdeeds of the administration of a subverted organisation.
As usual we are lulled into a false sense of security regarding the plot, which turns every directon but the one you expect, although it must be said that readers of his past works will be on familiar ground.
Even so, Dan has delivered another excellent thriller, which is again... unputdownable.
Consistent excellence in this hard to please field of writing, three out of three attempts being winners, ain't bad. :-) A difficult task, well met by an extremely talented author.
Why somebody hasn't snapped one of Dan's title's up for a movie I don't know. They should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stupid, 5 Oct 2005
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
Should be zero stars really as this book is not only badly written it has the most obvious twist that I have ever had the misfortune to read. You can guess the outcome of the story by reading the blurb on the back cover! Furthermore, that the characters in the story fail to realise what's going on until the latter part of the book is completely unbelievable. Once again Dan Brown's supposed experts seem to be mind-numbingly stupid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dan Brown's best book-as far as I'm concerned !!!, 25 July 2014
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
I must firstly apologise to the author of the previous review,mr.Max Barbosa,because what prompted me to write a review about this book was the title he chose for his own !
I am ,however,quite serious about this one.
I hold mr.Brown's "literary achievements" in very,very,low esteem.The reasons are explained extensively in my review of "The Da Vinci code" and "Angels and demons",which I posted on May 4,2013.
This is his second book,and was a total flop when first published,in 2001,as was the first(Digital Fortress-1998).
Yet it is readable,to a point,beause there is only one highly improbable element in the plot.The drilling (from bottom up) in the polar icecap ! Compared to the two aforementioned(Dvc and A&D) "monuments to improbability" that were to follow,this one seems perfectly credible !
There are spills and thrills,the "conspiracy"is almost palatable,the "villains"are a "special forces" team and the pace is (barely)within the realm of reality.A good read at the beach on a nice summer day,or during a long flight.You can pretend,with a minor effort,that the plot is believable.And the "recipe" is not so obvious.
All in all it is the one that insults your intelligence less.And that,alone,should suffice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big sciencey thinking-man's romp, 12 May 2006
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
Sometimes I wonder if Brown is showing off. He can write in a way to keep you wondering, interested, and realising he's done his research. Maybe it's just me jealous of his skills, but I heard this book teasing 'Had you there! Didn't know that did you? I'm not going to tell you this for a while!'.

What this means is that the end product is a marvellous exit into a very real world where all this is actually happening. It's plausible, and the conclusions about the determination of the human character are both horrifying and uplifting at the same time, such is their dedication to greed, revenge, deceit, survival, loyalty and justice.

Everything is big in this book - the events, the actions and reactions, the twists and turns, and the conseuences. the characters and well defined and often extreme in their traits. He has done his homework and the technology seems to be to convince the reader this could be real. Maybe it could! Politics comes in in big doses, along with all that goes with it.

The result of all this is that it is believable and engrossing. You need to know what happens next on each subplot, and can never foresee much accurately, although it all seems to make sense in the end.

In terms of literary quality and entertainment, it is in the same class as the more famous 'Angels and demons' and 'Da Vinci Code', but despite the subject - extraterrestial life - being big, I think it's never quite as big as the others. Don't let that detract from the value of the book. You'll find few reads as entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 334 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deception Point
Deception Point by Dan Brown
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews