Customer Reviews


424 Reviews
5 star:
 (291)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack gets his teeth loosened
PERSUADER, the seventh installment of Lee Child's Jack Reacher series, is perhaps the best so far.
On a Boston sidewalk, Reacher almost collides with a man shot three times - including twice in the head - and pitched off a cliff into the Pacific ten years before. Having a former colleague in the Military Police put a trace on the man's license plate brings the Drug...
Published on 28 Nov 2003 by Joseph Haschka

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promising Story but Long Winded
This is first book I have ever read by Lee Child. "The Persuader" is a basic
story of Good Cop hero, with a score to settle. The characters are fine but
the writing does leave you feeling a bit annoyed. Descriptions of situations are overdone, duplicating words over and over to get the point across. Its a 542 page book which could have easily been written in...
Published on 11 Aug 2012 by Cybermaf


‹ Previous | 1 2 343 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form, 28 Aug 2003
After the disappointing Without Fail, Persuader marks a welcome return to form. Perhaps Lee Child was worried that Reacher's super-human capabilities were stretching the imagination a little too far. But that's his whole appeal: for every Inspector Morse we need an occasional dose of The Sweeney. Peruader sees Reacher in full wham, bam, no holds barred action. Believable ? Don't worry, take a pinch of salt and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thriller in the True Sense of the Word, 26 Feb 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Contrary to what many reader's believe Lee Child is British, but moved with his family from Cumbria to the United States to begin a new career as an American thriller writer. What probably fools a lot of people is that it is rare for a British author to be able to write American thrillers with any kind of authenticity. He has won a number of awards with his books and he lives just outside New York City with his American wife Jane. The couple have a grown-up daughter, Ruth and when Lee is not writing he shares his time between music, reader and supporting the New York Yankees.

It is difficult to say the least to even give a brief synopsis of these books without giving some clue or other away and spoiling it for the reader. Suffice to say that the author's books featuring Jack Reacher are up there with the best in crime thrillers and this one is no different in that respect to the others. If crime novels, particularly American thrillers ring your bell, then this author and this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Reacher as a Drifter Version of James Bond, 21 Oct 2005
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I liked Persuader best of the Jack Reacher novels I have read so far. The plot is more deliciously complicated with little twists, there's a better use for all of that gun lore, high tech makes brief appearances and the bad guys are more complex than usual. In addition, Mr. Child provides us with a nice back story that develops along with the primary story line.
This story revolves around serendipity. There's a chance meeting where Reacher sees a man who should be dead . . . and Reacher wants him dead. When approached by DEA agents for an illegal penetration of a suspect's operations, Reacher wants in to finish the job he started ten years earlier.
The story revels in the sort of twisted villains, monster guards, pitched battles, and intrigue that make the earliest James Bond books so appealing. As a result, you get gore with a cutting edge of sadism. I don't recall a book about a different type of hero that's so much like Bond in the action. Perhaps You Only Live Twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked, 16 Jan 2008
By 
Gavin James "seanppk" (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As my first exposure to Lee Child, this couldn't have been a better hook. Since reading this in June 2007, I've now bought the entire Jack Reacher catalogue to date and am working my way through, and loving every minute.

To begin with, I had a little trouble adapting to the style and language of this book, but purely because I'd read an article about Lee Child prior to reading his work. I knew he was a Coventry guy and had spent much of his time working for Granada Television, so when I first started Persuader and was confronted with a style of writing and language more stateside than born and bread American authors I'd encountered, I was a little taken aback and dubious as to his motives. The first page in particular read more like wannabee Western screenwriter in full flow, but it only took me to the end of the first chapter to become fully immersed in it, love it and be persuaded that it couldn't have worked as well any other way.

The story is simple, but clever and detailed and you're with Jack the whole way (this is one of few Jack Reacher books written in the first person). Child manages to make his loveable flawlessness believable and his motives impeccable while at the same time creating bad guys you can't help but hate.

Try it, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best so far for me....., 19 July 2014
This review is from: Persuader: (Jack Reacher 7) (Kindle Edition)
I've read them all so far and I think this is the best. Also it's written in the first person for a change which gives it a different perspective. The action is explosive from page one, and the characters are believable, especially the two women, past and present. There is more violence than usual, graphically portrayed, but the bad guys are so bad you love it when Reacher deals with them.....and there are two really bad guys in this book.
As always Reachers toughness, ruthlessness and use of very large weapons make him a character to be taken with a pinch of salt, but in the midst of all the violence he comes out with some genuinely funny one liners.
It also amazes me that the author Lee Child is British (born in Coventry I believe) but he portrays the US way of life and the geography like a native. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reacher�s back�.and that means trouble for someone!, 17 Mar 2003
By 
Jack Reacher returns in this fast-paced, well thought out thriller as he sets out on a personal crusade for justice in his own inimitable style.
Lee Child returns to the first person narrative used in Killing Floor bringing the reader much closer to the action - especially the scenes involving violence which are particularly well written. Many thrillers have a sting in the tail but Lee has managed to invert the usual scenario and, for those familiar with the Reacher series, the sting is at the start.
Lee Child starts to draw on Reacher's past as a military policeman, giving the reader an insight into his past.
An outstanding read, this is destined for the bestseller lists. One of 2003's 'Must Read' books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reacher's Back!, 15 Mar 2003
By 
A. POOLE (Galashiels, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Persuader – Lee Child
Jack’s back and he’s badder than ever. Lee Child has once again proven his now well established mantle position in the mystery thriller genre with the new Jack Reacher novel – Persuader.
Beginning with a shoot-out rescue of a frightened schoolboy, Reacher foils an apparent kidnap attempt on the son of a wealthy rug importer. Reluctantly, Reacher takes the boy home to the safety of his parents, where all is not what it seems.
Tasked by a government agency and haunted by a failing in his MP years of old Reacher must uncover the truth of the mystery house, it’s occupants, their colleagues and at the same time save the innocent victims. No problem to our Jack!
Going back to first person point of view (for the first time since the first Jack Reacher novel – Killing Floor), in book 7 Lee Child also returns to the action weighed fight scenes and brute force of Killing Floor and Die Trying. With excellent flashbacks to Reacher’s army days, we are treated to a vision of Jack Reacher – MP.
Action packed and written with Child’s distinctive easy-to-read style Persuader is a welcome return to the Reacher of old, as well as a thumping great read in it’s own right. A must for all Reacher fans, and essential reading any mystery/thriller fan.
Andrew Poole
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack is Back, 8 April 2003
By 
Helen (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
The 7th book in the Reacher series, Jack is back in fine form.
For those familiar with the Lee Child's Jack Reacher series, you will find Persuader has Jack back to his "hit first, ask questions later" old self. This one has a bit more violence than the last couple of books, with Reacher taking on an old enemy and his henchmen. Written in the first person, we get right inside Reacher's mind, as well as getting some flash backs to his MP past.
For newcomers to Child - I promise that once you've read this book you'll be hunting down the other 6 Reacher novels to catch up on the past few years of Jacks life.
This is another stay up all night read from Lee Child, a master storyteller, who deserves a lot more recognition than he has been getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Persuader" by Lee Child. Jack Reacher is at it again!, 4 April 2003
In true form Lee Child has once again surpassed himself, and has written another truly superb example of crime fiction with his latest Jack Reacher novel. The first book in the series "Killing Floor" set the trend and was the best, "Persuader" is once again written in the first person, and comes a close second. This is another book that was hard to put down, and rates a 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Reacher returns!, 8 Nov 2003
By A Customer
Another great book featuring the tough, mean, super-cool ex-military police man Jack Reacher. As with all his books "Persuader" takes you on a roller coaster of action, thrills and fightd against the bad guys. This time the action starts with the attempted kidnapping of a student that is foiled by Jack Reacher. However, all is not what it seems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 343 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Persuader: (Jack Reacher 7)
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews