Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent read
i noticed that alot of the other reviews for this book are quite negative. This surprised me because it is such a brilliant book, one of malorie blackmans finest.
The plot is superb and very believable. This book is emotional at certain points and hard to put down. i would definitely recommend it.
Published on 15 Nov 2005 by srssrssrssrs

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's all right - but nothing special
Another reviewer put it well, i think, in saying it was a 'ghost of Malorie Blackman's better books.' It isn't great really; even avid Blackman fans like myself, who find themselves glued to jewels like the Noughts and Crosses series, and 'Thief!' will be disappointed in this anaemic read from an author who has produced much better. The story slacks at times; the...
Published on 27 Sep 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's all right - but nothing special, 27 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
Another reviewer put it well, i think, in saying it was a 'ghost of Malorie Blackman's better books.' It isn't great really; even avid Blackman fans like myself, who find themselves glued to jewels like the Noughts and Crosses series, and 'Thief!' will be disappointed in this anaemic read from an author who has produced much better. The story slacks at times; the characters are not sympathetic and Blackman's attempt to bring an adolescent issue into the plot (in the shape of Nova's eating disorder), though valiant, is largely unsuccessful. I wouldn't really recommend it, although if you have read all her other books maybe you should read this one too. But my advice is get it from the library, and save buying the book for passionate, intense works of near-genius like 'Hacker' 'Noughts and Crosses' 'Knife Edge' 'Checkmate' or 'Thief!'
Frankly, if you're a Blackman fan, this second-rater should be well down your list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent read, 15 Nov 2005
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
i noticed that alot of the other reviews for this book are quite negative. This surprised me because it is such a brilliant book, one of malorie blackmans finest.
The plot is superb and very believable. This book is emotional at certain points and hard to put down. i would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Gorgeous, 24 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Hardcover)
This book is very good - possibly one of malorie blackman's best. The plot is very good and beleivable even though it contains a ghost! This book is very emotional and you get drawn in to the world of Nova and her family. Well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malorie Blackman Dead Gorgeous, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
Bought this book for my daughter for Christmas as she has read most of the other books in the series and really enjoyed them. Quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How intresting, 25 Oct 2007
By 
Ms. M. Whiteley "babyjade_x" (portsmouth,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
I love malorie blackman's books and she has yet not failed to write another bestseller! This book is by means the best until she writes another!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 25 Aug 2007
By 
J. hobson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
this book is interesting. Nova is not your typical perfect heroine as she has her own problems. The whole plot unwinds in an unexpected way and took me totally by surprise. It was not the best book I have ever read but one of Blackmans finest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A ghost of her better books., 28 Aug 2005
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
Malorie Blackman is a fantastic auther, and has written many great books but this is a dissapointment. It was not bad, and the story was original, but it had no gripping suspence, few jokes, was very predictable, and was basically, boring. I did not stay up till who knows what time at night to finish it, as I had with Noughts and Crosses and Hacker.
So, in conclusion, not one of her best books, but a light read if you're bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not sure, 21 April 2014
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Kindle Edition)
i got a sample but iwant to know what happens nexxt can somene quickly summarise this book please/?i want to know if its rright to buy jt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book. Excellent value. Excellent story for young adults. Very well written, enjoyable and an way read. Really pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fast paced read., 20 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Gorgeous (Kindle Edition)
Some reviewers say this was not one of her best books. I thought it dealt with difficult subjects sensitively. In parts it is very emotional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Gorgeous
Dead Gorgeous by Malorie Blackman
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews