Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the film
This book was not quite as good as Jurassic Park but still brilliant. The film was slightly different and not as good or exciting. A must read for 11-14 year olds or anyone who is facinated by dinosaurs.
Published on 6 Jan 2000

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I read this one before seeing the film too
I enjoyed the book, it was a little less preachy than the first novel, but still delivered a good adventure. Again, I felt that the film was a missed opportunity. Michael Crichton seems to have something personally against scientists, again his chief protagonist is an arrogant, spoilt rich kid scientist; the fault in assumption was a little more glaringly obvious this...
Published on 22 Jan 2008 by Sarah J. Marquis


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the film, 6 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lost World (Paperback)
This book was not quite as good as Jurassic Park but still brilliant. The film was slightly different and not as good or exciting. A must read for 11-14 year olds or anyone who is facinated by dinosaurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost in the lost world, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World (Kindle Edition)
This book is fantastic and so much better then the film its self becasue there are hell of a lot of stuff they miss off the film that is in the book.
I have this as my favourites on my kindle and I always re-read it every now and again.
if you have the film or seen the film then try the book it self becasue after you read this book you will wish they didn't miss anything off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 11 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Lost World (Kindle Edition)
This is one of my favourite books that I can read over and over. So much better than the film. I find genetic engineering very interesting and the book is very well researched. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best book in the world, 3 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lost World (Paperback)
This is a must read book. The story follows on from where Jurassic Park (the novel) left off. The Lost World is an action packed adventure from start to finish. If you have seen the film then you have to read the book to see how superior it is. If only the film had been made to the same story line as the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book over movie, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World (Kindle Edition)
This book is so much better than the movie version. As a book the story line (different to that of the film) is more enjoyable. The characters are more believable on paper ; with even a few that weren't used in the film. I enjoyed the mix of science and adventure in the book, there is no T-rex on the streets of San fransico.This a great follow-up to Jurassic Park (which better be released on kindle soon)
When i went to see this at its movie release after reading the book several times already i was disgusted how much it was changed. As Ian Malcolm I find Jeff Goldblum annoying, Didn' t see the point in Vince Vaughan's character who isn't in the book and the girl Kelly, who was suppose to be Malcolm's daughter WTF. Do yourself a favour read the book ignore the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first, but still brilliant., 22 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lost World (Paperback)
As I say, this sequel to Jurassic Park is not as good as the original, BUT it is still very good, and FAR better than the Hollywood (film) that it spawned.
Crichton has an incredible talent for narrative and scientific authenticity. This book is no exception. I enjoyed this book immensely and would recommend it to all Crichton fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Milestone, 23 Oct 2002
This review is from: The Lost World (Paperback)
It's been over six years since I first read this book. I was too young to understand a lot of it at the time, so it became one of my "once a year books". Every time I read it, things become more & more apparent, little extras of the story unfold that previously passed by unnoticed. This might be because I can now understand a lot more of the book, but I think one of the reasons is the incredible detail that Crichton put into his books. If you're a fan of his previous work you'll know what I mean.
The Lost World follows on, in some form, after the events that occured in the book Jurassic Park. This time the centre character is eccentric mathematician, Ian Malcolm. He has changed a little since the previous book, but a lot of his characteristics have remained. Along with him, a few new characters come into play. Sarah Harding, Richard Levine, Kelly & Arby, Thorne, and Eddie are also main characters in this book, as Malcolm & Levine attempt to track down an island where Levine is adament that dinosaurs are living and breeding. Malcolm, as pessimistic as ever, takes time to come to terms with the idea, but never lets lose his sectre about Jurassic Park.
The Lost World is, in my opinion, a much more enjoyable read than it's predecessor, mainly because of the detail & research that has gone into the book. It focuses a lot more on Ian Malcolm this time around, but all the characters mentioned are a big part of the story. If you like dinosaurs, Crichton, or if you simply just want to sit down & be taken away to another, incredibly well written world, then read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I read this one before seeing the film too, 22 Jan 2008
By 
Sarah J. Marquis "SassyJ" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost World (Paperback)
I enjoyed the book, it was a little less preachy than the first novel, but still delivered a good adventure. Again, I felt that the film was a missed opportunity. Michael Crichton seems to have something personally against scientists, again his chief protagonist is an arrogant, spoilt rich kid scientist; the fault in assumption was a little more glaringly obvious this time, the message that scientists are obtrusive troublemakers with little thought for the consequences that their actions visit upon the rest of the world in all its innocence, has now been done to death. He needs a new hook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jurassic Park Part II, 5 Oct 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are many fine reviews already listed so I will be succinct. This book is a sequel to Jurassic Park. We join the cast of characters six years after the dinosaur island park disaster in which humans fought off genetically engineered replicas of prehistoric animals. One survivor of that attack is now a member of a group who returns to the area, another island called Site B, and meet up with the remaining dinosaurs. The book does have strong language and violence. Even though it fills like you are reading 'Jurassic Park' again, it is worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing "The Lost World" (Thornes Classic Novels), 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazon seem to have mixed up Chrichton's Lost World reviews with this book. I am reviewing the Thornes Classic Novel version by Arthur Conan Doyle.

Having been an avid Sherlock Holmes follower, I thought I would give Mr Doyle's other novels a go. As I tutor children, I bought this book to read and also to tutor by. This particular version, is an unabridged version but editored for older children. There is a glossary at the bottom of every page for difficult/non-familiar words. There is also a commentary as to what has happened for a quick recap before starting to read again. At the beginning of each chapter, there is a "Look out for..." sometimes with leading questions and/or good discussion points. The introduction is packed with facts about the author, when the book was written, Darwin, explorers and dinosaurs. There is also a useful map to pin-point the setting in South America. Overall, it is a very good and useful learning tool for the classroom or for a confident reader to tackle by themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost World
The Lost World by Michael Crichton
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews