Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Many smiles of recognition
I found this in a remaindered bookshop a few weeks ago and picked it up immediately, thinking of the amazing parodies that Faulks used to produce (seemingly with little or no preparation) on Radio 4's "The Write Stuff". This is a handy collection of the best of them, along with a few that have been specially written for this compilation. As others have pointed out,...
Published on 1 July 2008 by Jeremy Walton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ultimately Disappointing
I bought this on the back of enjoying Sebastian Faulks's work on The Write Stuff but unfortunately, I think something is lost in the written format. Many of the pastiches are sort of mildly amusing in a way that just makes you say 'heh' to yourself at the end but they simply aren't developed enough. I've not read every author parodied by Faulks but enough to know that I...
Published 15 months ago by DPJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Many smiles of recognition, 1 July 2008
By 
Jeremy Walton (Sidmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pistache (Hardcover)
I found this in a remaindered bookshop a few weeks ago and picked it up immediately, thinking of the amazing parodies that Faulks used to produce (seemingly with little or no preparation) on Radio 4's "The Write Stuff". This is a handy collection of the best of them, along with a few that have been specially written for this compilation. As others have pointed out, there's some degree of unevenness here, though it'd be churlish to ask for everything to be up at the standard of Dan Brown at the cashpoint, Noel Coward's lyric about Big Brother, or James Bond's visit to the supermarket. I relished the former so greatly that I've practically learnt it off by heart; having been so moved by Brown's uncanny ability to use the wrong word almost all the time that I tried my own hand at a parody (in my review of "Angels And Demons" on this site), I felt I wanted to reach through the pages to shake hands with Faulks as he struck exactly the right note in this hilarious piece. This little book doesn't take long to read at all, but you'll be smiling for some time after putting it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever, clever, sometimes too clever!, 21 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Pistache (Hardcover)
There is no doubt that Faulks is brilliant. This little collection of pastiche/piss-takes (hence the title) proves that more than ever. he takes average occurences and uses famous narrative styles/voices to match these. Ian Fleming doing James Bond in a supermarket is priceless... but the prize goes to his version of Dan Brown going to cahspoint. Hilarious and says in a more concise, witty and accurate way what thousands of newspaper critics have been trying to say about Brown for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as funny as you think it's going to be, 12 Jun. 2007
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pistache (Hardcover)
It's strange to think of the author of Birdsong turning his hand to this sort of thing. It's a very short book of literary parodies and indeed it's difficult not to smile at Dan Brown at the cashpoint, Martin Amis's first day at Hogwarts or Kipling's 'If...' rewritten for today's journalists. The trouble is that smiling is all you do - it's not really 'laugh out loud' funny.

There has been a certain amount of precedent for this kind of spoof, from Craig Brown's regular 'Diary' column in Private Eye to John Crace's 'Digested Read' in The Guardian. Both have led to books of collections and both are as funny, or frequently funnier, than this.

Clever, certainly, but somehow not quite funny enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Piss Take, 15 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Pistache (Paperback)
This is a book for someone with a good knowledge of English Literature and a good sense of humour. It is clever,witty and sometimes extremely funny. A good choice to accompany you to the hospital or doctor's waiting room
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pistach-Pi*takes, 6 July 2010
This review is from: Pistache (Hardcover)
Came to me as a 'recommened read' by a friend.
I had to read it from cover to cover in one go. Absolutely a hoot.

I didn't realise where the source of some quotations came from, now I know. It has improved my well-being by lightening my outlook on life.

Go on, buy it, have a good laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in wit, 10 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Pistache (Hardcover)
OK, so this is top level showing off by Sebastian Faulks, but he can be forgiven since this little book contains some of the most perceptive and funny parodies of literature that you will find. Particular favourites are 'Martin Amis sends his lad to Hogwarts' - almost better than Amis himself; Alan Bennett's Mam joining him up for the SAS, mistakenly thinking it means Salvation Army Singers, and Evelyn Waugh on The Inner Gentleman. Each of these short pieces is a little gem. It is a perfect book to send to literary friends as a thank you, and although it will almost certainly end up in the downstairs loo, it will be constantly read and admired. Even if you heard it first on Radio 4's 'The write Stuff', buy it. You won't be disappointed. Just waiting for the next one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ultimately Disappointing, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pistache (Paperback)
I bought this on the back of enjoying Sebastian Faulks's work on The Write Stuff but unfortunately, I think something is lost in the written format. Many of the pastiches are sort of mildly amusing in a way that just makes you say 'heh' to yourself at the end but they simply aren't developed enough. I've not read every author parodied by Faulks but enough to know that I didn't find them that convincing. If you like this sort of genre then I'd highly recommend Alan Coren's work which is, in my mind, a lot funnier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still giggling!, 23 Aug. 2010
By 
This review is from: Pistache (Paperback)
Saw Sebastian Faulks at Latituide Festival where he did an 'audience with...' show. Really good, so I bought Pistache (in case you haven't realised, it is pronounced 'piss take') when I got home. It is really clever and funny: parodies of writing by different authers (either dead or alive, for example, Agatha Christie and Alan Bennett) in their style. They are very well done, all short and easy to read. I think that even if you don't know the author's style you quickly suss it out and understand the joke. I really recommend it for anyone who likes literature and humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Radio quiz show in a book, 16 Aug. 2010
By 
Robert Alexander (Oldham, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pistache (Paperback)
The book is a collection of stories on incongruous subjects "in the style of..." various authors, which show Sebastian Faulks' lighter side, as displayed on radio. Some more successful than others, maybe because I don't know all the original styles, but easy and undemanding reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite sublime, 26 Aug. 2011
By 
Jeremy Bevan (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pistache (Paperback)
Imitation is said to be the sincerest form of flattery. It's sometimes also said to be the refuge of those who lack original talent. But it's clear Sebastian Faulks has an abundance of talent, as this quite superb little collection of pastiches amply demonstrates. Whether it's Thomas Hardy reporting on a football match (my personal favourite), Ernest Hemingway managing to invest his round-robin Christmas letter tales of DIY with a suitable degree of macho, or Geoffrey Chaucer celebrating Geri Halliwell's appointment as a UN AIDS ambassador, the collection is a tour de force from start to finish. Short and easily digested (most of the pieces are no more than a page and a half in length), this is quite sublime - a book to come back to over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pistache
Pistache by Sebastian Faulks
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews