Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Egyptian Cat
Mabel was Verity's mums cat before she died, now Mabel is the family cat. For some time Mabel has been being sick and not being her usual self until one day Mabel disappears.
Verity becomes very upset and this affects things at school for her. Verity eventually finds Mabel dead in her closet but instead of saying anything tries to turn Mabel into a cat mummy as the...
Published on 14 April 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good
This is a very good book and I would recommend this to people over five years old. It is one of Jacqueline Wilson's best book's.
Published 8 months ago by Rebecca Selsby


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Egyptian Cat, 14 April 2001
By A Customer
Mabel was Verity's mums cat before she died, now Mabel is the family cat. For some time Mabel has been being sick and not being her usual self until one day Mabel disappears.
Verity becomes very upset and this affects things at school for her. Verity eventually finds Mabel dead in her closet but instead of saying anything tries to turn Mabel into a cat mummy as the ancient egyptians would have done.
Needless to say Mable is eventually found.
A good story, which my daughter enjoyed when it was read to her, but I thought that there was just a little something missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Purrfectly written, 26 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Cat Mummy (Paperback)
The Cat Mummy was written by Jacqueline Wilson (one of my favourite authors) and was published in 2001/ 2002 in two different editions - the Corgi Yearling edition and the Doubleday edition. It was illustrated beautifully by Nick Sharratt (who draws a lot for many different authors) and it was illustrated very exquisitely. This book is great for children who are over the age of 7 or 8 up to the age of 15 or 16 because adults are far too boring to read such a good and exciting book like this one. I think girls would like this book better than boys but I might be wrong.

The plot of the story is that Verity's mum and now her cat Mabel have both died. She is more upset about the cat because she did not even know her mother even though she went to the other's grave a lot. The ending is quite nice though and it is a very clever idea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jacqueline WIlson once more tackles a difficult issue, 27 Sep 2001
By A Customer
I am an adult who greatly enjoys and admires Jacqueline Wilson's work. I found this book, a little darker than the others but still touching issues ignored by many. I am not sure if I would recommend this to a small child, I know I found it disturbing but those who do read it will get a lot out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat Mummy (Kindle Edition)
Awesome book is a loom otherwise best book is a loom otherwise best book is a loom otherwise best book is a loom otherwise best book is a loom otherwise best book is a loom otherwise best book is a loom otherwise best book is a loom otherwise best book is a loom otherwise best book is a loom otherwise best book is a loom otherwise best book is a loom otherwise best book is a loom otherwise best book is a loom otherwise best yum the kingdom of ratings and reviews are great deal of ratings and the rest of ratings and the rest of ratings for the next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very moving story, but outstanding!, 6 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Verity loves animals and has a very old cat of her own, Mabel. Her mum died when she was born so she talks to Mabel all the time. Mabel is very very boring! But Verity doesn't care.
At school she learns about the Ancient Egyptions. One day Mabel goes missing and Verity is heartbroken. She can't concentrate and is very worried!! Then one afternoon she finds Mabel curled up in her dressing gown DEAD!!!!!
Verity is shocked but decides to wrap her up like a mummy. She does not tell anyone but things keep happening and she has to confess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The saddest Jaqueline Wilson book i have read!, 10 July 2001
By A Customer
This book was great to start off with but when i got to the main part i could tell what would happen because of the project the little girl had been doing at school. And i won`t give away the ending but all i can say is get a box of tissues next to you before you start reading, you`ll need them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book was sad but exellent.It made me read on., 4 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This sad but heart warming book made me think about how close pets can become to their owners. As well as being sad, this book was funny and imaginative and I couldn't put it down once I'd started reading it. Verity and her cat Mabel had been together since Verity was a baby. Even though Mabel was lazy and slept all day Verity still finds it hard to come to terms when Mabel dies. She tries to mummify Mabel so that she will last forever...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant and realistic lifelike story, 8 April 2001
By A Customer
I read this book and i thought it was that brilliant so i read it again! Its about a girl and she live with her gran & grandad + her dad but her mums dead there studying ancient egyuptions at school and when she finds her cat dead in the wardrobe she wraps it in tissue and woeshipps it . Read tho find out the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE CAT MUMMY, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat Mummy (Kindle Edition)
Molly's Sergio drill deck drill Sergio drop Wigan will eel duh Ervin Dutch duh Seiko Shi cu cu no cook chunk cub Chubb Chubb Chubb chunk Gunn subnet Rubin f2f cuff chitchat seed c.f. bio hill Hillary cunning Fuji cu f2f f2f gnu chi ssh full full! cool! Fool fT toY fiT guY y Bobbi / t tough fetch Fuji Fuji chunk chunk chunk chubby Cygnus funky chunk chI hi hi hi hi hi hi hi hi bio hi hI hi bio hi hi bio hi no hi hi hi hi hi up no no no hi'll both Jr chunk Seiko
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat Mummy (Kindle Edition)
My 9yr old has read this twice already and is set to read again. She loves the story and can't wait for another book from her idol Jacqueline Wilson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cat Mummy
The Cat Mummy by Jacqueline Wilson
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews