Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, funny and listenable for adults
We listen to audiobooks in the car on long journeys.

It's about tim who also stars in "Buried Alive" and if possible, should be listened to before Buried because it introduces tim to "Biscuits".

Tim doesn't want to go on adventure holiday but is forced to go by his dad. He starts off not liking it and having problems with some of the other children,...
Published on 21 Nov. 2009 by Comical Engineer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ..
My daughter loved Jacqueline Wilson as a child and she re-read this book recently.

Cliffhanger is about a boy called Tim, a very un-sporty and very un-adventurous boy who is forced to go on an adventure holiday by his dad in hope to toughen him up. Despite Tim's horror, he is forced to go there and his no-sport brain is full of sports and adventure that he has...
Published 11 months ago by Lisa


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars .., 22 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Cliffhanger (Paperback)
My daughter loved Jacqueline Wilson as a child and she re-read this book recently.

Cliffhanger is about a boy called Tim, a very un-sporty and very un-adventurous boy who is forced to go on an adventure holiday by his dad in hope to toughen him up. Despite Tim's horror, he is forced to go there and his no-sport brain is full of sports and adventure that he has to adjust to.

The book, overall didn't impress my daughter. She told me that she didn't overly like it when she was younger anyway, however she thought that maybe it was because it was written from a boys perspective and wasn't really a book that includes the sort of plot she enjoys. However, when re-reading it she saw that the book as very bleak for her. She told me that there was no proper introduction to characters, or not even a subtle moment where you can grasp the ideas of the characters and understand whether or not you like them. In this book, the characters and your opinion of them, is already there. You kinda just have to take it. Of course you can make your own opinions but you can't take them from a new perspective.

If you're a younger reader or have a younger child who likes reading, this book would be for you. It would be nice for them to read as it's simple. Also, I think this could be used in the classroom as it's a very simple book and would teach the child the basic literary techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, funny and listenable for adults, 21 Nov. 2009
By 
Comical Engineer "comicaleng" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We listen to audiobooks in the car on long journeys.

It's about tim who also stars in "Buried Alive" and if possible, should be listened to before Buried because it introduces tim to "Biscuits".

Tim doesn't want to go on adventure holiday but is forced to go by his dad. He starts off not liking it and having problems with some of the other children, finds a friend in Biscuits and eventually has a great time.

The kids loved it and the adults found it listenable.

Recommended along with Buried Alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is brilliant !, 19 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cliffhanger (Paperback)
This book really is a cliffhanger that hangs you in suspense all the way through. Once you pick it up its unputdownable. I had already read this book as the summer reading task, but I enjoyed it as much as when I read it in the summer. My favourite characters are Tim, Biscuits and Gilles. Tim goes to an adventure holiday because his Dad made him, but Tim and his Mum don't want Tim to go. They all get there and Tim gets picked to go and be in the tigers. They have a game of Triangles and they went abseiling and then a canoe race and finally the crazy bucket race. When I read this book it is still very exiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing awesome tale of adventure, 12 Mar. 2013
By 
Charlie A (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cliffhanger (Paperback)
I loved this book because it is full of really funny characters. My favourite character is a boy called Biscuits, who loves to eat biscuits and sausages and just about everything else!

The story is based on a character called Tim who is forced to go on an adventure holiday by his dad. His dad tells him to toughen up and not to take his teddy because the other children will laugh, however the other children do take their favourite toys so Tim gets very upset!

They do lots of exciting activities but Tim hates them all, especially the Abseiling. Tim is in a team called the Tigers with Biscuits, a girl called Kelly and a mean boy called Giles.

My most favourite part of the book is when Tim finds himself hanging off a cliff with only one way out...straight down!

As the week goes on Tim becomes braver and more confident. It's a story about being yourself and believing in yourself.

By the end of the story Tim is a lot braver and has lots of new friends but he still needs his teddy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We all liked this book!, 17 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Cliffhanger (Paperback)
We liked Cliffhanger because it was exciting and we couldn't wait to read what happened next. Tim went on an adventure holiday. He wasn't very good at sport but he found out that he was better than he thought. Tim made friends with a boy called Biscuits. We liked Biscuits because he was funny and always eating. Tim was very scared when he tried to abseil, nevertheless, he had a go with surprising results.
A year 3 literacy group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cliffhanger by Jaqueline Wilson Illustrated by Nick Sharrat!xxx!, 6 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Cliffhanger (Kindle Edition)
This is my book review about Cliffhanger, this book was written by my favourite children's author.....Jaqueline Wilson, and is illustrated by Nick Sharrat! In this short paragraph, you'll read all about why I like Jaqueline Wilson and why I chose to review this book!

The reason that I chose to rate this book five out of five, is because I simply don't think that it could ever turn into a better book to read than it already is!

Likes about the book, includes almost completely every single thing in the book! ONE thing that I disliked about the book, was that Jaqueline Wilson is really very good at writing books about romance, and love. And those are my favourite types of Jaqueline Wilson books, but in this book, I just don't think that their was enough romance in the book for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mind lifting, 14 May 2013
This review is from: Cliffhanger (Paperback)
CLIFFHANGER

I think that cliffhanger is a great book ,because you can always imagine whats going on or what people look like from the great description that she puts in. There are some nice pictures , the writing is easy to read and it gives you a great feeling in side .

A few weeks ago I never liked reading, but now since I have started reading these books I am really enjoying reading. I can't wait to get home, because I can read some more of my book .

These are the best books ever now you should read one and see what you think.

By Elysia
age 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars From wimp to hero in a week!, 5 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Cliffhanger (Paperback)
A delightful story about Tim, who would much rather be watching television, is sent by his parents on an adventure holiday. Tim has never been any good at sports or games but now he has a go at lots of activities, such as abseiling, canoeing and completing obstacle courses, finds new friends and becomes a hero! Another great story by a fantastic author, highly recommended. Teachers could easily use this book to support work in PSHE, helping children acknowledge their strengths and being willing to try new activities, overcoming fear of failure and developing resilience in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cliffhanger, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliffhanger (Kindle Edition)
I loved cliff hanger since I couldn't put the book down because I loved reading about all of the fun activities they did at camp.I liked Kelly biscuits and Tim because they are kind and Tim didn't give up at abseiling even though he is very scarf of heights and biscuits was very funny plus he encouraged Tim to get down the cliff side. Kelly went back for Tim too see off he was ok whereas Giles just wanted to win. My favourite part was the bucket race at the end because one of my favourite characters Tim helped the tigers win from Tim's thought and hard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Book, 19 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Cliffhanger (Paperback)
I have just read this book and loved it. I love it how you don't know what's going to happen in each chapter. I think I would describe this book as myterios with a bit of comedy thrown it. I would recommend this book to 8-12 year olds :) hope this helps. The only bad thing for me was I found it a bit short but that was easily sorted... If you read this book and enjoy it then you will want to read Buried Alive! by Jacqueline Wilson, this is a follow up to the book cliffhanger and is a great read hope you enjoy the books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cliffhanger
Cliffhanger by Jacqueline Wilson
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews