Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad but true
This review is for the unabridged CD read by the author. This is always going to be a love it or hate it series of views. If you really don't like Dee and his style of grumpy reflection then this is going to do nothing to change your mind.
If however you are someone born in the 60's who has grown fed up with the worrying and frankly downright annoying mess we call...
Published on 29 Oct 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read
A long drawn out read to get to the point where his life changed after being discovered. However quite enjoyable and infomative.
Published 6 months ago by cliff mccarthy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad but true, 29 Oct 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thanks For Nothing (Audio CD)
This review is for the unabridged CD read by the author. This is always going to be a love it or hate it series of views. If you really don't like Dee and his style of grumpy reflection then this is going to do nothing to change your mind.
If however you are someone born in the 60's who has grown fed up with the worrying and frankly downright annoying mess we call life then step right up your ride is here.
Dee delivers an endless tirade on everything from the tedium of sport to the modern man and his ladylike pampering to his own childhood fantasies. In truth he tells very little of his own personal history as he always ends up wandering off on a tangent about some subject or other that gets his goat. Thats not to say he has no personal stories worth sharing. There are some great personal tales, such as the cringe worthy assault launched on an innocent hotel toilet or his hapless one and only attempt at employing a personal trainer, but he is really using this as a chance to rage against the world and life in general.
The endless tirade would soon descend into dull and repetitive were it not for his potty imagination, the fact that so much of what he says is just so true and that he has a disarming ability for honesty that shows him warts and all but makes this all the better for it.
The different stories move along at enough of a pace to keep you interested but linger long enough to give some insight and depth.
This was never going to be the in-depth self analysis of Clive James autobiographies or the show biz revelations that are so popular nowadays. This does however have a certain charm and as the chapters go by it becomes very easy to settle in to this and go for 'just one more chapter'.
Dee's voice is fairly flat and of one tone but this works well with the content and his voice is clear and easy to follow. It's also great to have the olympian standard grump reading his own musings and rants.
This is a well judged release that works very well for Jack Dee's many fans and has much to laugh at, agree with and just simply enjoy.
The CD packaging itself is a bit spartan with all 7 CD's stacked upon one another on a single spindle. This style of storage will doubtless mean their scratching one another in time. There is also no booklet and the vinyl case is a little flimsy. This though has to be balanced against the fact that it is well recorded and you get an unabridged seven and a half hour audio book at about the same price of a two disc abridged release.
All in all the packaging can be lived with and the book itself, which is what really matters, is well worth a listen and is likely to be returned to again. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, surprising and funny, 14 Nov 2009
This review is from: Thanks For Nothing (Audio CD)
I wasn't really sure what to expect. I love Jack's observational humor, but the book? I chose the audiobook over the paperback wondering who would better deliver the story than the master of stand-up himself? And it sure was the right choice. If you looking just for more Jack's humor - forget it. If you are interested how it all happened, what shaped him... Get ready for a surprise. A big one too. It's just excellent. And the worst bit for me - I want more! Can't see that happening though, since it would mean he'd have to have another life to cover. Too bad. Anyway, it was money well spent. Don't hesitate! Grab it as soon as you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly different., 6 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Thanks For Nothing (Hardcover)
This is one autobiography that tries to be different, and it succeeds perfectly. Jack has shied away from the usual, "I was born, I went to school, this is what happened to Me." type of life story that so many famous people write and that usually make me lose interest after a couple of dozen pages or so. Sure, he does talk about that, but it is done in a way that makes you want to keep reading. Stories about his past are mixed with anecdotes of the modern day things and people who annoy him the most. There are some great laugh aloud moments and some stories you will want to read out to friends. Also the ending is not rushed and has been left open for an updated version or sequel, which I for one am looking forward to already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 23 Aug 2010
This review is from: Thanks For Nothing (Paperback)
Jack talks about his childhood his education and his many non-skilled jobs but somehow it feels like he has still managed to keep his private life out of the book.

On the surface this is the story of how he came to become a standup but in reality there are only a few chapters devoted to this and it is more about how unhappy he was with his career choices up until that point.

There are some very funny anecdotes and some parts made me laugh out loud. The first half of the book is funnier and felt more polished than the second.
I'm glad I read it, it was quite entertaining and I really like Jack Dee. I wish I could say it was fantastic but it wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dee-lightful, 6 Jun 2010
By 
SilentSinger (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Thanks For Nothing (Hardcover)
I've read a great number of autobiographies written by various comedians because basically I'm always interested to learn what makes them tick. I'm therefore glad to report that Jack Dee's autobiography doesn't include unnecessary tedious detail about his childhood, basically he cherry picks the best bits and structures the book by recalling a series of anecdotes, some of which are more believable than others. Whilst reading I kept hearing Dee's voice and imagining him as his comedy alter ego in Lead Balloon, Rick Spleen, a character I'm sure isn't too removed from his non-showbizz persona.

Dee takes us through a myriad of temporary jobs which he drifted in and out of before deciding to plump for a career in stand up comedy. I particularly loved the chapter about his time as a dispatch driver and his boss's wooden leg, which I defy anyone not to laugh out loud whilst reading. Overall, it's a great book, a perfect length, poignant and very funny indeed. I can't wait until the second volume is published, which it undoubtedly will be in a few years...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very funny, 11 Dec 2009
This review is from: Thanks For Nothing (Hardcover)
Just finished reading this and I was impressed with how funny it was - it's unusual for me to laugh out loud whilst reading but this really did make me laugh! Not only funny, but does actually give his life story as well, which is a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive stories, 29 Nov 2009
This review is from: Thanks For Nothing (Hardcover)
I found this book to be extremely funny. The stories are very interesting and hilarious in a non-standard, frank and refreshing way. I couldn't put the book down. I suggest picking up a copy at a store and pick a story at random in the book and start reading it. You may find yourself unable to put it down and walk away from it without wanting to finish the rest of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deadpan, Dead funny, 14 Nov 2009
This review is from: Thanks For Nothing (Hardcover)
If you thought you knew everything to laugh about Jack Dee, then read this! More laugh-out-loud side splitting comedy moments then you could ever get at the Comedy Store without the drunken hecklers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting journey..., 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thanks For Nothing (Hardcover)
Enjoyable and amusing read from the only apparently bitter comedian. Interesting to see how he found his outlet in the world of stand-up, and to get a sense of the difficulties that he has gone through to arrive on our screens today. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Jack Dee : Thanks for Nothing" Autobiography, 14 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thanks For Nothing (Paperback)
It is a great-read detailing what Jack Dee up-to in his life from when he was born to modern day and how he became relatively successful as a stand-up comedian in eventually "finding his feet".
The chapters are nice, short, humerous and make good, easy and enjoyable reading. Well worth a look!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thanks For Nothing
Thanks For Nothing by Jack Dee
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews