Customer Reviews


3,897 Reviews
5 star:
 (3,014)
4 star:
 (489)
3 star:
 (204)
2 star:
 (99)
1 star:
 (91)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


371 of 385 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another humdinger
I really can't believe that in the first three months of the year I have come across three gems in "A Thousand Splendid Suns," "A Quiet Belief in Angels" and now "The Book Thief." Each of these books is different but they are all stunning in their own individual way.

The Book Thief is highly original, although it did remind me somewhat of my book of the year...
Published on 14 Mar. 2008 by Mr. Peter Steward

versus
179 of 198 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A 'clever' book, but not for everyone
I am ambivalent towards this book. The writing style was definitely unique; I enjoyed the frequent intermissions by the narrator, which gave the story a light-hearted and a nostalgic back-in-your-childhood feel. The ending was particularly well done - poignant, perhaps tear-jerking for many readers.

However, I felt the characterisation altogether a little weak...
Published on 20 Mar. 2008 by J. Takata


‹ Previous | 1287 288 289390 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Seems so real, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
Very close to reality.
This book is for Anyone interested to see various angle in human relationship.
I am lucky to get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I am finding this book hard to read and it ..., 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
I am finding this book hard to read and it is not keeping me interested, but I will persevere with it and I might find out I am enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Book Thief, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Paperback)
I found the Book Thief a great read and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. I'm looking forward to discussing this with my Book Club members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, 6 Jun. 2013
By 
S. Bedford "Fairysnuff" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Paperback)
Just loved it!! I could not put this book down! If you set yourself a challenge to read one book in your lifetime make sure it's this one :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 17 April 2013
By 
M. E. George - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Paperback)
Excellently written, and not predictable. Thought provoking and one of the best books I think I have ever read, I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Takes you to another place, 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
Moving and so very emotional. A unique style of writing which is so evocative.
I will now be searching for other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly remarkable, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
Emotional and brilliant. Clever narration and a beautiful but haunting story. It is engaging and draws you into the world of the book thief
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best book ever!, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book because, it describes a life of a German girl, who steals books
It is narrated by death, which makes it interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Thief (Paperback)
Wonderful book written from a really interesting perspective covering a very emotive subject matter. I would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A moving story, 12 May 2014
This review is from: The Book Thief (Kindle Edition)
One of the most moving and beautiful stories I have ever read. Incredibly written, and leaves you wanting to hear more about Liesel's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1287 288 289390 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book Thief
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
£3.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews