Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice shots from a very pocket-friendly camera
Good value and functionality at the entry level for this metal-cased current-model Panasonic. Bought one for a friend's birthday and one for myself. After getting rid of a fuji Z5 a few years ago, missed having a discreet little 'top-pocket' cam - this is an ideal update on that unit.

Lens starts at 35mm so no luxe wide at this price point which is a shame as...
Published on 7 July 2010 by G. Palmer

versus
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's certainly small!
A very compact and slim camera. However, it does have its limitations and noise in low light images can be very noticeable particularly if you leave it to its own devices using Intelligent Auto. Set in Normal Mode will allow some degree of control with ISO limits and white balance but on a bright day, the intelligent mode wins down with good image quality (sometimes). As...
Published on 12 Mar. 2010 by A. Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's certainly small!, 12 Mar. 2010
By 
A. Walker (Lincoln UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very compact and slim camera. However, it does have its limitations and noise in low light images can be very noticeable particularly if you leave it to its own devices using Intelligent Auto. Set in Normal Mode will allow some degree of control with ISO limits and white balance but on a bright day, the intelligent mode wins down with good image quality (sometimes). As far as I can ascertain, the lens is not made by Leica although the Leica logo appears on the body. In hindsight I would have preferred a pocket camera with the conventional "telescopic" lens that are made by Leica, the reason Panasonic cameras are one of the best on the market. As a camera it can work well so if you are not too demanding, try one! Oh and by the way, it's not difficult to get your fingers in front of the lens!!

Edit: Well, after using this camera for almost a week under various conditions I have decided to return it. One problem is the variable image quality. Even shots in bright sunlight when enlarged a little show clear evidence of smeared detail, presumably from the auto-noise reduction function over which there is no control. Years ago I had a Minolta Xg and the lens configuration was very similar and only 3 megapix. Image quality from the Xg was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice shots from a very pocket-friendly camera, 7 July 2010
By 
G. Palmer "gorpalm" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good value and functionality at the entry level for this metal-cased current-model Panasonic. Bought one for a friend's birthday and one for myself. After getting rid of a fuji Z5 a few years ago, missed having a discreet little 'top-pocket' cam - this is an ideal update on that unit.

Lens starts at 35mm so no luxe wide at this price point which is a shame as that would give it the perfect 'piste to party' lens, and only 4x optical zoom. The fuji z300 w 5x zoom is in the same bracket, but I'd heard varying things about the image quality on that one, and touchscreens can drive me to distraction. Please also note lens is Lumix not Leica, again as befitting its value-conscious credentials.

Pics come out sharp and with a bit of in-camera option-tweaking with nice warm colours too. Intelligent Auto works really well in most cases, producing in the main good shots. It's not going to set the world alight, but a very competent unit that can consistently give you happy results. Noise and noise reduction is what you'd expect from the latest generation of Panasonics - ok up to ISO 400, some small prints still possible (and pleasing) at 800. You can tweak settings, fixing ISO to a lower level than the IA mode might demand, and let the shutter-speed and flash compensate - I've found the flash produces very nice softly lit results, esp true with faces.

Surprise - video includes hi-def! Recorded in some old-style big-fat format so Eats memory - For me the WVGA option is perfectly adequete for pc playback.

The menus and user-interface isn't quite as intuitive as I'd like, this being my first Panasonic I'm constantly stumbling over what should be simple menu navigation and option-selections - Not sure if this is just green-hands and further familiarity will breed 'content'. Might have to *gasp* read the full pdf, which can't be any target-consumers' (esp of this entry-level unit's) idea of a good time. Compared to the menus of other P&Ss I've owned it could definitely do with some shaping up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic Lumix FP1 camera, 31 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Panasonic Lumix FP1 Digital Camera - Blue (12.1MP, 4x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
Excellent camera for holiday snap shots. Good quality pictures and video.

Inconvenience issues on menu access for switching between snapshot and taking video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best camera by far, 17 Aug. 2010
By 
Carol Dawson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took this camera on recent cruise and used mainly the intelegent mode! perfection in all differant lacations and light conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera, 16 July 2010
Great camera - slim, no extending lens but still a good quality from the optical zoom (it's all inside - clever stuff!). Good selection of extra features, easily accessible from the menus controls; quick startup to first photo. Photos have good detail and good colour balance; good battery life. Highly recommend at full price, Amazon's price even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Camera, 25 Sept. 2010
By 
G. W. Long "Gra Long" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wanted a Camera for that quick snap,one that I could easily carry around with my D300.This fits the bill a treat. Wont go into the technical aspects, its been said by lots of other reviewers who were equally impressed . This camera in my opinion is an absolute gem, and does everything I was hoping for, plus a bit more. OK you can buy something cheaper, but if your looking for that extra bit of quality then paying a few pennies more for the Panasonic is well worth the excercise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive photos, 26 July 2010
The camera is very cute, slick design and easily fits in my pocket. The lens is greatly protected from dust and easy to switch on/off with just the close of lens cover. The picture quality with IA option is not that effective and I prefer to go with selective modes and it is impressive.
The play button is slightly flat with the panel and requires pressing little hard. Overall, it is nice pick for the price it is offered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lumix camera, 14 July 2010
By 
Mrs. Linda Tree (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It was bought for my daughter's 26th birthday and she's delighted with it. Very neat little camera and well worth the money spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Panasonic Lumix FP1 Digital Camera, 7 July 2010
First digital camera bought. Very impressed. Photos good easy to use. Can only speak as you find. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little compact, 26 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this camera as I had the lumix dmc-fp and wanted a small camera I could stick in my handbag to take pics of the kids.

To begin with I was disappointed with the quality of pictures taken indoors with the flash. There was alot of noise however I found if you switch off the auto intelligent mode then change the ISO to 200 the picture quality is spot on.

Overall this is a neat little camera and i'm very pleased with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews