Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, gritty and truely believable. A must-see hard hitting movie.
If you enjoyed the gritty street scenes of Kidadulthood and Adulthood and enjoy a fast paced, hard hitting drama this is the movie to see. Based in Birmingham it is the story of Flash who in the course of 1 day experiences major hiccups in his life. This story shows gang culture at its hardest but with a poetic approach to it. It shows how such culture affects family,...
Published on 6 April 2010 by D. Delalande

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOU'RE EXTERMINATING YOUR OWN RACE
There is nothing like a good musical story about rival gangs and just meeting a girl named "Maria." And this isn't it. The film opens with gangs singing hip-hop music. They wear bandanas of different colors to distinguish themselves. For me there were 2 groups, the golds and the blues/purples. I couldn't understand them when they were singing and yes English is my...
Published 18 months ago by The Movie Guy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars great all round, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1 Day [DVD] (DVD)
this movie is fab and its defo a MUST SEE. I totaly enjoyed watching it and will do time & time again , the delivery was great too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good film!, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1 Day [DVD] (DVD)
Good film for people who like films such kidulthood, sket and friday..

A good exam[ple of London youth street life and comedy bits thrown in.

Fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bobbin job, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1 Day [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't think it was that good because it was s*** and boring oh dear wats it even about singing in the middle of a chase wtf that about blud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was actually pretty good, 5 Feb. 2012
By 
Rashid Darden "Novelist" (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1 Day [DVD] (DVD)
One of the benefits of having a multi-region DVD player is that I get to support films which tell stories from all corners of the African diaspora.

First and foremost, I had forgotten that this film is not just a drama, but a hip-hop musical. If you are an American and/or you are not used to the variety of British and West Indian accents, you will need to turn on the subtitles. The problem with this is the delivery of the lines is so fast and furious, you may miss some of the action because you're trying to read the text.

Judging the rapping alone, it's pretty good. My friend who watched it with me felt like it wasn't authentic hip-hop because it wasn't American. Of course I disagree. Hip-hop is, and always has been, the voice of youth, resistance, rebellion, despair, and hope all in one, regardless of the language or accent.

Speaking of authenticity, it's hard to know whether this is the authentic black Birmingham experience because I have so little exposure to it. The "chorus" of baby-mamas didn't sit well with me; I couldn't figure out whether it was being played for laughs or for seriousness. It was quite stereotypical.

Parts of this film visually reminded me of the American television program "The Wire." Other parts reminded me of "Belly." Overall, it was well done technically.

The acting was good - Dylan Duffus as Flash was especially good and I hope to see him in other films eventually.

I'd especially like to make mention of the character Pest played by Orhan Whyte. He reminds me both of "Ruby" in Precious (played by Shayla Stewart) and of "Dukie" from The Wire. To say more might spoil it, but I appreciate that the most vulnerable character in the story is also the moral center.

I liked this film. It is a good, smart, well done movie that held my attention. Was it somewhat simplistic? Yes, but what it lacks in narrative complexity is made up for by the strong acting from the leads and the strong rapping in the musical numbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars gangster film? joke, 25 Jan. 2012
This review is from: 1 Day [DVD] (DVD)
this was a dissapointment supposed to be a film about gang members and half of it is but the other half is a music video??? just start breakin out in rapping at the most dumbest of times wouldnt recommend this to anyone was a waste of my time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good Idea, Very Bad Actors, 15 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: 1 Day [DVD] (DVD)
The film theory was very good. Rap musical, something I have never seen before. And the storyline had some potential. But unfortunately it was ruined by the extremely bad quality acting and low budget directing. If they had got better directors, better actors and thrown some big money into it, then this could have been an amazing film.

I think the fact that they are using a 4star rating on their DVD cover says it all.

What a shame, nice try though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1 day, 15 Jan. 2012
This review is from: 1 Day [DVD] (DVD)
i brought this for my sister for christmas she has watched it so many times she she has got it
i have not watched it but she says it is good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars **, 29 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1 Day [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent film, good storyline, and timeline.

There is a lot to keep up with.

If you like this genre of film then it is a must have!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Really?, 16 Sept. 2011
This review is from: 1 Day [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this after I had red all the good reviews about it.
Well i've now watched it and i'm massively disappointed.
You cannot understand a word that is said, not only because of there accents but they mumble!
You expect a massive ending, but it was shockingly bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad film, 5 Jan. 2011
This review is from: 1 Day [DVD] (DVD)
Takes you right in to the world of gang violence and shows you the sad truth of the reality of it. Kept me watching and the acting wasn't too bad either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1 Day [DVD]
1 Day [DVD] by Penny Woolcock (DVD - 2010)
£4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews