Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique
I have yet to hear anyone else who produces albums as hypnotic and ambient as Varg. He is doing something no one else does. Belus is as good as the amazing, entrancing Hvis Lyset Tar Oss. It takes you on a journey...
Published on 5 Sep 2010 by CxC

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mediocre
Since I adored Hvis Lyset... and Filosofem (even though Varg's a moron, you can't deny that both are black metal milestones), I decided to give him another try after the disappointing midisound-keyboard prison-sessions...
Well, Belus is neither crappy nor outstanding, you get a solid black metal album - that's it. I guess no one would care that much if "Burzum"...
Published on 16 Mar 2010 by BlueVelvet


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, 5 Sep 2010
This review is from: Belus (Audio CD)
I have yet to hear anyone else who produces albums as hypnotic and ambient as Varg. He is doing something no one else does. Belus is as good as the amazing, entrancing Hvis Lyset Tar Oss. It takes you on a journey...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique (like all Burzum albums) and worth buying., 15 Aug 2011
By 
Varian Beauregard (Le Jardin d'Angleterre) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belus (Audio CD)
This is for me the most dissatisfying 'metal' Burzum album. I say that because it is varied and uneven containing a mixture of old and new compositions. The other thing to note is that this is the only Burzum album which has been mastered traditionally as metal music (the other albums all being mastered as classical music). Varg himself doesn't seem particularly satisfied with this fact and it certainly gives the album a unique sound in the history of Burzum. However it contains some very good tracks and is recognisably Burzum. It is less progressive than 'Fallen', albeit still with more subtle vocals than the pre-prison releases. Finally, whilst it mostly retains a good atmosphere and the hypnotic/repetitive segments I also think it often 'rocks' in a more traditional way than you might expect, which perhaps makes it more accessible in places. (I'm sure Varg would hate me for saying that!)

This is definitely worth checking out for yourself if you like Burzum at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belus-Burzum, 13 Jun 2010
By 
A. Brown "Airportable" (Woodseaves, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Belus (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strength of a magazine feature on Burzum. I was not disappointed.
You can sometimes tire of a lot of 'metal' sounding like just another album. This CD stands out by sounding different, not one track comes across weak, all are hypnotic and atmospheric with long riffs. This being my first album by Vark, I find His range of vocals truly fantastic and after many playings enjoy the CD more each time.
I will not even try to slot the album into a metal category, He stands alone as being just a fantastic maker of great music and I will be collecting further CD's by the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few things you should know about 'Belus', 22 Mar 2010
This review is from: Belus [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Interesting how things change. 'Burzum' (meaning 'the darkness') has released an album dedicated to Belus, the Indo-European deity of light. Far from being contradictory, however, Varg's opposition to Judeo-Christianity hasn't wavered a bit - just his conception of where he stands in relation to it. Originally he thought of himself as a force of darkness, but now he sees Judeo-Christianity itself as the darkness, and so opposes it with a force of light.

The music itself is both dark and bright, sunlight and shadow. On one track the guitars form a cold pre-dawn mist, on another they dance like a rainbow on a waterfall.

'Belus' Død' is a powerful and older piece, dating back to the time of 'Filosofem', and indeed its opening riff was also used in a less powerful way on 'Dauði Baldrs'. Now, played on guitar, it sounds truly overwhelming. On the other hand, 'Sverddans' ('Sword Dance') features music Varg wrote when he was sixteen, sounding like raw death metal à la Darkthrone's 'Goatlord', and this doesn't fit in very well with the other pieces.

More recent compositions like 'Glemselens Elv' ('The River of Forgetfulness'), 'Keliohesten' ('The Horse of Kelio') and 'Morgenrøde' ('Dawn') are strong, hypnotic, shimmering and deeply beautiful.

The lyrics, now translated into English and other languages on the Burzum website, are excellent.

While 'Belus' isn't as good as Varg's masterpiece 'Hvis Lyset Tar Oss', it stands alongside his other albums and is musically perhaps most similar to 'Filosofem'. It's good to see Varg out in the 'world' again, continuing his artistic mission and offending so many repressed, politically correct idiots by his mere existence. 'Belus' is an album I will listen to many times in the future.

Welcome back...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incrediblecomeback, 21 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belus [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Belus is the long awaited first post prison Burzum release, the first one in 11 years. Fans of Burzum`s earler work will enjoy this album but it has a newer and heavier feel to it which makes it distinctive from the other releases.
My only criticism is the lack of English translation of the Norwegian lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It seems the guy who gave this 1 star has no idea about Burzum, 17 May 2012
This review is from: Belus (Audio CD)
This is by no means a great album but it does a whole lot more than the typical corpsepaint high end music festival black metal we see these days. A music project still guided by personal inspiration rather than trying to be a 90s Norwegian black metal band rip off. This isn`t NSBM, this isn`t a band. It`s not even black metal. It`s Burzum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Varg still got it., 29 Oct 2010
By 
Gill Vandenbroeck (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Belus (Audio CD)
This may not be the best album Varg created but nonetheless is this a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10, 27 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Belus (Audio CD)
on first listen of this album i was slightly underwhelmed, having waited so long for it, and because it is fast paced its hard to take in all the brilliance on first listen. i was hoping that the songs would be like det som engang var, but the tracks on this album are fast and unrelenting, but that gives them a hypnotizing quality and there are some beautiful melodies that are as good if not as memorable as those on older albums, ive listened to this album over and over now and feel i will return to it for years, it doesnt get boring and i cannot fault it, some will find it perhpas less exciting than older albums but overall this is burzum on brilliant form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 8 Mar 2010
By 
Igor Orlowski (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Belus (Audio CD)
I wasn't expecting much from this album, but after just one listen I knew this was going to be one of my favourites. There are no skippable songs on this ablum, and luckily, my favourite song on the album (Glemselens Elv) is also the longest one! A must get for any Burzum fan or a fan of black metal in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few things you should know about 'Belus', 22 Mar 2010
This review is from: Belus (Audio CD)
Interesting how things change. 'Burzum' (meaning 'the darkness') has released an album dedicated to Belus, the Indo-European deity of light. Far from being contradictory, however, Varg's opposition to Judeo-Christianity hasn't wavered a bit - just his conception of where he stands in relation to it. Originally he thought of himself as a force of darkness, but now he sees Judeo-Christianity itself as the darkness, and so opposes it with a force of light.

The music itself is both dark and bright, sunlight and shadow. On one track the guitars form a cold pre-dawn mist, on another they dance like a rainbow on a waterfall.

'Belus' Død' is a powerful and older piece, dating back to the time of 'Filosofem', and indeed its opening riff was also used in a less powerful way on 'Dauði Baldrs'. Now, played on guitar, it sounds truly overwhelming. On the other hand, 'Sverddans' ('Sword Dance') features music Varg wrote when he was sixteen, sounding like raw death metal à la Darkthrone's 'Goatlord', and this doesn't fit in very well with the other pieces.

More recent compositions like 'Glemselens Elv' ('The River of Forgetfulness'), 'Keliohesten' ('The Horse of Kelio') and 'Morgenrøde' ('Dawn') are strong, hypnotic, shimmering and deeply beautiful.

The lyrics, now translated into English and other languages on the Burzum website, are excellent.

While 'Belus' isn't as good as Varg's masterpiece 'Hvis Lyset Tar Oss', it stands alongside his other albums and is musically perhaps most similar to 'Filosofem'. It's good to see Varg out in the 'world' again, continuing his artistic mission and offending so many repressed, politically correct idiots by his mere existence. 'Belus' is an album I will listen to many times in the future.

Welcome back...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Belus
Belus by Burzum (Audio CD - 2010)
Click for more info
In stock on September 28, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews