Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boom biddy bye bye!
Excellent product (so far), if you want to enrich your car systems low end audio range on a budget, seriously, look no further. Car Audio Warehouse dispatched this the same day as order and using the free delivery option it arrived the next day, outstanding, can't ask for anything more than that, I really hope that level of service continues for future purchases even if...
Published on 5 Nov. 2012 by JJ

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars especially during some tracks is not the best. Also may be good in a small hatchback
For the price it's okay, you get a woofer and an amp, but the quality of the base, especially during some tracks is not the best. Also may be good in a small hatchback, but in a sedan, the base comes a bit muffled.
Published 26 days ago by Alexander Agnihotri


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boom biddy bye bye!, 5 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge EDB12A Active Car Speakers (Electronics)
Excellent product (so far), if you want to enrich your car systems low end audio range on a budget, seriously, look no further. Car Audio Warehouse dispatched this the same day as order and using the free delivery option it arrived the next day, outstanding, can't ask for anything more than that, I really hope that level of service continues for future purchases even if it is somewhat reliant on the courier.

Once unboxed the unit itself is nice and solid and, in my opinion, pretty cool looking (each to their own and all that!). Hardest part of the install is not down to the product itself or the supplied kit (which does the job just fine in my MK4 Astra), it's simply finding a route through the bulk head for the battery/power cable (I chose the bonnet release grommet behind the fuse box as my entry point).

Once installed be prepared to "run in" the speaker, took a good 20 hours on half gain (sub side) but you can hear a difference especially in the punchier bass lines...now I must be hitting the recommended 30hr mark for run in.

Sound, A friend of mine describes it as "militant", I presume that's good...either way the commute to work is something to look forward to now, balanced out (edge EDB12A amp controls, 1/2 gain, around the 150hz mark for the low pass filter and no bass boost) it is a real addition to the sound stage, doesn't drown out the rest of the ranges but still has proper low down kick. As with nearly all audio, it takes some time to set the dials and find the levels that suit your ear and the acoustic properties of your car and seating position within that.

That being said I don't want to give the impression this unit is in anyway tame, for a non-competition real world use it can be savage!

Once it's been run in, more aggressive amp and head unit settings will deliver proper bass you can feel in your chest....way more than anything I personally need, but, nice to know it's there! Just be careful you don't engage a low pass filter in your head unit when using the EDB12A built in one, I am reliably told having two LPF's will cause unwanted crossovers and cancellation of certain frequencies...I have yet to play with my head units filter as the EDB12A seems to do just fine.

Considering the price I am blown away by this thing, really good quality bass rivalling some much more expensive alternatives, especially when you consider I am running it essentially at about 1/3rd its true potential.

Time will tell on its longevity, if you see no edit or added message from me stating otherwise, assume it's still shaking the rust out of my rear arch sills and blurring my rear view mirror!

*EDIT: NEARLY 1 YEAR LATER*: This box is still pumping out the B lines, cone and driver have been exercised pretty much daily for hours at a time, never overheats and never cuts out. One thing that does come to light is that the amp behind the curtain is reportedly a 280watt RMS affair with the subwoofer driver itself being 300watt RMS. Makes sense because a lot of people do have a habit of buying these things then turning the bass boost & gain up to maximum and then wondering why it sounds so bad, and, why the marketing blurb never showed flames licking around the edges. Anyway, as I said all that time ago, if you want to get some serious beats, don't want to spend a fortune, or, enter competitions (important, this is recreational, not competition grade), this really is 100% worth the money....think about it, so far, a years worth of mobile flat Eric for 30p a day and counting...bargain :)

*Update: 2 years on and it is still thumping away and given how my install has grown over the years I am now wringing the neck of this unit every journey, on it goes!*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge EDB12A Active Car Speakers (Electronics)
currently running it in, on 1/3 gain, but it's already kicking me in the head! It comes with a wiring kit, and the side panel comes off to allow the wires to be hidden. The earth lead is ridiculously short, so make sure you purchase some earth wire before you start. Very easy to set up, the instructions are very good and easy to follow. I won't be annoying the neighbours, I just wanted to add some depth and kicking bass, I mainly listen to rock and metal, and the double kick drums sound awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the investmen, 9 Sept. 2012
By 
Mr. L. G. Yeates "luther" (United kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge EDB12A Active Car Speakers (Electronics)
This sub produces a deep rich sound considering its size and weight, it comes with instructions on how to wire this into a car header unit but you can also have it as a simple additional that can be easily added and removed from your car by simply joining the top two connection ports for power on the side of the amplifier tricking it into believing your header unit is turned on, and simply power the amp through your 12v power socket. either way it works a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes my car bounce, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge EDB12A Active Car Speakers (Electronics)
Arrived in 48 hrs, complete with full wiring kit and fuse for battery end. Easy to install but you will need a high to low line level converter if installing from a standard head unit. A little tricky running the power cable through the grommet into the car but after that fairly straight forward to fit.
The sound from this thing is immense for the price. Still running the speaker in as recommended but already makes my car boom. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars impressed., 16 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Edge EDB12A Active Car Speakers (Electronics)
Very happy with this. Wasn't expecting much, used to have a nice Kenwood sub with separate amp years ago. Bought this for my Van after fitting some Kenwood 6/9s and feeling the space was a bit empty and bassless. Got this sub in, ran it in a bit and it sounds great. Much fuller sound and bass you can feel. A bargain I reckon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BARGIN !!!, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge EDB12A Active Car Speakers (Electronics)
I have seen this sub woofer in Halfords for £120, after looking online i saw this was the best price and it is well worth it. The package includes all the wires you need to setup your sub woofer, and it even tells you how to install it. the only reason with i didn't rate the product 5 stars was because the second picture of the new style of sub woofer was different to the one that got delivered to me. But, the sub woofers are almost identical, just a few colour changes are different.
Overall
Brilliant product, well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great budget buy, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge EDB12A Active Car Speakers (Electronics)
I have to give this 5 stars as I can't go higher!! It's a great buy if you are looking for a sub but on a budget, the fact it comes amped, boxed and also includes the wiring kit is a major plus and 1 of the reasons I bought it. I only have the bass half way at the mo as it's not had the full "run in time" but even with that it gives a fantastic sound. I really do recommend it for those who want noise but are a little short of cash!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge EDB12A Active Car Speakers (Electronics)
Put it on my Passat so you would never think it's in there. Halfords fitted it for me for £30 included extra cable I needed. It fit into the standard radio on the car and delivers well. Also it's cheaper than else where unless you buy second hand. If you buy make sure you let it settle into your car for a few hundred miles then it will sound much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge EDB12A Active Car Speakers (Electronics)
I brought this for my partners little punto he still has plenty of room to use and once the sub has broken in well one word wow!!! He's so happy with this and so am I and it works out cheaper then halfords took a hour to install and had no problems five stars would defo recommend x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge EDB12A Active Car Speakers (Electronics)
Item arrived well before delivery date, setup was easy and straight forward, excellent bass from the sub takes the pressure of the speakers making the high and low notes sound crisper. I would recommend this product to anyone looking to buy a subwoofer as its price is affordable :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edge EDB12A Active Car Speakers
£90.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews