Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real frights!
Ten proper, truly scary supernatural tales, for those who have already read similar tales before. 'The Whistling Room' still gives me a chill. So much better than the routine silly special effects loaded fodder you get on the cinema these days. Read them at night, alone, in a lonely house....great!
Published on 17 Jan 2012 by R. Blocksidge

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull
I found this to be totally over worked and about as 'chilling' as having a kitten sleeping in your lap. As a fan of original, well written ghost stories I was looking forward to an author I hadn't read before but I'm afraid this just didn't work for me. Glad it was only 80p, can't complain too much at that.
Published on 6 July 2012 by Buzzgroove


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real frights!, 17 Jan 2012
By 
R. Blocksidge (Wilmcote, Stratford-upon Avon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Extreme Ghost Stories For Hardcore Horror Fans Only Illustrated (Ghost Stories & Hauntings) (Kindle Edition)
Ten proper, truly scary supernatural tales, for those who have already read similar tales before. 'The Whistling Room' still gives me a chill. So much better than the routine silly special effects loaded fodder you get on the cinema these days. Read them at night, alone, in a lonely house....great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic supernatural tales, 28 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Extreme Ghost Stories For Hardcore Horror Fans Only Illustrated (Ghost Stories & Hauntings) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant stuff! Add this to your collection immediately! Certainly not Stephen King stuff but all the better for a sly sense of humour lurking amongst the supernatural. This author is The Master of this kind od story. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master storyteller from a bygone era, 29 July 2012
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Extreme Ghost Stories For Hardcore Horror Fans Only Illustrated (Ghost Stories & Hauntings) (Kindle Edition)
Algernon Blackwood was a prolific storyteller with a special gift for tales of ghosts, possession, hauntings and general "weirdness". I enjoyed each and every one of these stories but; I read a lot of Victorian/Edwardian literature so I'm used to the different style of language and expected them to be gentle, slow and ambling. This genre of literature is never fast, violent or racy. There are no demons, witches or possessed serial killers hiding around the next page waiting to make you jump. What you can expect is a subtle building up of psychological tension that might well give you chills. None of the stories are overly long, all are easy to read, and my only slight niggle would be that the illustrations are quite naff on Kindle and the stories could well have survived without them. I'd like to say thanks to the publisher for bringing Algernon back into the public arena, nice to see his work out here where it can be appreciated by fans old and new. It's amazing how many moden day writers of horror and mystery have been influenced by his work and yet he's rarely ever credited. The only recent tribute I've seen was by Adam Nevill who thanked Blackwood in his novel Banquet for the Damned...he's still relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary stories, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Extreme Ghost Stories For Hardcore Horror Fans Only Illustrated (Ghost Stories & Hauntings) (Kindle Edition)
Algernon Blackwood is brilliant at setting the scene and building the suspense. I read this because it was recommended by Susan Hill and I was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Extreme Ghost Stories For Hardcore Horror Fans Only Illustrated (Ghost Stories & Hauntings) (Kindle Edition)
I found this to be totally over worked and about as 'chilling' as having a kitten sleeping in your lap. As a fan of original, well written ghost stories I was looking forward to an author I hadn't read before but I'm afraid this just didn't work for me. Glad it was only 80p, can't complain too much at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Extreme ghost stories, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Extreme Ghost Stories For Hardcore Horror Fans Only Illustrated (Ghost Stories & Hauntings) (Kindle Edition)
There is nothing like a good old fashioned ghost story and these 10 short stories do not fail to deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars good job it was cheap!, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Extreme Ghost Stories For Hardcore Horror Fans Only Illustrated (Ghost Stories & Hauntings) (Kindle Edition)
Sorry but the title is very misleading if your wanting a real good
horror story don't buy this! I've honestly read children's books
that have scared me more, give me Masterton or King if you want
horror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars present, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Extreme Ghost Stories For Hardcore Horror Fans Only Illustrated (Ghost Stories & Hauntings) (Kindle Edition)
The book arrived on time, there was no damage, well packaged and the person it was for quite enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy!, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Extreme Ghost Stories For Hardcore Horror Fans Only Illustrated (Ghost Stories & Hauntings) (Kindle Edition)
Never heard of Blackwood before but wanted to read some spooky stories, and found him looking around Amazon. He's a masterful storyteller, able to describe states of fear so chillingly that it spooks the reader. 'The Haunted Island' was particularly brilliant and gave me a bit of a restless night! Ultimately I could have done with less stories about single men in lodgings, but I can't fault the writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Robert Parsons (Blackwood, South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 Extreme Ghost Stories For Hardcore Horror Fans Only Illustrated (Ghost Stories & Hauntings) (Kindle Edition)
A great collection of stories that will make look twice around your room before going to sleep. Would definitely recommend to any ghost story fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews