Customer Reviews


185 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Buzz falls with style, we fall wholesale for this animated classic.
Toy Story is directed by John Lasseter who also co-writes the story with a whole host of other people! It features the voices of Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Don Rickles, Jim Varney, Annie Potts, Wallace Shawn, John Ratzenberger and Laurie Metcalfe. Music is by Randy Newman.

The first feature-length film animated entirely by computer, there's not a lot that can be...
Published on 14 July 2012 by Spike Owen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Toy Story dvd
dvd ok but it has a fault near the beginning .The picture becomes hazy, also the volume is so low I have to have the tv on maximum volume.Still a great film and the grandchildren love it.
Published 20 months ago by Linda Papworth


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Buzz falls with style, we fall wholesale for this animated classic., 14 July 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Toy Story (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Toy Story is directed by John Lasseter who also co-writes the story with a whole host of other people! It features the voices of Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Don Rickles, Jim Varney, Annie Potts, Wallace Shawn, John Ratzenberger and Laurie Metcalfe. Music is by Randy Newman.

The first feature-length film animated entirely by computer, there's not a lot that can be said now that hasn't been said before about Toy Story, both as a film of heart and substance, and as regards its importance in the world of animation. Two further sequels would follow, both enormously successful and both equally as enjoyable. But it began here in 95, where Woody, Buzz and the gang operated on a level that beguiled the children whilst simultaneously bringing knowing laughs to the accompanying adults. Pixar paint a vivid colourful world, bringing us down to the toys level and etching in emotive threads about jealousies, friendships, neuroses' and the relationship between a child and his toys, while youthful splendour bathes the film constantly. Even though the plot is simple in terms of ambition, the characterisations are substantial and the film never panders to political correctness. The voice work of the actors is terrific, especially Hanks and Allen as Woody and Buzz respectively, their vocal comedy ticks wonderfully bring life to the animated figures, while Newman adds his optimistic tunes into the mix.

Never maudlin or cheesy with its messages and sombre moments (something some other Disney films can't lay claim too), Toy Story's only crime is being too short at an hour and fifteen minutes (both subsequent sequels would rectify this issue). But it's a small complaint, probably (in my case) born out by greed for a longer adventure involving these marvellous creations. This was the start of a beautiful friendship for many, up there on the screen, and here in our own lives, thank you Pixar, you knocked it out of the park with this one, a film for all that keeps on giving delights with each subsequent revisit. 9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film for kids and adults, 15 Mar 2000
This review is from: Toy Story [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
State of the Art computer animated technology. The fun and adventure that Woody and his toy room friends get up to will not only live in a child's mind but also any adults mind who watches this film. Watch out for Mt Potato head he is cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toy Story DVD, 5 Jan 2010
By 
Ms. Lorraine M. Moore (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A brilliant DVD that children and adults love to watch. Great gift idea for any little one that hasn't seen this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable movie for the whole family, 23 Jan 2004
This review is from: Toy Story [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A touching, funny and exciting movie which introduces us to Buzz Lightyear, Woody and their playroom pals.
Great plot, great characters and great jokes all add up to a monster movie.
Should be recommended viewing for everyone - even those who dislike animated features. My dad who normally hates these kind of movies was transfixed! The kids wore out the VHS so thank god for DVD!
Our family prefer it to Toy Story 2 as we love Buzz and there is more of him in the first film. Its a close call though. Our favourite animated movie ever and we've seen them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not a toy.......................!!, 26 Mar 2010
By 
Bob and Billy's Mum (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
So so happy to see this one availible again and amazed its in the BOGOF section - its been hard to get for so long!

One of the finest Disney 'modern' animation tales, Toy Story tells of Andy's toys, who ARE real (!) and their new addition Buzz (I'm a Space Ranger) Lightyear.
The story has many tales of danger, jealousy, hilarity, teamwork and peril, but ultimately it is a story about friendship (cue song 'you've got a friend in me...........').

Totally superb in every way, a classic, and enjoyable by all ages. We first had this when my now 19 year old was 4. She still loves it. As does her sister aged 3.

Buy this, and buy another for keeps. You just can't go wrong. 5 * although I'd give stars to infinity - and beyond!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toy Story 3D/Blu Ray, 30 April 2013
By 
J. Dunne "jordy dunne" (IRELAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Toy Story 3D/Blu Ray - Epic blu ray release, a must buy, the 3d/1080p remaster of this movie is pretty good.. worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toy Story, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Loved this - very good value - super story - recommended to my friend and she was going to get one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story on a brilliant blu ray, 23 Mar 2010
Ok, this was the first full-length computer generated only animated film ever. That made me hesitate in picking this up for fear of crummy graphics, but boy am I glad I did. First of all, the story is about toys and what they do when the owner is not around, essentially, they come to life. There is a mad fit of jealousy when a new toy shows up, there are arguments, the evil guy, and of course, lots of action in between. Tom Hanks is brilliant as Woody, the toy being replaced by Buzz Lightyear, voiced by Tim Allen. Both do a briliant job on the voice overs and there are lots of other voices you will recognize as well.

I won't go into the story, because I don't write spoiler reviews, and most of you have seen this anyway. If you haven't, then stop reading right here, slap yourself, and order this blu ray, you will not regret it one bit. The story is just fantastic, and keeps you riveted throughout. It was a huge success not only because the animation was so good at the time, but because the story is moving.

Now, on to the brilliant blu ray:

Video Quality:

The 1080P here surprised me completely. I really thought the old graphics would look cheesy and trashy with the new shiny blu ray format. I reckon Pixar spent a lot of time retouching this film because it just looks brilliant. The colors are bold, well contrasted and add a very realistic atmosphere to the crystal clear lines, and razor sharp image the picture delivers. This is pure reference material in every aspect. It does show the limitations of graphics at the time, but mainly when they show the humans, who are not major players in this anyway. It also seems to enhance some aspects, such as reflections you see on the plastic, which I had never before noticed.

I am so surprised at how excellent this looks, the old graphics just didn't even bother me one bit. Five star video quality.

Sound Quality:

The DTS-HD MA 5.1 Track just wipes the floor with the previous dvd sound. This is reference quality sound through and through. It is in my opinion a near-perfect soundtrack, you just couldn't ask for more (well more BASS is always good..). The dialogue is glass clear, sharp, and easy to understand throughout. It is never drowned out in the action and even the background dialogue is perfectly used through the surrounds.

The surrounds are used to perfection, subtle when they should be, in your face when they have to be, and the music comes across cleanly, evenly and sounds excellent. The panning is just perfect. It is rare to see such excellent use of panning in a sound track, even in today's lossless world of blu ray. The ambience noises just put you right in it. An excellent example is when they are at the gas station, when the truck pulls up, wow. Huge bass, excellent surrounds, just great stuff.

The bass. This is not a movie which will work your subwoofer over in every scene, but it does not disappoint. The bass, when there is commanding and at times startling. It is, as I said, nearly perfect. The bass freaks would say there should be more, but honestly, I think the bass is just about right. For example, when the dinosaur jumps down and scares Woody, the rocket scene, and every time there is a semi truck....BOOM.

Overall, a huge thumbs up to Pixar, Disney and all the guys who worked on this blu ray. They did a fantastic job on the transfer, the sound, the extras. It sets the standard for the way all blu ray re-releases should be. Way to go! If only every studio put as much time, money and expertise into blu ray transfers!

Extras:

This disc is chock full of new extras, and also includes the extras from the DVD version. There is a preview of Toy Story 3D on it, as well as 3 animated shorts, making of, etc... I haven't watched them yet, but the extra freaks will not be disappointed here.

I have the German version of this disc which is region A,B,C. It did not come with a slip case. Runtime is 81 Minutes.

Recommendation:
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This really does bring toys to life, 3 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Toy Story [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Andy's favourite toy Woody the cowboy gets jealous when he is replaced by the new space toy Buzz Lightyear.

Anyone of any age who has already seen this film will tell you, no matter what think about CGI, that the sheer concept of this film is excellent. For the person who thought up the idea of toys coming to life, thank you. You have given this world an imaginative theory, which will be with us every time we leave the room.

Though everything about this film is exquisite, the ideology of living toys makes it what it is. When we first see Woody get up off the bed we need to blink a couple of times to make sure its real. Of course with modern technology CGI is hard not to use and this film was one of the first that was used effectively and though has now lost its significance. Nothing is lost in terms of the story however and the visuals and the finest direction Pixar ever achieved until Wall-E help create a warm fun family film. Will any other company beat Pixar on the animation stage? Shrek, Kung Fu Panda and Madagascar, though all good, don't have that extra depth and sophistication Pixar creates so easily.

Filled with great laughs and a suspense adventure, Toy Story is a sit down and enjoyable movie for the whole family. But then it is so much more than a movie.

Every Pixar movie has a message. Wall-E provided an insight into loneliness and the good of man kind, Monsters Inc told the tale of children's fairytales and Cars reflects doing something for others.

This 1995 hit preaches to its audience through its characters. Woody's jealousy at being replaced and his suffering are almost tear worthy. We have all had our favourite toys and replaced them and this simple message will trigger something deep down inside any viewer. Buzz's commitment to who he really is and his strong beliefs are great in shaping his character and preaching to viewers to believe who they really are.

Most importantly though is friendship and how important it can be to get someone out of trouble for the good of someone else. This message is further emphasised through the best Pixar song of all time, "You've got a friend in me"

Always consistent, always funny and always entertaining, Toy Story is a fun family film that will forever be remembered for its strong messages, entertainment and animation.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of the future for animation..., 4 May 2007
By 
Jodi Dougan "Jodi" (Ballygowan) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
By 1995, animated movies were starting to look old and amateurish. People sitting in around in offices drawing each frame caused animated movies to lose there romance and somewhere along the way become quaint and antiquated. How did Disney react to this? It hired a company that had only done animated shorts to make a full-length computer-generated film. The result was Toy Story, and what a result it was.

Toy Story is a film that captures its audience, old and young alike. It is filled with homages to other film genres, and its humour is a lot more sophisticated than a child can understand. Most of all, it shows us the future of animation and causes you to wonder whether in fifty years, maybe even sooner, will there be any need for actors and sets, or will we start to see only films that are the result of computer animation. After all, look at the wonderful worlds it can create.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toy Story (Special Edition) [DVD]
Toy Story (Special Edition) [DVD] by John Lasseter (DVD - 2010)
£7.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews