Customer Reviews


234 Reviews
5 star:
 (194)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Buzz falls with style, we fall wholesale for this animated classic.
Toy Story is directed by John Lasseter who also co-writes the story with a whole host of other people! It features the voices of Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Don Rickles, Jim Varney, Annie Potts, Wallace Shawn, John Ratzenberger and Laurie Metcalfe. Music is by Randy Newman.

The first feature-length film animated entirely by computer, there's not a lot that can be...
Published on 14 July 2012 by Spike Owen

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Toy Story Non-Anamorphic Widescreen VHS
Back when this Widescreen VHS version of Toy Story was first released, a widescreen version was quite rare and usually more expensive. Nonetheless, here it is. Note that most televisions were 4:3 when videos came out, and so though this is in widescreen it is non-anamorphic, and so when watched on a 16:9 television will have black bars around the complete image. This...
Published on 1 May 2012 by Lee Neville


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Buzz falls with style, we fall wholesale for this animated classic., 14 July 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Toy Story (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Toy Story is directed by John Lasseter who also co-writes the story with a whole host of other people! It features the voices of Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Don Rickles, Jim Varney, Annie Potts, Wallace Shawn, John Ratzenberger and Laurie Metcalfe. Music is by Randy Newman.

The first feature-length film animated entirely by computer, there's not a lot that can be said now that hasn't been said before about Toy Story, both as a film of heart and substance, and as regards its importance in the world of animation. Two further sequels would follow, both enormously successful and both equally as enjoyable. But it began here in 95, where Woody, Buzz and the gang operated on a level that beguiled the children whilst simultaneously bringing knowing laughs to the accompanying adults. Pixar paint a vivid colourful world, bringing us down to the toys level and etching in emotive threads about jealousies, friendships, neuroses' and the relationship between a child and his toys, while youthful splendour bathes the film constantly. Even though the plot is simple in terms of ambition, the characterisations are substantial and the film never panders to political correctness. The voice work of the actors is terrific, especially Hanks and Allen as Woody and Buzz respectively, their vocal comedy ticks wonderfully bring life to the animated figures, while Newman adds his optimistic tunes into the mix.

Never maudlin or cheesy with its messages and sombre moments (something some other Disney films can't lay claim too), Toy Story's only crime is being too short at an hour and fifteen minutes (both subsequent sequels would rectify this issue). But it's a small complaint, probably (in my case) born out by greed for a longer adventure involving these marvellous creations. This was the start of a beautiful friendship for many, up there on the screen, and here in our own lives, thank you Pixar, you knocked it out of the park with this one, a film for all that keeps on giving delights with each subsequent revisit. 9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film for kids and adults, 15 Mar. 2000
This review is from: Toy Story [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
State of the Art computer animated technology. The fun and adventure that Woody and his toy room friends get up to will not only live in a child's mind but also any adults mind who watches this film. Watch out for Mt Potato head he is cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toy Story DVD, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
Ms. Lorraine M. Moore (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A brilliant DVD that children and adults love to watch. Great gift idea for any little one that hasn't seen this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toy Story, 14 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Toy Story movies are my favorite movies. so i think should have the bluray version. The difference with the dvd very plasticity in color and gradation background viscosity is not too rough. only if viewed at a glance the dvd version is actually quite good. but this toy story audio deserve the number 5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable movie for the whole family, 23 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Toy Story [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A touching, funny and exciting movie which introduces us to Buzz Lightyear, Woody and their playroom pals.
Great plot, great characters and great jokes all add up to a monster movie.
Should be recommended viewing for everyone - even those who dislike animated features. My dad who normally hates these kind of movies was transfixed! The kids wore out the VHS so thank god for DVD!
Our family prefer it to Toy Story 2 as we love Buzz and there is more of him in the first film. Its a close call though. Our favourite animated movie ever and we've seen them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not a toy.......................!!, 26 Mar. 2010
By 
Bob and Billy's Mum (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
So so happy to see this one availible again and amazed its in the BOGOF section - its been hard to get for so long!

One of the finest Disney 'modern' animation tales, Toy Story tells of Andy's toys, who ARE real (!) and their new addition Buzz (I'm a Space Ranger) Lightyear.
The story has many tales of danger, jealousy, hilarity, teamwork and peril, but ultimately it is a story about friendship (cue song 'you've got a friend in me...........').

Totally superb in every way, a classic, and enjoyable by all ages. We first had this when my now 19 year old was 4. She still loves it. As does her sister aged 3.

Buy this, and buy another for keeps. You just can't go wrong. 5 * although I'd give stars to infinity - and beyond!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story on a brilliant blu ray, 23 Mar. 2010
Ok, this was the first full-length computer generated only animated film ever. That made me hesitate in picking this up for fear of crummy graphics, but boy am I glad I did. First of all, the story is about toys and what they do when the owner is not around, essentially, they come to life. There is a mad fit of jealousy when a new toy shows up, there are arguments, the evil guy, and of course, lots of action in between. Tom Hanks is brilliant as Woody, the toy being replaced by Buzz Lightyear, voiced by Tim Allen. Both do a briliant job on the voice overs and there are lots of other voices you will recognize as well.

I won't go into the story, because I don't write spoiler reviews, and most of you have seen this anyway. If you haven't, then stop reading right here, slap yourself, and order this blu ray, you will not regret it one bit. The story is just fantastic, and keeps you riveted throughout. It was a huge success not only because the animation was so good at the time, but because the story is moving.

Now, on to the brilliant blu ray:

Video Quality:

The 1080P here surprised me completely. I really thought the old graphics would look cheesy and trashy with the new shiny blu ray format. I reckon Pixar spent a lot of time retouching this film because it just looks brilliant. The colors are bold, well contrasted and add a very realistic atmosphere to the crystal clear lines, and razor sharp image the picture delivers. This is pure reference material in every aspect. It does show the limitations of graphics at the time, but mainly when they show the humans, who are not major players in this anyway. It also seems to enhance some aspects, such as reflections you see on the plastic, which I had never before noticed.

I am so surprised at how excellent this looks, the old graphics just didn't even bother me one bit. Five star video quality.

Sound Quality:

The DTS-HD MA 5.1 Track just wipes the floor with the previous dvd sound. This is reference quality sound through and through. It is in my opinion a near-perfect soundtrack, you just couldn't ask for more (well more BASS is always good..). The dialogue is glass clear, sharp, and easy to understand throughout. It is never drowned out in the action and even the background dialogue is perfectly used through the surrounds.

The surrounds are used to perfection, subtle when they should be, in your face when they have to be, and the music comes across cleanly, evenly and sounds excellent. The panning is just perfect. It is rare to see such excellent use of panning in a sound track, even in today's lossless world of blu ray. The ambience noises just put you right in it. An excellent example is when they are at the gas station, when the truck pulls up, wow. Huge bass, excellent surrounds, just great stuff.

The bass. This is not a movie which will work your subwoofer over in every scene, but it does not disappoint. The bass, when there is commanding and at times startling. It is, as I said, nearly perfect. The bass freaks would say there should be more, but honestly, I think the bass is just about right. For example, when the dinosaur jumps down and scares Woody, the rocket scene, and every time there is a semi truck....BOOM.

Overall, a huge thumbs up to Pixar, Disney and all the guys who worked on this blu ray. They did a fantastic job on the transfer, the sound, the extras. It sets the standard for the way all blu ray re-releases should be. Way to go! If only every studio put as much time, money and expertise into blu ray transfers!

Extras:

This disc is chock full of new extras, and also includes the extras from the DVD version. There is a preview of Toy Story 3D on it, as well as 3 animated shorts, making of, etc... I haven't watched them yet, but the extra freaks will not be disappointed here.

I have the German version of this disc which is region A,B,C. It did not come with a slip case. Runtime is 81 Minutes.

Recommendation:
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toy Story 3D/Blu Ray, 30 April 2013
By 
J. Dunne "jordy dunne" (IRELAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Toy Story 3D/Blu Ray - Epic blu ray release, a must buy, the 3d/1080p remaster of this movie is pretty good.. worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, but save your money on the 3D, 22 May 2014
I obviously understand that this is now an old film, and a Pixar Classic. When releasing the third instalment it was made to be viewed in 3D, but the original two films were not. I found that this and the second film in 3D was poor. The picture quality was fantastic in blu-Ray but the 3D only slightly enhances the picture. We could watch this without the 3D glasses and therefore it doesn't really add anything to your viewing pleasure. If I were you I would buy the first two films in blu-Ray and the third in 3D as the 3D in that is perfect.
3D aside, the film is brilliant, I enjoyed my blast back to my childhood. It really is a fun film for all the family, people old and young will enjoy this film, it really is a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic from my childhood and teenage years!, 10 Jan. 2012
This is one of those movies where I knew that the story line provided for such a relate-able story and experience in life. Not to mention, that the set ups for the sequels were just plain awesome! Adding new toys along the way, etc. All great! Not to mention the time and effort that Disney and Pixar put into getting the characters right.

Pros: See above.

Cons: Nothing with the story or the animation. Would love to see these movies be able to be streamed for free after you buy them, not if you buy a specific pack. Just my 2 cents.

Recommendations: A digital copy of the music included in every blu-ray/dvd pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toy Story (Special Edition) [DVD]
Toy Story (Special Edition) [DVD] by John Lasseter (DVD - 2010)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews