Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolute brilliance
this is the best stratagy game i have ever played by far, and for £4 its an absolute steal. Great graphics and really in depth gameply, you will never play the same scenario twice. the only real bad point is that the computer is always faster, stronger, bigger and richer than you, and it can be quite agrovating when they just keep on attacking you with a seemingly endless...
Published on 12 Oct 2010 by Treveil

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much more
I enjoy some video games and this genre of 'history spanning' RTS can be very absorbing, i like their take on historic civilizations. I really liked Empire Earth the original with its lovely environments and epoch spanning gameplay and also Rise of Nations for similar reasons.

However EE2 is something of a disappointment. The graphics can be good but actually...
Published 23 months ago by GJ_Reading


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolute brilliance, 12 Oct 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Empire Earth 2, Gold Edition (PC CD-ROM) (DVD-ROM)
this is the best stratagy game i have ever played by far, and for £4 its an absolute steal. Great graphics and really in depth gameply, you will never play the same scenario twice. the only real bad point is that the computer is always faster, stronger, bigger and richer than you, and it can be quite agrovating when they just keep on attacking you with a seemingly endless army. otherwize its a fantastic game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard game..., 22 July 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Empire Earth 2, Gold Edition (PC CD-ROM) (DVD-ROM)
Campaign is very hard. Nice objectives. PIP camera very futuristic for the age of this game. Less joyful than first EE but the price was terrific for the hoours of gameplay it offers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much more, 18 Jan 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Empire Earth 2, Gold Edition (PC CD-ROM) (DVD-ROM)
I enjoy some video games and this genre of 'history spanning' RTS can be very absorbing, i like their take on historic civilizations. I really liked Empire Earth the original with its lovely environments and epoch spanning gameplay and also Rise of Nations for similar reasons.

However EE2 is something of a disappointment. The graphics can be good but actually a lot of the time the units, buildings and environment all rather blend into each other and the sounds are not that great either. The real problem is the gameplay though.

For me certain gameplay features work - the civilian manager for instance, the temporary crown bonuses, the alliances and trading - while others just don't.

I just didn't like the implementation of fixed territories, they were frequently too small and restrictive, the tech tree wasn't as intuitive as in EE1 (& other rts games) and tended to whizz by so quickly that in mid game you just have to click some techs and get back to ordering units around before you get attacked again. The special epoch related resources therefore seemed to be available only briefly leading to somewhat annoying constant civilian reassignment.

An amusing oddity are the 'giant' special units you get after some achievements. It didn't bother me as such but they did look (and sound) somewhat comical in the context of the game.

Its not a bad game and I'm glad many people did enjoy it a lot but for me it fell unexpectedly short of its predecessor. The price (£2.99 when i got it) is something i wouldn't complain about though!

Are there any other really great history spanning RTS games out there beyond AoE, EE and RoN I wonder?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Earth 2, Gold Edition (PC CD-ROM) (DVD-ROM)
Great game, can be a lil repetitive but my lil nephew seems to love it.. Sad there is no more multiplayer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Product is great, game not so much., 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Earth 2, Gold Edition (PC CD-ROM) (DVD-ROM)
If you are a fan of Empire Earth then you should buy this, if you liked the last game then you will probably like this one. However if you bought this game because you are a fan of Age of Empires and thought that you would enjoy this then you might want to reconsider, in my opinion the game is fun for the first couple of games but replayability is poor, it gets old quickly and the games' civilisations are very similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic game, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Earth 2, Gold Edition (PC CD-ROM) (DVD-ROM)
As a huge fan of the original game I thought I'd give the second a try. There is a lot of improvements in terms of customisation of custom maps/scenarios, picking a civilisation to start as, intricacy of moving up the ages is also a lot more structured and interesting. The only thing I would say is it can feel a little convoluted sometimes however I would still recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The internet gaming of this is totally disabled, 4 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Earth 2, Gold Edition (PC CD-ROM) (DVD-ROM)
Whilst the game is as good as ever

Gamespy have closed, meaning zero online, and that really is zero, there is no ip to ip connectivity whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Joshua (Weston-Super-Mare) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Earth 2, Gold Edition (PC CD-ROM) (DVD-ROM)
Considering its age, this game has great graphics and good gameplay. The expansion really adds another dimension to the game. Would recommend, especially considering its price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Earth 2, Gold Edition (PC CD-ROM) (DVD-ROM)
Very Good But I Think Empire Earth 1 is Better god value and very good game recommend to most but Empire Earth 1 is better in my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best my a long way, 30 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire Earth 2, Gold Edition (PC CD-ROM) (DVD-ROM)
i think this is one of the best games i played for a long time and whould say to any one thinking of buying it go for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Empire Earth 2, Gold Edition (PC CD-ROM)
Empire Earth 2, Gold Edition (PC CD-ROM) by Mastertronic Ltd (Windows Vista / XP)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews