Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillianty weird
Warning: the 12-rating belies some fairly adult content. I have fond memories of watching this as a 13-year-old with my parents and everyone getting hideously embarassed, so do watch out. This mid-80s BBC production is faithfully adapted from the Fay Weldon novel of the same title and is infinitely better than the hollywood movie version. Dowdy housewife Ruth finally...
Published on 28 Nov. 2004 by Horridbloke

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No English subtitles.
Dutch subtitles only. Dialogue was very incoherent and badly needed subtitles.
This was a Dutch copy. If you are thinking of getting this folks, try and get a U.K. version.
Published on 12 Mar. 2013 by Des Grant.

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillianty weird, 28 Nov. 2004
By 
Horridbloke (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Warning: the 12-rating belies some fairly adult content. I have fond memories of watching this as a 13-year-old with my parents and everyone getting hideously embarassed, so do watch out. This mid-80s BBC production is faithfully adapted from the Fay Weldon novel of the same title and is infinitely better than the hollywood movie version. Dowdy housewife Ruth finally flips out over her husband's (Dennis Waterman with a bad 'tache) latest affair and sets out on an epic mission to ruin him and his mistress, the romance novelist Mary Fisher. In the course of doing so she assumes various personas and affects a fair few other lives. As she takes on her She-devil mantle and approaches her goal things get progressively weirder and weirder, culminating in an admirably unsettling climax which the movie shied away from. The title and satanic-looking imagery on the box are misleading though - the show dallies with the paranormal but doesn't go much further than Ruth scaring a Romany lady.
There are a few technical problems, including the standard nasty washed-out look common to many eighties programs, some truly scary eighties hairstyles and makeup and some pretty leaden acting in places - Waterman's numerous temper tantrums are particularly laughable, though I think this is more the fault of the script. However when the most believable character in the production is Tom Baker playing a randy priest you know something is not quite right. These issues, however, wind up contributing to the general air of weirdness and really enhance the experience.
We've waited a long time for this to become available and I'm glad to say it's worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable twaddle, 13 Sept. 2004
I was really looking forward to this after reading about its forthcoming release about a year ago. Very enjoyable nonsense and, consistent with most Network discs, a nice selection of extras. On the technical front, for those who are interested, sound is a bit distorted at times and the colour is rather washed out in places. It only takes a knob twiddle on the TV to improve the situation considerably, but I've never understood why in these circumstances the colour can't be "boosted" before mastering to DVD... Curiously on my copy, disc 2 was labelled disc 1 and vice versa. So if like me you think things aren't quite what you remembered, you may be watching episode 3 rather than episode 1!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
Excellent stuff- probably my favourite tv programme of the 1980s. Yes, dodgy hairdos and fashion nightmares abound, but this does not detract from a fantastic tale of utter revenge.
Beware though, my discs were wrongly numbered as well....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky find and excellent quality., 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Loves of a She-Devil (NL) - Complete Series - 2-DVD Set (DVD)
This came into coversation and I suddenly wondered if it was available on DVD and here it was. It arrived very quickly and the quality was just as good as I could've expected for a show that is now so old. Obviously, the fashions, technology and general ways of life depicted are laughably dated now, the quality of the acting and production is every bit as good as I remember it at the time which says a lot when I look back at other old shows that have not survived the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent mini series, 25 May 2006
This is an excellent mini-series and is well worth getting. IMHO you should avoid the Hollywood film version like the plague as it reshapes the story into a comedy. The mini-series did have elements of black comedy but it was never a laugh-riot.

Please note that this DVD does contain the full series (it was four parts NOT six as stated by another reviewer). However some of the music has been altered due to rights issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the life and loves of a she devil, 23 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Life and Loves of a She-Devil (NL) - Complete Series - 2-DVD Set (DVD)
Great series,I watched it when it first came out in 1986.It is such a good change to see it
again,especially after all these years.Loved especially the part when she worked on the judge.
Acting was exceptional throughout the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Loves of a She-Devil (NL) - Complete Series - 2-DVD Set (DVD)
I watched this on TV years ago. Recently read the book and thought I'd like to see the drama again. Glad I ordered it.
Story follow Fay's Weldon's wicked, witty dialogue. Acting is first-rate with the exception, perhaps, of Dennis Waterman.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sympathy for the She-Devil!, 22 Aug. 2005
Julie.T.Wallace and Patricia Hodge were so perfect for these roles.Particularly Julie T, she steals every scene she appears in,what a shame she has'nt had more leading roles.
Liz Smith gives a terrific and hilarious performance as Patricia Hodge's(Mary Fisher's)trouble making mother.And there is also Miriam Margoyles,Dennis Waterman and Tom Baker.The cast is fantastic,though Dennis Waterman is not convincing as the middle class Bobbo.He is too much of a 'lad'.
It is great wicked fun,and so British.A little dated, but that is to be expected.And it is a shame the cast could not have done new interviews for the D.V.D release.And my discs are incorrectly labelled.But I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Discs are mislabelled, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Loves of a She-Devil (NL) - Complete Series - 2-DVD Set (DVD)
This is a brilliant story. So well adapted from Fay Weldon' book. So well cast and acted. It is brilliant. Such an unusual story. Not to be missed. Such a mix of humour and serious issues. It is marvellously funny in places and so clever. Be careful with the discs. They are of good quality for viewing but are misnumbered. Disc labelled 1 is actually the 2nd two parts of story and disc labelled 2 is the first two parts. It starts with her being down trodden housewife so make sure you are watching from the beginning and you will find it incredibly good and absorbing watching. So enjoyable. Its amazing. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No English subtitles., 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Loves of a She-Devil (NL) - Complete Series - 2-DVD Set (DVD)
Dutch subtitles only. Dialogue was very incoherent and badly needed subtitles.
This was a Dutch copy. If you are thinking of getting this folks, try and get a U.K. version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Life and loves of a She-Devil / Region 2 / Dutch Import / Miniseries
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9)   
Buy new£8.80
In stock

The Life and Loves of a She-Devil (NL) - Complete Series - 2-DVD Set
3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1)   
Buy new£9.98
In stock

The Life and Loves of a She Devil
The Life and Loves of a She Devil by Fay Weldon (Paperback - 16 Feb. 1995)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (30)   
Buy new£7.19
In stock