Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ironbound, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Twitch (Southern England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ironbound (Audio CD)
Overkill have become known as one of the most consistent and enduring bands in the world, this has more to do with their stubbornness in not really altering their style than actual consistent musicianship. Over the last 2 decades Overkill albums were plagued with fillers and only a couple of good tracks. They also inherited groove elements into their music in the early 90's which have remained ever since. Horrorscope was their last brilliant album but that was 20 years ago, can a band really still have it after so long. Well the simple fact is Overkill have delivered what will probably go down as a thrash classic, every song is brilliant obviously some are better than others but none are bad.

Blitz is as powerful as ever, he seems to get better with age and whereas people like James Hetfield are a shadow of their former selves Blitz is awesome. D.D Verni provides a powerful bass back bone and new boy Ron Lipincki is phenomenal on the drums his intensity is neck breaking. Derek Tailer is pretty weak on rhythm and is carried along by D.D and Dave Linsk who puts in his best lead performance ever, his solo in the soft part of the title track is fantastic. Overkill would really benefit from 2 leads where they could trade of one another Al Pitrelli or Jeff Waters maybe? Still even with that glaring weak point in the band they have still put together a great album.

I won't review every track but the best are the title track, the change of pace at about 3 mins in is nothing other than awe inspiring, it's brilliant; Overkill should have done this more throughout their career. Bring me the night is powerful as anything and Killing for a Living is just so cool. The goal is your soul has some nice eerie guitar picking. The G&B is the longest song here but feels no longer than 5 mins and is a yet another great opening track.

Choice cuts:

Ironbound
Bring me the Night
The Green and Black
The Goal is Your Soul

When other bands have fallen away and are now producing the kind of crap that Metallica are, Overkill remind you why you love thrash. Is this better than Horrorscope, not quite and it may even be behind Years if Decay too but it is one hell of an album and definitely worth it for any thrash fan. This may well be the best metal album of 2010, unless Iron Maiden come up with their 15th album this year, until then this is the album to beat.

UPDATE:
Iron Maiden did release their new album this year and it was a big disappointment iron bound is therefore my album of the year
Ironbound (Ltd. Digi)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non stop head banging!!!!!, 18 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Ironbound [VINYL] (Vinyl)
In the year of 2009 and 2010 (so far) we had some thrash releases like "Endgame" (by Megadeth), "World Painted Blood" (by Slayer) and "Hordes Of Chaos" (by Kreator), but nothing is better than "Ironbound" by Overkill.
This album is filled up with the 80's thrash sound and a bit with more current sounds. Personally I believe that this is the best album Overkill has ever recorded. From start till finish you get 100% of thrash melodies and some lower tempo music here and there.

The album starts off with "The Green And Black": The song has a nice bass intro with a nice guitar riff. Before you know it you have a thrash song in you face and you head banging non stop until it finishes. The song features a number of "changes" and keeps the listener interested until the end.

"Ironbound": Here we have the title song. This one is filled up with the 80's thrash sound. CAUSION don't listen to it while you are driving, probably you will get a speed ticket.

"Bring Me The Night": This is the official video clip of the album, so most of you will know what this song features. This song is once again full on thrash song featuring fast signing and screaming by Bobby. We also have fast drumming and great guitar riffs and solos. 100% 80's thrash sound!

"The Goal Is Your Soul" and "The Head And Heart": Great titles. All the metal songs should have titles like these ones. Here we are dealing with the dark side of Overkill without loosing its thrash sounds.

"Give A Little": Nice thrash song with second/ back-up vocals on the chorus. Although a lot of people might get tired of this song as it follows the same structure throughout (for example the same drum beat).

"Endless War": This was the first song I heard of this album and within its first seconds it just blew me away. Nice intro that chances it to a proper thrash song. It features great guitars, an awesome bass tune, great vocals and just perfect drumming. NOTE: check out the scream at the end "Endlesssssssss Warrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr"

"In Vain": What we have here? Another thrash anthem as fast as the title song which will bang your head again and again until your neck is sore. This can we a great concert song! "Start living/ Start dying/ Start Paying/ Start Flying"

"Killing For A Living": Once again we have a great thrash song here. Bobby is using a great vocal effect and then it goes to his normal great voice. This can be once again a great concert song for the chorus "Live to kill, Kill to live, Killing for a living, Living just to kill". Ok I have to say the chorus is similar to "Aces High" (Fly to live, Live to fly, Aces High). But either way this song is amazing!

"The SRC": What a way to finish the great album. This song finishes you will press repeat once again.

I have to say this is a great album and I think that Overkill might have just resurrected the Thrash metal scene. If you love thrash metal then this is your album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of the greatest Thrash Metal albums I have ever listened to, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ironbound (Audio CD)
This is one of the greatest Thrash Metal albums I have ever listened to! Songs such as The Green and Black, Ironbound, Bring Me the Night and The Goal Is Your Soul are some of Overkill's best work! It's one of the most ripping collection of songs this band has ever done for me! A must have for any Thrash fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ironbound (Audio CD)
Love this album. It is the best one since The Years of Decay and Horrorscope.
Product shipped on time, the CD arrived intact. Can only recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Masterpiece, 1 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Ironbound (Audio CD)
This is a modern masterpiece. If you like exciting heavy metal then this is a must for you. All the great aspect of fast, aggressive thrash are here. It easily holds its own against the likes of Horrorscope and The Years Of Deacy. Overkill, you should be proud of yourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non stop head banging!!!!!, 18 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Ironbound (Audio CD)
In the year of 2009 and 2010 (so far) we had some thrash releases like "Endgame" (by Megadeth), "World Painted Blood" (by Slayer) and "Hordes Of Chaos" (by Kreator), but nothing is better than "Ironbound" by Overkill.
This album is filled up with the 80's thrash sound and a bit with more current sounds. Personally I believe that this is the best album Overkill has ever recorded. From start till finish you get 100% of thrash melodies and some lower tempo music here and there.

The album starts off with "The Green And Black": The song has a nice bass intro with a nice guitar riff. Before you know it you have a thrash song in you face and you head banging non stop until it finishes. The song features a number of "changes" and keeps the listener interested until the end.

"Ironbound": Here we have the title song. This one is filled up with the 80's thrash sound. CAUSION don't listen to it while you are driving, probably you will get a speed ticket.

"Bring Me The Night": This is the official video clip of the album, so most of you will know what this song features. This song is once again full on thrash song featuring fast signing and screaming by Bobby. We also have fast drumming and great guitar riffs and solos. 100% 80's thrash sound!

"The Goal Is Your Soul" and "The Head And Heart": Great titles. All the metal songs should have titles like these ones. Here we are dealing with the dark side of Overkill without loosing its thrash sounds.

"Give A Little": Nice thrash song with second/ back-up vocals on the chorus. Although a lot of people might get tired of this song as it follows the same structure throughout (for example the same drum beat).

"Endless War": This was the first song I heard of this album and within its first seconds it just blew me away. Nice intro that chances it to a proper thrash song. It features great guitars, an awesome bass tune, great vocals and just perfect drumming. NOTE: check out the scream at the end "Endlesssssssss Warrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr"

"In Vain": What we have here? Another thrash anthem as fast as the title song which will bang your head again and again until your neck is sore. This can we a great concert song! "Start living/ Start dying/ Start Paying/ Start Flying"

"Killing For A Living": Once again we have a great thrash song here. Bobby is using a great vocal effect and then it goes to his normal great voice. This can be once again a great concert song for the chorus "Live to kill, Kill to live, Killing for a living, Living just to kill". Ok I have to say the chorus is similar to "Aces High" (Fly to live, Live to fly, Aces High). But either way this song is amazing!

"The SRC": What a way to finish the great album. This song finishes you will press repeat once again.

I have to say this is a great album and I think that Overkill might have just resurrected the Thrash metal scene. If you love thrash metal then this is your album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 16, not out!, 20 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Ironbound (Audio CD)
studio album number sixteen from the new york thrashers sees the band doing what they do best, heads down thrashing. the first thing i noticed was an improvement in the production, relixiv and immortalis had something wrong in that department. this album is very much bloodletting part 2, and i loved that album! the problem with bands once they go past ten studio albums is that you pretty much know what you're gonna be getting, if you own bloodletting and killbox 13 then you already own ironbound. i don't have a problem with that however, i love overkill and songs like 'in vain', 'the head and heart' and'the goal is your soul' have got me wrecking my neck like a true shred head. standout track for me is the crushing 'the green and black' with a riff similar to 'head first' from 'under the influence'. there's nothing new here, but it's overkill fer gawd's sake, and if you're reading this it's because you know they absolutely rule. now go and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pheonix, 28 Jun 2010
By 
J. Christie "Eddiethead" (Newcastle-upon-Tyne UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ironbound (Audio CD)
Yes, have to agree with these other reviewers. Have followed Overkill for a number of years, Bad times, indifferent times and good times. This album is Overkill at their thrash-matic best!
Banging calculated thrash metal which we all know they are capable of.
Well done the lads! Give us another one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ironbound
Ironbound by Overkill
Buy MP3 Album£1.58
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews