Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The beautiful ones
I'm going to keep this short and sweet, there are far too many hardcore fan reviews telling us how disappointingly uncomprehensive this album is. Suffice to say, although there is nothing here for the die hard fans, they are not who the album is aimed at, they should already have all of these songs and everything in between. What we have here is the Prince party album...
Published on 18 Jun 2002 by x_machi

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The 'not quite' very best of Prince"
Don't be mis-lead by the title, this is not a collection of Prince's "very best" songs. What we have here is a collection of tracks from 78's 'Prince' through to 91's 'Diamonds and Pearls'.
The songs on this collection are Prince's most 'commercial' hits, so as you would expect, '1999' , 'Purple Rain, 'Kiss' etc. all feature, however certain tracks have been...
Published on 28 Feb 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised!!, 11 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of Prince (Audio CD)
I bought this album out of curiosity (and the fact that 1999 is an awesome song), I had only heard one prince song so this album was a surprise to me. The first song on the album, I wanna be your lover is another awesome song, the album flows magnificently. All songs from I wanna be your lover to money don’t matter 2 night are great both musically and lyrically, so whether you are a prince fan or not BUY THIS ALBUM, you will be pleasantly surprised. I actually prefer this to Michael Jackson – Number Ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for somebody wanting to hear the original Prince!!, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Prince (Audio CD)
After never really getting into his earlier stuff I bought this after going to Prince's Hit and Run II concert. Fabulous! I have a new found appreciation of the Legend known as Prince as well as an understanding of where a lot of today's modern music is sampled from. I can listen to the serious words of When Doves Cry band Sign of The times over and over and then smile at the naughtiness of "Get Off" against the comparative innocence of Raspberry Beret.
Truly excellent album from the vaults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All the classic songs u can't help singing along, 6 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Prince (Audio CD)
It's a great cd with all the rings we know and love!!! U can't help but sing along. I went to see prince last month in Birmingham and he sang all these songs as well as his new stuff. Excellent price. My seller lived in America so took a month for cd to arrive !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Little Red Corvette, 31 May 2014
By 
Emmabemma (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Prince (Audio CD)
I bought this for my favourite, Little Red Corvette, but I love all the others too! Most definitely a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prince best of., 27 April 2014
By 
Mr. Richard Heath (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Prince (Audio CD)
Got this as a used CD and it's got all the tracks that would spring to mind when you think of Prince tracks. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Prince (Audio CD)
all of the great songs on one cd. so much enjoyment should be illegal. im so glad i ordered it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars old poisen, 30 Mar 2014
By 
M. Bates "Helix" (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Prince (Audio CD)
some good songs some not so good but if your a prince fan you'll love it :-) good old guilty pleasure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superstar to symbol?, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Prince (Audio CD)
For those who are unfamiliar with Prince work then this is a good introduction to his brilliant work. It cataolgues everything from the Purple days to Diamonds and Pearls and every song on the CD is a classic. In my opinion his early work in the mid to late eighties was his best from the fast paced Lets go crazy and I would die for you to the more sedate When doves cry and Purple rain. Everyone is a tune you can hum along to or even attempt to sing the high notes.

There are some genuine classics on here before he turned himself into a symbol. His lyrics and music are excellent and he even wrote classic songs such as Nothing Compares 2 U, Manic Monday and I feel for you. All number one with different artistes and this proves the man was a lyrical genius.

For the younger generation this should prove an excellent introduction and for the older generation a chance to marvel at the classics this man introduced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The very best!, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Prince (MP3 Download)
Prince......fantastic as always. All the hits in one place. If you are a fan you will love this. He's still got it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The super tunes of Prince, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Prince (Audio CD)
Great album, takes me back & is a great reminder of memories and days gone by. If you like the prince sound, then this album will transport you back in time ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews