Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best series yet!
"Well, that's Hugh gone, then."

"It's so sad, isn't it? Hugh..."

"You don't give a..."

"No, perhaps I don't."

The Thick Of It was a series which I would occasionally catch & while I could appreciate its brilliance, found there was so much going on at rather a breakneck pace, that I was unable to pick it up. However, the start of...
Published on 18 Jan 2010 by Sam Woodward

versus
7 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can't help thinking this is a poor man's Yes Minister
Haven't seen latest series admittedly but I have to say it's all a tad juvenile compared to the - admittedly incomparable - Yes Minister, which has much less fluff. The Thick Of It is, admittedly, of a time when our leaders and their cohorts are altogether of a lower quality and intellect - they are also far more odious (for all Sir Humphrey's wiles he is a sympathetic -...
Published on 30 Mar 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best series yet!, 18 Jan 2010
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thick Of It - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
"Well, that's Hugh gone, then."

"It's so sad, isn't it? Hugh..."

"You don't give a..."

"No, perhaps I don't."

The Thick Of It was a series which I would occasionally catch & while I could appreciate its brilliance, found there was so much going on at rather a breakneck pace, that I was unable to pick it up. However, the start of series 3 is an excellent jumping-on point, as following a cabinet reshuffle, Nicola Murray (Rebecca Front) replaces Hugh Abbot (Chris Langham, who unsurprisingly does not appear in this series) as the new Secretary Of State for Social Affairs and Citizenship. Thus the audience quickly learn the ropes along with her, as she discovers that she's merely "a woman with a computer & some pens", subject to the 'pen budget', with "as much real power as those [twits] who sit either side of Alan Sugar".

Previously an obscure Junior Minister, Murray is thrust into the role because nobody else wants it; the only other candidate who hasn't turned it down is Malcolm's "left [gland] with a smiley face drawn on it." But thanks to her troubled family life & incompetent underlings, it isn't long before she faces the wrath of the self-same Malcolm Tucker, the PM's 'enforcer' who "thinks of himself as a thin, white Mugabe". Based on old-school political bullies like Alastair Campbell, Malcolm believes in the 'carrot & stick' approch - "first, insert a carrot up his... followed by a stick & a slightly rougher carrot." In series 3, Malcolm is more acerbic & unstable than ever. Used to feeling in control, cracks are beginning to appear due to the stress of keeping a failing government together ("it's like the break-up of The Beatles, during the fall of the Roman Empire, while Jordan's getting divorced from that bloke") & a lack of popularity with the voters ("we're series 10 of The Big Breakfast & you're the dinner lady they've asked to present it"). His diminishing influence ultimately leaves him vulnerable to the machinations of an equally unstable spin doctor - but he won't go out without a dirty fight.

It's great to see this series survive the departure of its central character - which is powerful testament to the strength of the supporting cast. Peter Capaldi again steals the show as the one-man swear-storm Malcolm. Rebecca Front - for years, the bridesmaid in popular comedies but never the bride - is an excellent addition to the cast, well deserving of the main role. Her character also seems much more well-rounded than that of predecessor Langham.

I recently watched the first episode of this series on the BBC iPlayer & was so thoroughly hooked, I found myself watching all 8 episodes of the entire series within 24 hours. So much happens in each half-hour episode that I've rewatched them countless times since & it still hasn't lost its sheen. I've also picked up the earlier series & the specials - while I thoroughly enjoyed them, I found that they were not quite as funny & well-polished as series three. As such, this DVD is literally the best of the best in my view - highly recommended!

Incidentally - just to help with any confusion, series 1 & 2 consisted of only 3 episodes each, originally transmitted in May & October '05. All 6 of these appear on the Complete BBC Series 1 DVD. So despite this being series 3, the only previous releases are the Complete 2005 BBC Series 1 (which is technically series 1 & 2) & the 2006 Specials. In addition, the Malcolm Tucker character also features in the film In The Loop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, 13 Jun 2010
By 
Bianca White "bianc93" (Gosport, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thick Of It - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Good parts:

Malcolm Tucker being vicious, venal, violent, foul-mouthed and scheming.
Ollie being quietly Machiavellian as he tries to climb the greasy pole of Whitehall mandarins.
Glen having a crush on the new minister and a splattered nose into the bargain.
Nicola lurching from one crisis to another like a "squirrel trapped in a pedal bin"
Terri's crush on Peter.
Ben the bully looking like a rabbit caught in car headlights when dealing with Malcolm.
The Party Conference, the collapsed cafe, the grieving widow and the jokes at her expense.
The radio talkshow.
The Fourth Sector Pathway that crashes and burns.
Nicola reaching for Evening Primrose oil every time she fouls up, as if it will solve the world's ills.

Bad parts:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny but rude!, 5 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Thick Of It - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Hilarious . We watched the whole DVD over two nights. Language raw but just makes it funnier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what cutting edge satirical comedy is about, 29 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Thick Of It - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I have never laughed so much during a comedy as I have whilst watching Series 3 of the Thick Of It. I heard on a radio interview that Armando Iannucci has a specialist swearing consultant for the Thick of It (as well as Martin Sixsmith on the 'reality factor' of the politics) and it shows. The swearing and insults are a league apart, so sharp, and what I like best is the complete absence of repetition. Its relentless, one scathing put down after another, leaving you reeling in a state of disbelief and admiration. The stories are great, and its so close to the bone in light of what we have experienced in the last 20 years of UK politics. We all know Iannucci's brilliance after the Day Today, and this further cements his deserved reputation.

Stuff like this makes me proud of British comedy and the BBC. I now have to go and make up for my tardiness and watch series 1 and 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Opposition..., 10 Feb 2010
By 
Michael C. Hall (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thick Of It - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very special program before you even look at Series 3, then when you do, you'll be uncovering subtle traces through the plot and brilliantly crafted acting and suggestives in it for months. I wasn't surprised at all to realise that Jesse Armstrong (Peep Show) was involved with writing this as i suspect he may be responsible for some of the best plot driven comedy of recent time. Then when you have somebody like Armando Iannucci in the conceptual drivers seat with Peter Capalidi (the best actor i've seen in recent time - bar none) in the trenches, you're given a comedy that in about 5 or 6 years will be acknowledged for pushing television forward and giving mainstream comedy writing an evolutionary step. It's cerebal, witty, fast and wired into the mainline making it alarmingly relevant to a very broad spectrum of people.

The only negative thing i've ever thought at the conclusion of watching these episodes, is that we'll never get to see Stanley Kubrick direct Peter Capaldi - but i'm starting to think that in this program we've already got close to the next best thing.

Heavyweight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vive malcolm tucker, 1 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Thick Of It - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
fan des deux premières années, la troisième permet de découvrir une autre facette de Malcom Tucker, vulnérable et atteint. Dialogues à pleurer de rire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malcom Tucker is the man!, 15 Jan 2010
By 
craftyma (houston scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thick Of It - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Caught a glimpse of this on tv - had never watched it because it was on so late. On the strength of this, bought the package from Amazon and haven't looked back. Whilst there is a lot of swearing, it doesn't detract from the brilliance of the writing. We now look at politicians on the news, etc, in a whole new light and wonder just exactly what shenanigans/newspeak has gone on before they issue statements to the electorate!

Great for anyone who isn't offended by swearing/offensive language in the context of the programme and can listen to the fast dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE THICK OF IT series 3, 25 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thick Of It - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The Thick Of It - Series 3 [DVD]
Never tired of watching this , over and over again..all of the 'THICK OF IT'
and every single word of
IN THE LOOP
and the Thick of It SPECIALS
everything in fact with the hand of Armand Iannucci on it and Peter Capaldi in it...
in fact have to watch it at least 3 times,
one not to laugh
2 to close mouth
3 to just wallow in the words, and the divine swearing, if swearing can be divine, or poetry even ;-)

year later..still watching just as much, still laughing....
and like all good students practising my swearing, nearly perfected ....must try harder... 0h **x$+**cks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thick Of It - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful addition of Rebecca Front as Nicola Murray to this series who is the perfect counterpoint to Malcolm Tucker. We watch her being ground down in this vision of the Westminster underbelly. Four hours of shouting, profanity, snideness, duplicity, incompetence, impotence...on and on relentessly. These people are despicable, repulsive, self serving hypocrites, but it is compulsive viewing and very, very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Series three is a must!, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thick Of It - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Dont even bother with series 1,2 and 4 as series 3 is at its peak with Peter Calpaldi at his 'sweary' best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thick Of It - Series 3 [DVD]
The Thick Of It - Series 3 [DVD] by Armando Iannucci (DVD - 2010)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews