Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure's Zenith
Looking back at this album ten years on, it is in my opinion the Cure's finest moment. Never again did they scale the hights of beauty and sorrow so masterfully over the course of a whole album. Subsequent albums had their moments (eg. Trust on the Wish album), but none could match the sustained feeling of this masterpiece. From the opening crash of the incredibly...
Published on 25 Nov. 2000

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The sound has been damaged, not improved
It always grates on me when all a person has to do is see the word "remastered" and they immediately spew out the blind praise that it "sounds amazing". In most cases, that's a very incorrect statement. The two recent Duran Duran reissues are some of the worst I've heard, (and notice the difference between reviews of those CD's on Amazon's UK site compared to here)...
Published on 14 July 2010 by Scott Davies


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the very best, 2 Jan. 2014
I know The Cure are not as favoured now as other groups from that era like the Smiths, but this album is easily the match of many of the great albums from that time. If like me you want solid tunes, thoughtful lyrics and a proper album's worth of music, take a chance on this. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Possibly their best album, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are looking for an all round Cure album then Disintegration is probably the one to go for, it definitely has a very 80's sound to it ,unlike Pornography and Seventeen seconds which although older have a fresher sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album Ever Made 9imo), 4 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: Disintegration [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
Well what more can i say that someone hasn't told before?
Just this : I'm so happy that finally it is in my hands (& my records collection) as a deluxe package.
Entreat Plus is the Key i guess!
~*~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master piece, 5 Feb. 2007
By 
Mr. D. Ryan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
This is the first Cure albumn I ever bought I was only 2 years old when it came out and I never heard of the cure till I was 18 a friend brought in their greatest hits albumn and I've become an avid fan for 2 years now.

This comes joint first with porography. The thing I love about the cure is their ability to change their sound throught their albumns. It's a haunting albumn (Lullaby) and at time angry (disintegration) Lonely (plainsong) But I find the albumn relaxing I bring it to work with me helps if I close my eyes long enough listening to this I'd end up falling asleep.

I must say however like poronography the first time I listened to this it didnt appeal to me then the albumn just grew on me. This albumn is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time classic, 6 May 2010
By 
Mr. J. Morrison (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disintegration [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
The Cure have been around a long time, but this album remains their definitive statement, certainly the one to play to experience their 80's doom-laden sound to the max. It's a smile-free zone from start to finish but nowhere has nihilism and despair sounded so epic and glorious. "plainsong" kicks it off with delicate wind chime sounds suddenly exploding into a wide-screen end-of-the-world imagery and a wall of synth-based sound that demands to be played loud (as the original sleeve notes advised). From then on we get Robert Smith on top form, from the plaintive "pictures of you" where relatively upbeat music accompanies Bob tearing apart the reminders of happy times, to the gothic pop hit "lullaby" which if it had been made today would surely have had a video directed by Tim Burton. Only "lovesong" breaks the dark mood for a few minutes but anyone expecting another "Friday I'm in love" will be disappointed, nothing's chirpy chirpy on this album. Near the end is truly where the sound of this album is taken to the extreme. "The same deep water as you" is over 9 minutes of stormy rainfall, deathly strings, and the same three chords played without interruption. No middle eight here, only subtle shifts of tone and texture, with Bob singing his goodbyes to a mystery someone that perhaps has even more problems than he does, all while sounding as if he's slowly sinking into an open mud-soaked grave. Fantastic! I've no idea what the extra tracks are like, but as snapshots of the Cure at the absolute bottom of the mood trough they are bound to be valuable to the fan. Certainly a key album from the eighties. The only way was literally up from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
v.happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jan. 2015
Quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Fall for It, 15 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disintegration [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
The original Disintegration really is worth buying twice. This particular flourish sadly isn't. Let's talk about the instrumentals. Some bonus.Nothing new and delightful to notice. Except your purse is slightly lighter for the privilege of listening. I'd advise you to avoid an unnecessary purchase, and if you are a completist, remember, this too will gather just dust.Wish I d given the purchase price away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews