Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Despicable pleasure
My first encounter with Gru was returning home from the Caribbean and one of the films available on the flight was Despicable Me.

To say the hours flew by is perhaps too much of an obvious pun to those that would pick up on it but, it does sum up how engrossing the film was. Unkowingly to the viewer, at first, there is a fair amount of emotional content in the...
Published on 8 Nov. 2011 by NJD53

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, bad description.
I love despicable me but I bought this version because it claimed to have a French language option (I wanted it as a treat for my French class to watch) It didn't which was disappointing but Amazon refunded my purchase and let me keep the DVD. Great service.
Published 2 months ago by JenCar


‹ Previous | 1 2122 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sweet natured romp filled with fun for the family, 2 April 2011
This might be one of the best-looking Blu-Rays you can get. The quality on a big set is gorgeous, which makes the amazing designs of things like the cars/planes/Gru's house all look outstanding.
Plot-wise, our bad guy isn't as despicable as parents may fear - he's a faintly 'has-been' bad guy, overshadowed by a new breed of younger and more obnoxious supervillains, their comically absurd schemes relayed by funny news reports and wonderfully unexpected events. Gru himself is an entertaining character with a very distinctive personality, and his tic-tac shaped yellow minions are one of the biggest joys of the movie as they race around crashing into things with hyperactive maniacal gibber-jabber and ridiculous behaviour. In terms of the plot, Gru decides to adopt some orphans to help him in a scheme, and I'll leave it there, as the storyline is very strong in terms of the way its characters develop, and one of the greatest pleasures of the film is seeing how the characters end up affecting or changing one another. The orphan girls are funny, likeable, mischievous, plucky and adorable by turns, and never veer into syrupy schmaltz for more than a split second before it's defused by some sarcastic gag.
Adults are likely to find the parenting storyline a delight because it's so well written and funny, and kids will love the vibrant colours and comical minions. There is a lot of action, some amazingly inventive chases, and a very satisfying ending.
It's emotionally rich, comically clever, and highly lovable. Steve Carrell is great as Gru. I'm wondering however about the point of having celebrity voice-overs in a film where Carrell is unrecogniseable with an Eastern European accent (it's his performance of it that zings), and Russell Brand doesn't sound anything at all like Russell Brand (as his character requires none of his manic comedy). Surely having the name on the poster becomes a bit redundant when you can't tell that they're in the film...?
Anyway, a brilliant film that deserves a place in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Despicables Like Me, 10 Nov. 2011
By 
Why is it so often that two similar films com out of Hollywood? In this case two films starring villains as the hero? Whilst `Megamind' was fun, it is actually the other film in this duo that stands out, `Despicable Me'. Gru is a failing supervillain who can no longer fund his master plans. His only hope is to reclaim his shrink ray from his biggest rival, not Megamind, but Vector. To do this he adopts three young sisters as part of his plan. Will the fearsome threesome make his plans turn cold, or his warm his heart?

`Despicable Me' is a rare beast in modern children's films as it actually concentrates on that market. The likes of `Shrek' and Pixar's work (`Cars' apart) have the flashing colours and fancy imagery that kids like, but often deal in jokes and themes that only adults can understand. `Despicable' is old fashioned in the sense that it has a simple story, told well, about how family is the most important thing. The comedy set pieces are straight forward enough to entertain any age, lovers of slapstick will unite. There are not too many references to modern culture in the film, meaning it will hold up far better in 30 years' time than something like `Shark's Tale'.

Steve Carell voice of Gru is a little bizarre, but you soon get used to it. It is not the marquee names that you watch this film for, but the emotional script and funny moments. It will take someone of sterner stuff than I, not to feel their heartstrings being pulled as the film reaches its climax. `Despicable' is great fun throughout and is a film that will entertain all ages. There are a couple of small issues with the quality of voice acting, but it remains one of the better CGI cartoons of recent years - up there with `How to Train Your Dragon', but not quite `Toy Story 3'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect mix of hilarity, despicability, girl power and minions, 12 Jan. 2011
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Despicable Me [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I loved this movie and my 10 y.o. daughter loved it even more. It is so good, that I hardly know where to begin - so I tried to put the whole review in four points, mentioned in the title:

1. Hilarity - IT IS HILARIOUS! REALLY! There is hardly any 15 seconds in this movie that would not contain a really good gag, children or/and adult oriented. Whoever wrote the scenario was a genius!

2. Despicability - the main character, Gru, is really a delight to watch: ugly, grumpy, mean, petty, vengeful, scheming, permanently aggravated and wholeheartedly devoted to the cause of evil - and in the same time incredibly insecure, convinced deep in his heart that he is a looser and haunted by the every day stronger feeling of the impending doom, for him and his evil army. I believe also that even his name is a kind of evil double entendre: it is obviously an abbreviation of "gruesome" but GRU was also, during the Cold War, the name of Soviet Army military intelligence, in charge particularly of assassinations abroad. In some James Bond movies GRU appeared under the name of Smertch. It gives a particular flavor to Gru, considering that his character is clearly inspired by some of the supervillains from James Bond franchise. His geriatric sidekick (and only friend - well, kind of) doctor Nefario and his murderous dog/rat/wolverine/skunk like pet (even after two viewings of this movie the jury is still out in my house on the question "what is this animal?") give also a great show!

3. Girl power - any parent of little girls (I have two) will fall immediately in love with Margo, Edith and Agnes, the three little orphaned sisters Gru adopts. He does it for his own evil reasons and does intend to treat them harshly and get rid of them as soon as they are no more needed - but of course ends by being completely taken under the sweet and soft but in the same time surprisingly totalitarian control little girls exercise over their fathers, adoptive or not...))) Agnes, the youngest of the three (she is barely out of the diapers) is particularly sweet - if only she was real I would adopt her on the spot and spoil her silly all the rest of my life. Tomboyish Edith is in principle the one who is the toughest and the boldest - but she was already hurt enough in her life to hide behind her pink hat which she refuses to take off even to sleep. Both her and the precociously adult (at least on surface of things) Margo are also a delight to watch. If you already are a parent of a little girl, you WILL LOVE this movie. And if you do not have yet a young daughter, get one!

4. But as far as the reasons to watch this movie go, even the girls must cede the first place to the minions! The incredibly devoted, fearless and highly professional and in the same time impossibly immature and conflicted "evil" army of Gru minions is THE greatest treasure of this movie. By looking at the cover of the DVD you can see some of them and frankly whoever conceived Gru minions was a world level genius. I do not want to provide spoilers, but believe me - they pack incredible fun! There is also at least one scene when their childlike devotion to their master almost made me cry - before another outburst of laughter (including a lot of giggling) in the cinema took over...

I purposefully omitted in this review many characters and did not hint at most of the gags and scenes, to avoid spoilers and keep things short.

To conclude, this is a TREASURE OF A MOVIE. A thing to buy, watch, keep and re-watch on regular basis. And I ABSOLUTELY HOPE FOR A SEQUEL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Despicably Funny, 19 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Despicable Me [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I have watched every big cartoon film for the last 25 years ( foster carer ) and this is without doubt the funniest, best story line and best produced to date . Any cartoons after this will have to be something truly special to even come close!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming misadventure, 2 Dec. 2010
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Despicable Me [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Steve Carrell (Evan Almighty) voices our protagonist Gru, a man who lives up to the titular promise of being despicable, striving to be the world's greatest thief. When a new super-villain thieves his criminal limelight by stealing a certain wonder-of-the-world, Gru vows to one-up the newcomer by making the biggest heist of all - The Moon.

Aided by the ingenious Dr Nefario (voiced by Russell Brand - Get Him to the Greek) and his leagues of minions (the little yellow guys with goggles on) Gru is all set to complete his nefarious scheme when it appears something is missing from the plan - the little girls to play his face-men.

After obtaining said girls from an orphanage, Gru utilises their disarming charm to his own end, but falters in giving them back; having become very endeared to them during their stay at his less-than-kid-friendly abode (bombs for beds?!). Gru realises that in his striving to become the ultimate super-villain he may lose his one chance at happiness - a family. Will he wake up in time and make the right choice or will he pull off the ultimate larceny?

Despicable Me's animation is extremely crisp and eye-meltingly well rendered, when you couple this with well-voiced & entertaining characters and you have one enthralling experience that may be a little too wholesome in parts but more than compensates the 'cheesiness' [sic] with gag after gag. Dr Nefario was a personal favourite ("Oh, you said DART gun...") who comes out with some side-splitting lines and who could not be amused by the antics of Gru's minions (even if they do bear a startling resemblance to Toy Story's aliens).

Extra content:

· Despicable Beats -- Director Chris Renaud talks about the "cool-factor" of the music producer Pharrell Williams

· Gru's Rocket Builder -- An all-new game, Vector has stolen some of the most famous landmarks from around the world and replaced them with the pieces to Gru's rocket. You must return all the stolen landmarks to the correct countries in order to build their own rockets before Vector hacks into the system and steals the rocket plans. Highly addictive!!

· A Global Effort--Learn all about the global effort behind Despicable Me. A director from France and another from the USA, plus an American and English cast created a movie in France, with artists from all over the world for a truly international movie!

· Director's Commentary with directors Chris Renaud and Pierre Coffin, featuring the Minions!

All in all this is a funny and touching story of a bad-guy gone good but done in a way that will entertain kids whilst not ignoring the fact there are likely to be adults watching. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quotable, re-watchable masterpiece for all ages, 21 Feb. 2011
By 
Pablo (Hatfield, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Not one for controversy, but Shrek... who? Toy Story... yawn.
Being a man of a certain age and having too many children aged between 5 and 22, I tend to measure the success (or otherwise) of films by the number of times it's referenced by the younger members of the household and how certain lines have become a part of everyday conversations... and this one has already taken a spot in the top 10.
It has everything: great main 'evil' character, Gru (Steve Carell), kids with attitude (the smallest, Agnes, is terminally cute - check out her cheek drums and her reaction to losing her toy unicorn to a wayward laser), hilarious 'Baddie' (and probably most quotable character)- Vector (voiced by the brilliant Jason Segel), an out-of-character but nonetheless entertaining Russell Brand as a senile, almost deaf, mad scientist. Even the small part played by Julie Andrews (as Gru's mum) is worthy of mention (behind every evil supervillain, there's a mother who... well, let's just say she wouldn't be selected to play the part of a singing nun!)... and yes, there are the minions. One of the funniest and most original animated characters I've ever seen (and who ever thought of the individual names is a genius!).
A final thought (Light Bulb!) - what happened to the merchandising? As far as I can tell, there're a few over-priced minions available and very little else. Lego versions of Gru's house, car and aircraft along with mini Lego minions? Or how about Vector's house with its shark tank?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film for kids (and adults), 11 July 2011
Took my three year old to the cinema to see this, and he liked it so much bought it for him on 3D blu-ray. Has enough jokes to keep adults amused, and my little boy loves the sillyness of it. Has a good 3D effect as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great fun but...not as funny as i would've liked, 9 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
seeing everything from the 'villains point of view doesnt happen that often in films, you have anti-heroes but not out right villains, well despicable me deals with this. gru (steve carell) is the super villain trying to make his latest diabolical plan come to reality....(drum roll)....steal the moon!
however he must also deal with, another super villain who also thinks this moon stealing idea is a good one, some children who he adopts, the bank! who wont loan him the money to get his plan in motion and of course on the odd occasion his mother!

this is great fun but not once did i find this laugh out loud funny, unlike toy story or monsters inc. dont get me wrong i liked the film alot (his minions were particularly comical) and the voice acting by carell and the cast was excellent.

you get quite a few extras on this disk to including 3 shorts featuring his minions (banana! watch the shorts you will see what im on about)

all in all great stuff for the adults, but i feel your kinds will love this more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great film!, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Despicable Me [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I can't tell you how much i love this film, the yellow minions crack me up, love the soundtrack by pharrell williams and the plot of the story is so sweet. A film you can watch no matter how old you are, it will make you laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for littlies, 14 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Despicable Me [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Not too many weeks ago, Despicable Me was showing at our campus cinema. Since it's only £2 a ticket, myself and three friends decided we would go and see it, expecting another humdrum kiddy film. We were wrong.

Although the film starts off a little weak, by the end there were actual tears from all three of us girls (and disguised manly ones from the boy). Although the narrative is framed by Gru's attempts to steal the moon, it's really a story about family. The three girls are quite frankly the most adorable animated kids I've ever seen, and you WILL want one of them to be your future child (most likely Agnes and her obsession wirh all things FLUFFAY!). Their evolving relationship with Gru is beautiful to watch, and there are some genuine heart-wrenching moments.

Needless to say, this is getting bought for one of my friends' (20th) birthdays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2122 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Despicable Me [DVD] [2010]
Despicable Me [DVD] [2010] by Pierre Coffin (DVD - 2011)
£4.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews