Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Series 5 maintains the high standard set by the earlier years.
The show uncovers the personal histories of public figures and then uses that as a springboard to look at a time and place. This either details a history that you didn't know about or provides a personal angle on events you did know about. Its success for me is that you don't need to like or be familiar with the work of the people featured. Often the people you had...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by Blackhorse47

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Blessings
I adore Who Do you Think You Are and having bought a couple of the box sets looked forward to seeing Series 5 again.

The problem with the series is that each programme relies almost entirely on the actors/presenters/sportsmen attitude to their search, and the story that unfolds. We get our enthusiasm from their delight at the unravelling mystery and the way the...
Published on 7 Oct 2010 by Activaman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Series 5 maintains the high standard set by the earlier years., 24 Jan 2010
This review is from: Who Do You Think You Are - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The show uncovers the personal histories of public figures and then uses that as a springboard to look at a time and place. This either details a history that you didn't know about or provides a personal angle on events you did know about. Its success for me is that you don't need to like or be familiar with the work of the people featured. Often the people you had preconceptions about turn out to have fascinating histories and when they are filmed in emotional situations it lets you understand who, as they title says, they are.

This season features: Patsy Kensit, Boris Johnson, Jerry Springer, Esther Rantzen, Ainsley Harriott, David Suchet, Jodie Kidd and Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen. For me Jerry's past turned out to be the most emotional and Patsy's the most involving with perhaps only Laurence's being less interesting than expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Blessings, 7 Oct 2010
This review is from: Who Do You Think You Are - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I adore Who Do you Think You Are and having bought a couple of the box sets looked forward to seeing Series 5 again.

The problem with the series is that each programme relies almost entirely on the actors/presenters/sportsmen attitude to their search, and the story that unfolds. We get our enthusiasm from their delight at the unravelling mystery and the way the story twists and turns.

Boris Johnson's story was in this way brilliant, involving turkish political intrigue and assassination. Jodie Kidd was also charmingly enthusiastic about her American settler past and you could not fail to be moved by Jerry Springers research into the oh so terrible realities of the holocaust. When you find someone who seems to have "taken the money" and lacks any real interest in the discoveries however, then it can be more irritating than enthralling and if someone's screen persona is a bit too cool to be excited by geneology then you can quickly find your interest waning. Laurence LLewellyn Bowen seemed to be finding it really hard to be interested in his own family and as a result his story of WW1 heroism and sea rescues didn't quite hit the spot.

All in all the series is pure gold for those of us with an interest in the past. It makes the more mundane elements of history fascinating and makes me wish I was famous enough to get help with my own geneological research.The occassional less interesting tale is still better than most television around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Feb 2010
By 
C. Rust (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who Do You Think You Are - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Since we don't get this series shown on our television in the states, I've purchased each season as it's come out and watch them on my 'all region' DVD player. I look forward to each new season like a child waits for Christmas. Each and every profile is absorbing and worthy of a second viewing. What's more interesting than learning about people and their backgrounds? I hope this series goes on for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply outstanding...that's all I can say, 21 Jan 2010
By 
I. J. Davison "ianheadland" (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Do You Think You Are - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is another of the long running and highly watchable series of family ancestry delving deeply into the background and ancestry of well known folk. I have watched every one of all the series as they were broadcast on TV and I have been awaiting the release of this Series 5 for such a long time. If you watch just one episode it is the Jerry Springer one. OK I am not a fan of his trashy TV shows...BUT look past this as he has an incredibally touching and in many ways upsetting family history that he has to contend with. And the last few minutes, without giving the 'game' away are so moving and tearful that it will pull at every emotion you possess. Similarly Jodie Kidd's episode is wonderful and a trail of personal and family discovery. O cannot recommend this series 5 more strongly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Do You Think You Are - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a gift namely for Boris Johnson's Family history - an incredible story that reveals Boris's genetic link with most of the Royal Houses of Europe, including Great Britain's. Fascinating worthwhile buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Do You Think You Are - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
great programme,love the show i like to get each one to learn about a stars past live its very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series and this is great to watch, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Firstome (Pembrokeshire, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Do You Think You Are - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
To learn the ancestry of notable people is so enthralling and the background music does not drown out the talking like so many programmes these days. Yet another great watch and then put it away and bring out afresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Do You Think You Are - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Love the series, a bonus that you can watch one episode at a time at your leisure. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Do You Think You Are - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
the product is very good, but I cannot play it in my DVD player in North America.
Thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Who do you think you are disk, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Roy Evans "Roypie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Do You Think You Are - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
A little dissapointed they way they have dungled the various people on the disc, when loading you have to go through too many stages to select the one you want, however the contents are what we required having missed them first time round on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Do You Think You Are - Series 5 [DVD]
Who Do You Think You Are - Series 5 [DVD] by Tom McCarthy (DVD - 2010)
£16.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews