Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful variety of works, from a wonderful writer!
I didn't know that Frances Hodgson Burnett had been such a prolific writer; in fact, I did not know that she had written fiction for adult readers, as well as children's books. Until I came across this collection, for my Kindle, I was only aware of her three very famous children's classic novels - Little Lord Fauntleroy, The Secret Garden and A Little Princess. It is...
Published on 14 Nov 2011 by E. Gillum

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars misleading title - beware
This book is titled "The Collected Works of Frances Hodgson Burnett". This is true, but not in the way I expected. Her three most famous works, including "The Secret Garden" and "A little Princess", are excluded which was very disappointing. So although the work is collected in the sense that the book contains several pieces it is far from complete. Beware.
Published on 5 Aug 2008 by Sarah


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful variety of works, from a wonderful writer!, 14 Nov 2011
By 
E. Gillum "lizzieg" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Works of Frances Hodgson Burnett: 35 Books and Short Stories in One Volume (Unexpurgated Edition) (Halcyon Classics) (Kindle Edition)
I didn't know that Frances Hodgson Burnett had been such a prolific writer; in fact, I did not know that she had written fiction for adult readers, as well as children's books. Until I came across this collection, for my Kindle, I was only aware of her three very famous children's classic novels - Little Lord Fauntleroy, The Secret Garden and A Little Princess. It is great to have all these wonderful pieces of writing together in one collection.

As a collection, these stories all share Frances Hodgson Burnett's excellent story-telling and descriptive abilities. As in the three famous classics, her books make the reader feel that they are "really there" and that the characters are real and entirely human. Her stories are lively and often quite exciting, humourous or emotive. I have, several times, found myself laughing or crying along with the characters, as the stories pulled me in and made me feel they were very real. There is also a strong sense of the mystic or mysterious, flowing through almost every story. The writer was clearly quite fascinated by the unexplained, supernatural or mystic - just as Mary feels there is a magic at work in the Secret Garden, other characters also talk about magic, hear each other calling across the world, or meet one another in their dreams. Yet, it is entirely believable and not at all silly or melodramatic.

I always thought that Frances Hodgson Burnett was a skilled and clever childrens' author; I now realise that her work goes far beyond this and her command of language and descriptive writing is nothing short of masterful.
A great collection of work, which I have been reading with real enjoyment. It's quite rare that I pick up a book and find I can't bear to put it down until I've finished the chapter, but this has happened over and over again with the stories in this volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love compilations!, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Works of Frances Hodgson Burnett: 35 Books and Short Stories in One Volume (Unexpurgated Edition) (Halcyon Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Honestly, Frances Hodgson Burnett is a fantastic author. We all know and love classics like Secret Garden and The Little Princess but she also wrote The Lost Prince which is fantastic. I was delighted to see this compilation of all her work. What a shame that the kindle version doesn't seem to have an index so it's going to be awful to navigate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful anthology, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Works of Frances Hodgson Burnett: 35 Books and Short Stories in One Volume (Unexpurgated Edition) (Halcyon Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic mix of books and short stories. The author has a wonderful way of describing the emotional life of small children which takes you into their world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars misleading title - beware, 5 Aug 2008
By 
Sarah (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This book is titled "The Collected Works of Frances Hodgson Burnett". This is true, but not in the way I expected. Her three most famous works, including "The Secret Garden" and "A little Princess", are excluded which was very disappointing. So although the work is collected in the sense that the book contains several pieces it is far from complete. Beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A prolific writer, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Works of Frances Hodgson Burnett: 35 Books and Short Stories in One Volume (Unexpurgated Edition) (Halcyon Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoying re-visiting and re-reading her books - brings back so many good memories and such a good read especially when you are feeling down and want to escape for a while
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frances H. Burnett books, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Works of Frances Hodgson Burnett: 35 Books and Short Stories in One Volume (Unexpurgated Edition) (Halcyon Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed The Secret Garden and wanted to read all her work. Great to have it all in the Kindle to access when I want to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars COLLECTED STORIES OF FRANCIS HODGSON BURNETT, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Works of Frances Hodgson Burnett: 35 Books and Short Stories in One Volume (Unexpurgated Edition) (Halcyon Classics) (Kindle Edition)
As I am only part way through reading this I cannot really rite a review except to say its wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete at last, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Works of Frances Hodgson Burnett: 35 Books and Short Stories in One Volume (Unexpurgated Edition) (Halcyon Classics) (Kindle Edition)
It's grand to have all the books; many of them are not easily found even in second hand shops. She may be an acquired taste, but even the less important novels are interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Collected Works of Frances Hodgson Burnett, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Works of Frances Hodgson Burnett: 35 Books and Short Stories in One Volume (Unexpurgated Edition) (Halcyon Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Every book was really interesting and kept my attention. I was able to identify with the characters.An excellent set of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars charming stories, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Works of Frances Hodgson Burnett: 35 Books and Short Stories in One Volume (Unexpurgated Edition) (Halcyon Classics) (Kindle Edition)
I had no idea that this author had written so many books, they are charming stories and very easy to read. I really enjoyed this light beautifully written collection of stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews