Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ten out of ten for nine
I loved this film at the cinema and I was concerned it would not be as good on DVD but I was wrong. You still get the sultryness of the whole thing. If you love films with good music, big dance numbers and a lovely story you must invest in this DVD.
Published on 5 July 2010 by F. Skerrow

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nine? Nein!
It's odd that Rob Marshall is typed as a musical director when he seems to be almost constantly embarrassed by the form, running away from genuine prolonged musical numbers like a frightened rabbit and hiding them as best as he can in the cutting room like a first-time killer clumsily disposing of the body in the nearest river only for giveaway dismembered body parts to...
Published on 16 May 2011 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nine - The Musical [DVD] (DVD)
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bought for a friend, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nine (DVD)
I can make no comment as the dvd was for a friend and I did not view the contents of the disc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An unsuccessful attempt to recapture the magic of Chicago, 2 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Nine [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Like many people, I really enjoyed director Rob Marshall's "Chicago" so I came to this hoping for some of the same pleasure. But many of the techniques that seemed fresh and appealing in that earlier film are re-hashed here, where they seem tired and ill-suited to the material. I think part of the problem is the basic idea - we are asked to be interested in Guido Contini, a world-famous film director who is meant to have started work on a new, much-anticipated movie. But he is suffering from film-maker's block and spends much of the film dodging questions from his film studio, journalists and the various women in his life while he tries to work out what to make a film about. Guido, sort-of based on Federico Fellini and played by Marcello Mastroianni in 8½ (the 1963 movie which is the inspiration for Nine), is cheating on his wife, not treating his mistress particularly well, and has a bit of a mother-fixation, so is a tough sell as a lead character. The only way to make this plausible and interesting to watch would be with a lead actor who oozed some of the same Latin charm. Daniel Day-Lewis is badly miscast here. Guido needs to be effortlessly charming and a bit of a mystery to himself - Day-Lewis's acting style depends on characters whose brains never stop whirring behind the front they are projecting: you never lose the sense that he is thinking more than he is saying. This works to great effect in some of his best performances, but it's catastrophic here. Guido would only be likable if he is unconscious of what he is doing - that never seems the case with Day-Lewis's performance. In an early scene, where he is supposedly charming a press conference with his innate suavity, Guido/Day-Lewis's affability comes across as so thought-about and manipulative that it is actually uncomfortable to watch.

There's more pleasure to be had in the contributions from the various women who inhabit Guido's past and present - all played by big stars. Most of the women sing, some of them dance, and while some of these performances are enjoyable in themselves (particularly Judi Dench as a quipping costume designer and a surprisingly good Fergie from the Black-Eyed Peas), these scenes present another problem. Contini is meant to be a superstar FILM director, who, we are told, has imprinted his particular vision of Rome on the mind of the world - but his imagination (which these sequences are meant to represent) offer a stage-bound theatricality that consists of equal parts burlesque club and scaffolding rig. The same idea, of "imaginary" musical numbers set in the world of theatres and nightclubs, worked in Chicago because Velma was a theatre performer and Roxy wanted to be - using the stage told us something about these women's imagination. Here it just seems a lazy repeat that fails to convince us of Guido's genius as a director and therefore leaves us further alienated from Day-Lewis.

Ultimately, there just isn't enough narrative interest in the idea of a highly self-absorbed man - whose genius we are meant to take as read - trying to work out what to make a movie about. Perhaps different casting would have solved this (Antonio Banderas had played the role in the Broadway run that led to the film) but perhaps not. I found much of the film tedious and it was a struggle to get to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trash, 19 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Nine - The Musical [DVD] (DVD)
All I have to say about this film is that it's trash. It was an utterly boring film, with a rubbish story and a load of half-naked women running about. At one point it felt like I was watching soft porn, not something I would watch normally, nevermind the fact I was watching it with my mother! Please don't waste your money on this nonsense!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Vacuous rubbish, 2 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: Nine - The Musical [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film for my wife who loves RomComs, Chicago, weepies etc and I've just watched it with her and my 19 year old daughter. Her reaction was, 'what Rubbish' and my daughter said, 'that's an hour and a half of my life I'll never get back.'

Get a few tunes together weave a weak storyline around them and shove as many stars into it as possible in random roles, then sell it off the back of Chicago. It's plain boring.

Do not buy this film, wait and avoid it for free when it comes on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, loved the music!, 16 Jan. 2010
By 
S. MOORE - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nine - The Musical [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the film, just as much as I enjoyed Chicago. Have bought the CD and after a few plays in the car, am humming the tunes. Can't wait for the DVD to revive the memories. First time I have seen Daniel Day Lewis in a role and thought he was superb. The ladies were all great, especially Dame Judi who can't do wrong. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars present, 16 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. Roger A. Poole (Swansea UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nine - The Musical [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a present for my son who was over the moon and was delighted with the DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't wait to see it!, 4 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Nine - The Musical [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is exactly what cinema needs. Lots of lovely women and music and shots of Italy. I have never been so excited about seeing a movie in years, and I am sure it will look marvellous on DVD and I will watch many many times over. And Sophia Loren - oh, what a wonder. This movie sounds fantastic - I can't wait to see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a yawn!, 19 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Nine - The Musical [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the few films that I actually contemplated walking out on. The weak story line is not lifted by the strong cast.

The songs were dull, apart from the one sung by the wronged wife, and the dancing was unimaginative.

Despite all the scantily clad women doing song and dance numbers, it was curiously unerotic.

Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, boring, boring!, 19 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Nine - The Musical [DVD] (DVD)
Awful film. Boring. Director couldn't decide what he wanted to do so he made a mish-mash of everything. Result - awful! And all this despite quite good actors. I left the cinema half way thru, couldn't stand it much longer. Advice - don't waste your time or money on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nine - The Musical [DVD]
Nine - The Musical [DVD] by Daniel Day Lewis (DVD - 2010)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews