Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rescue Remedy
Retreating in embarrassment from the debacle that is
The Brit Awards I found both respite and comfort this
evening in Husky Rescue's new album 'Ship Of Light'.
It is a gentle and captivating experience.
Music to wash over and around you like a warm wave.

The lovechild of Finnish musician/composer Marko Nyberg, this
most recent...
Published on 16 Feb 2010 by The Wolf

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing return
After the beauty of the previous Husky Rescue albums, I was looking forward to this CD a lot.

On first impression, the thing that struck me was that the band, once fore-runners in absolutely jaw-droppingly gorgeous graphic design, seem to have given up the ghost with this release - it comes housed in one of the ugliest covers I have seen in a long, long time...
Published on 6 Mar 2010 by H. Thomas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rescue Remedy, 16 Feb 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ship Of Light (Audio CD)
Retreating in embarrassment from the debacle that is
The Brit Awards I found both respite and comfort this
evening in Husky Rescue's new album 'Ship Of Light'.
It is a gentle and captivating experience.
Music to wash over and around you like a warm wave.

The lovechild of Finnish musician/composer Marko Nyberg, this
most recent manifestation of his muse delivers nine beautifully
constructed songs following a brief ambient introduction.

Electronica on a human scale; uncluttered and endlessly
facinating. The rhythmic and melodic material is brought
to life through the quiet intensity of Reeta-Leena Korhola's
enchanting voice. Her performances are simple and effortless
but define the distinctive beating heart of everything we hear.

Whether in the soft pulsing beat of 'Sound Of Love' or the
more abstract and elusive composition 'We Shall Burn Bright'
Ms Korhola inhabits the music like a free and sparkling spirit.

'Wolf Trap Motel' (the title troubled me for a moment as you
can probably imagine!) is an understated gem of a song.
Following a lengthy but engaging introduction, shot through
with rolling layered keyboards and keening guitar, the voice
erupts like a ray of sunshine bursting through grey clouds.
The cumulative effect is magical.

Final track 'Beautiful My Monster' is an intriguingly fragile
and captivating confection. A dreamlike atmosphere is conjured
out of the repeated quasi-medieval vocal roundelay and haunting
electronic treatments. It brings the album to an otherworldly close.

Music for both mind and spirit.
Husky Rescue in their own little way make
the world a better and brighter place.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quietly Beautiful and Haunting- this will transport you-enjoy the journey, 9 April 2011
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ship Of Light (Audio CD)
Y'know how it is; sometimes it's not by word of mouth, nor media play, it's the band's name or the album cover, hooks you in and will not let go until you've delved deeper and experienced the music. I'm glad I made the effort- (it was the name by the way)
I'm late in discovering the ambient music which Scandinavian bands are making their own; Ship of Light is an excellent example of this genre and is worth the investment. Let me explain further.
The album is comprised of hypnotic, gentle but persistent electronic music, which reminds me of a calm sea, mostly placid and relaxing but occasionally one wave rises, in this case the intensifying of electronics in conjunction with the drums, and floating through this an ethereal voice; cool, clear but not lacking in emotion; sometimes plaintive, other times thoughtful edged with anxiety or warning.
Of course being a Scandinavian they band can write and sing English far better than many UK outfits, the poetry and imagery of the lyrics being particularly powerful, conjuring up all manner of images. I would be hard pressed to single out a favourite track; `Wolf Trap Motel' is a good example of the standard though, mostly a slow, hushed and restrained instrumental, again that rising and falling of the sea, leading up to the brief lyrics describing indeed a motel where guests are free to come and go... or is that so? Will they be forever held, enthralled in this remote enigmatic location; it would be difficult to decide when reflecting upon that short almost ghostly lyrical interlude.
Captivating album, well worth the investment for a journey to evocative places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frosty Fun, 10 Feb 2010
This review is from: Ship Of Light (Audio CD)
Husky Rescue's founder, Marko Nyberg, has described his group's music as being "like spring's sunbeam after the long, dark, sunless winter time". (source: The Guardian). But the thaw is on it's way.
This is the third album from the Helsinki band and the best yet. Reeta-Leena Korhola's icy voice melts slowly atop a synthesiser pop backing of the type that Air once aspired to.
This is charming, intelligent and thoroughly grownup pop. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Husky Rescue - Barking up the right tree, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ship Of Light (Audio CD)
When I looked up this band on Google the first entry was for "The Siberian Husky Welfare Association (UK) which works on three fronts to address the Welfare Crisis in British Siberian Huskies". I readily admit that I was neither aware of the deep crisis facing British Huskies or equally who the band Husky Rescue were. With "Ship of Light" that situation has been fully remedied.

Husky Rescue are a Finnish quintet. This is their third album since 2004 and they comprise Marco Nyberg, Reeta-Leena Korhola, Ville Riippa, Anssi Sopanen and Miika Colliander. They are further evidence that something is stirring around the arc stretching from the Baltic to the Barrents Sea with the rise of excellent "Scandinavian" bands like Roskopp, Fever Ray, Jaga Jazzist, Lonely Dear et al.

The band recently received an ecstatic review in the Sunday Times where it stated that "songwriter Marko Nyberg and the vocalist Reena-Leeta Korhola have explored the kind of wintry, dreamy, sparsely populated sonic landscapes we might expect from Finnish musicians". But have these explorations produced any thing of worth?

On the evidence of the lovely ambient pop music on Ship of Light this is the band on the verge of seriously breaking out from downtown Helsinki and capturing a much wider audience. Check out initially "Sound of love" which gently floats on a lovely vocal by Korhola into a yearning pop song, with the chorus hook being so strong it could land a shark (check it out live at the Willmington Arms on You tube). I immediately played on repeat and the album grows with every listen. "Fast Lane" is also excellent and much more uptempo with a sharp guitar punctuating the song at about 1.30 min into proceedings. The album highlight however is the single "We shall burn bright" which is a synth driven little epic that draws to a very strong climax as the sound builds throughout. Excellent.

Other songs are far denser and moody such as the stirring Wolf Trap Motel with Korhola (I think I am smitten!) providing a heartbreaking vocal backdrop to a lovely melody in a slow burning classic. I suppose if I have have one criticism the album does not have the sheer raw emotion of say Beach House recent "Teen Dream" and for a largely electronic album sometimes feels a little under-produced. That said they save one of the best until last with the brilliant and haunting "Beautiful my Monster" a truly stirring pop song. Husky Rescue are a captivating prospect and it would be foolishness on your part not to seek them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Soild and well crafted third album., 5 Jan 2011
By 
Joel Stinton (Porthleven Cornwall.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ship Of Light (Audio CD)
I'm currently reacquainting myself with the first of Husky rescue's albums and it's remarkable when comparing there following two releases's how this Finnish band has grown. For those not familiar with Husky Rescue, they adhere to a distinctive folk sound, offering spacious cinematic moods typical of a scandavian band, accompanied with the occasional foot tapping up-tempo light rock that the likes of Air and Goldfrapp have offered in the past. It's a dangerous comparison to make, especially when the likes of Air have failed to produce some of the seminal early spring listening they offered in the late 90's, and you worry that a band in this terriority could get lost in the often dreaded genre label of `chillout' music. But aside from obvious comparisons, the sounds of Pink Floyd, Sigur Ros, and sounds of post rock all creep there way into Husky rescues arrangements, given the band an added winter darkness and open doors to other worlds.
All this takes places around the lead singer, Reeta-Leena Korhola's, delicate, crisp voice, acting as a perfect anchor to build the band arrangements upon.
Ship of light, is a clear step up for the band, their compositions are tighter, and better written. The sound scapes - the quieter, reflective moments are more atmospheric, the arrangements more purposeful - the first half of wolf trap motel is beautiful- , the up-tempo driven tracks (sound of love, fast lane, ) are more concise, signatured with guitar work, and littered with dynamic shifts in tone and tempo, all around a pretty simple arrangement structure.

What is more impressive is the avoidance of becoming insultingly twee, and the temptation of becoming too `pop'. If you have enjoyed there previous outings ( Country falls, and Ghost is not real) you will feel very much at home in the sound that husky rescue have created, and they keep that winter into spring feel, that fragile, reflective folk sound.

There are still the odd couple of tracks that seem out of place , or don't quite work or reach its full potential. Whilst `wolf trap motel' arrangement is simply beautiful, the lyrics, and the way they are delivered is a bit dreary, but like there previous records, these are minor complaints , when looking at the bigger picture.

While it is clear that this band have grown musically, there compositions tighter, better written, all three of Husky rescues albums follow a similar construct. If you were to compare track by track the songs of the new album and there previous outing (Ghost is not real) the tempo, sound, and tone are strikingly similar. They seemed to have now made the record they always wanted too, to almost perfection. The next big step is going that little further. Fortunately for us there is plenty to work with, plenty of people from the same scene and contintent to collaborate with. And as a band they are certainly capable of making that step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing return, 6 Mar 2010
By 
H. Thomas (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ship Of Light (Audio CD)
After the beauty of the previous Husky Rescue albums, I was looking forward to this CD a lot.

On first impression, the thing that struck me was that the band, once fore-runners in absolutely jaw-droppingly gorgeous graphic design, seem to have given up the ghost with this release - it comes housed in one of the ugliest covers I have seen in a long, long time. Ghastly. What on earth were they thinking?

The content, then.... I'd say if you own previous releases and are just a casual observer, then you don't particularly need this album.

It sounds like a band treading water, quite frankly. Like their hearts really weren't in it this time around.

Husky Rescue were a band with gorgeous hooks and melodies that drew you in - on this new album, those melodies have all but disappeared - it sounds ambling, meandering, aimless. And, dare I say it, unbearably twee.

It's not all bad, but there's nothing to really grab you like on their other work, it all kind of washes over you in one long, sickly sweet wave.

Back to the drawing board then, guys, surely?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ship Of Light
Ship Of Light by Husky Rescue (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews