Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic
I love this cd with great uplifting tracks. I would highly recommend it to anyone into. 60s music. It brings back happy memories
Published 12 months ago by Eyme

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the original
I have the original L.P. and the disc is a very poor version of the original.
It has lost some of the original hits and is a very poor substitute.
Published on 1 Sep 2012 by Bobby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wall of Sound: The Very Best of Phil Spector, 1961-1966 (Audio CD)
I love this cd with great uplifting tracks. I would highly recommend it to anyone into. 60s music. It brings back happy memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're Not Likely to Hear its Like Again, 16 Jan 2013
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wall of Sound: The Very Best of Phil Spector, 1961-1966 (Audio CD)
"Wall of Sound: The Very Best of Phil Spector 1961-1966, (2011)" pretty well delivers what it promises: the best of the early work of Phil Spector, the famed eccentric American pop music composer/producer whose "wall of sound" style work was an integral part of the sound track of the early 1960s. Spector, of course, is now a convicted killer serving 19 years to life for the murder of actress Lana Clarkson. However, the music technique which he invented back then basically involved backing up his contracted powerful-voiced rock singers, in his legendary Gold Star studio, with full orchestral sound: he called his productions `mini symphonies for teenagers.' This still-popular material has, of course, been sliced and diced many times, and has been widely available in other formats, under other titles. But it is significant that this remastered album was finally, apparently only released shortly after the end of long bitter litigation with his ex-wife Ronnie Spector, about this mad genius's material.

For sure, and it goes without saying, it's not easy to look at Phil Spector as simply a music producer these days. But the material deserves that we try. To me, it is some of the greatest material recorded then, and, as is the case with much of my very favorite music, I've got this album on vinyl, dating from its initial release. One thing to bear in mind in listening to this material is not to place too much credence in the listed performers: Spector always played fast and loose with his contract singers. Those songs listed as being by The Ronettes were undoubtedly voiced by Ronnie, but her backup singers were not necessarily the relatives of hers that made up The Ronettes. They might have been the wonderful foghorn-voiced Darlene Love, or Sonny and Cher, who began their careers with Spector. Similarly, those tracks attributed to The Crystals frequently had Love in the foreground, and her own backing group known as The Blossoms, or Sonny and Cher, in the background. And Bob B. Soxx and the Blue Jeans: well, that was Darlene Love and her mega voice, too. (I've read and reviewed, in fact own, Ronnie Spector's memoir Be My Baby: How I Survived Mascara, Miniskirts, and Madness, or My Life as a Fabulous Ronette, and Darlene Love's as well, My Name Is Love: The Darlene Love Story: neither one of them easy to find.) Anyway, here, nicely remastered, are not only Spector's greatest hits from this period, but also the Ronettes', Ronnie Spector's, the Crystals', and Darlene Love's.

You get "He's a Rebel," by The Crystals; "Da-Doo Ron Ron" by The Crystals; "Be My Baby" by The Ronettes; "Then He Kissed Me," by The Crystals; "Today I Met The Boy I'm Gonna Marry," by Darlene Love; "Baby I Love You," by The Ronettes; "He's Sure the Boy I Love," by The Crystals, "Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah" by Bob B. Soxx and The Blue Jeans; "Wait til' My Bobby Gets Home" by Darlene Love. Also "Walking in the Rain" by The Ronettes, "Uptown" by The Crystals, "Why Do Lovers Break Each Other's Hearts?" by Bob B. Soxx and The Blue Jeans; "Do I Love You" by The Ronettes; "A Fine, Fine Boy" by Darlene Love; "The Best Part of Breaking Up" by The Ronettes; "There's No Other Like My Baby," by The Crystals and "Not Too Young to Get Married" by Bob B. Soxx and The Blue Jeans.. And, for good measure, The Righteous Brothers'iconic "You've Lost that Loving Feeling," with backing by Darlene Love. Plus Ike and Tina Turner's immortal take of "River Deep, Mountain High." If you love this music, this is as good a way as any to get it. We're not likely to hear its like again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's great., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wall of Sound: The Very Best of Phil Spector, 1961-1966 (Audio CD)
I love it, love it, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a good compilation, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. A. Woodwark "Booklover" (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wall of Sound: The Very Best of Phil Spector, 1961-1966 (Audio CD)
Has to be 5 stars, this is because this CD sounds way better than anything before. Buy it do not hesitate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On the best of sixteen, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wall of Sound: The Very Best of Phil Spector, 1961-1966 (Audio CD)
Phil Spector was one of the bests songwriters of the 60s of the last century.
Very good for those who like music of this period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wall of sound., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wall of Sound: The Very Best of Phil Spector, 1961-1966 (Audio CD)
it makes a pleasant change to hear the old songs.one of the best songs on this d v d is ike and tina turners, "river deep and mountain high" its still a great song today,as are the others on the d v d ,
thanks,t j mason
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars big nostalgia trip, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wall of Sound: The Very Best of Phil Spector, 1961-1966 (Audio CD)
I grew up with this music and was worried it would be re-mastered and ruined. No need - the wall of sound comes over magnificently despite modern technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a brilliant album, 7 Jun 2012
By 
J D Tilston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have loved this music since I first heard it years ago when it was actually out as new and I think the versions of the songs on this album are as near genuine as they could be. They don't sound like remastered not quite as good sung differently versions like are so much a part of compilation albums. If you liked the hits then you won't be disappointed by this now. Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memory Card, 25 Aug 2014
By 
Tom Hannan (Stonehaven, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant - it fascinated me back in the 60s; still fascinated - a wall of sound indeed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good price. Recommend, 4 Aug 2014
This review is from: Wall of Sound: The Very Best of Phil Spector, 1961-1966 (Audio CD)
Decent album. Delivered quickly. Good price. Recommend seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews