Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic season of Hawaii Five-O
This boxset should contain all 23 episodes from Hawaii Five-O's eighth season, which premiered on CBS in the US during the 1975-76 season, and hopefully Jack Lord episodic promos for all 23 episodes.

The eighth season was another classic year, but it was interesting because during this season Hawaii Five-O was in the same timeslot as NBC's The Rockford Files...
Published on 28 Jan. 2010 by R Ovenall

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book 'em, Murder One!
I must admit, Season 8 was the season that I started to tune out of Five-0. I'm a big fan of the first six seasons - for me, these seasons represent superb escapist television at its very best. In these early years, Jack Lord was coolness personified and the show was a no nonsense gritty AND entertaining drama.

Unlike in the latter years, in those early...
Published on 18 Feb. 2010 by S. Ward


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic season of Hawaii Five-O, 28 Jan. 2010
This boxset should contain all 23 episodes from Hawaii Five-O's eighth season, which premiered on CBS in the US during the 1975-76 season, and hopefully Jack Lord episodic promos for all 23 episodes.

The eighth season was another classic year, but it was interesting because during this season Hawaii Five-O was in the same timeslot as NBC's The Rockford Files. Both shows suffered in the ratings when they went against one another, and both shows dropped out of the Top 30 overall season rankings (although Hawaii Five-O returned to the Top 30 for the ninth and tenth seasons, The Rockford Files didn't return to the Top 30).

The main cast this season consisted of Jack Lord, James MacArthur and Kam Fong, as Herman Wedemeyer didn't join the main cast until the following season.

Guest starring in the feature length season premiere were Harry Guardino, Lloyd Bochner and Khigh Dheigh (returning as Wo Fat).

The 23 episodes in season eight (I say 23, because of the two hour season premiere episode "Murder - Eyes Only". On Region 2 it will probably be around 90-93 minutes long. This is if CBS DVD put the feature-length version in the boxset and not a two-part version) are below in the way they should be on the 6 discs in this boxset (assuming it will be a 6 disc set again):

Season Eight (1975-76):

Disc 1 -

1. Murder - Eyes Only (Season Premiere)
2. McGarrett is Missing
3. Termination with Extreme Prejudice

Disc 2 -

4. Target? The Lady
5. Death's Name is Sam
6. The Case Against McGarrett (sequel to the V for Vashon trilogy)
7. The Defector

Disc 3 -

8. Sing a Song of Suspense
9. Retire in Sunny Hawaii - - Forever (guest starring Helen Hayes)
10. How to Steal a Submarine
11. The Waterfront Steal

Disc 4 -

12. Honor Is An Unmarked Grave
13. A Touch of Guilt
14. Wooden Model of a Rat
15. Deadly Persuasion

Disc 5 -

16. Legacy of Terror
17. Loose Ends Get Hit
18. Anatomy of a Bribe
19. Turkey Shoot at Makapu

Disc 6 -

20. A Killer Grows Wings
21. The Capsule Kidnapping
22. Love Thy Neighbour - - Take His Wife
23. A Sentence to Steal (Season Finale).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawaii Five-O: Eighth Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
i bought this item as a gift for my friend, who lives in birmingham, firstly, i was pleased it was able to be sent directly to her address, then i did not of course pay added postage to forward the package! after talking with my friend, as she is a fan of this series, it was a box set which she had previously been unable to obtain, so has completed her collection! so, all in all, both my friend and myself are very satisfied with the purchase, and it shows that via this site, you can obtain items which you would like and cannot find elsewhere, thanks, amazon!! xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hurry!, 7 April 2011
Hey, please hurry to release this season in the U.K. Please stop delaying the release. At first it said October 2010, then March 2011 and now nothing at all.
This is a great classic show. Can't wait! What a cool mix of sunny beaches, good cops and 70s-feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book 'em, Murder One!, 18 Feb. 2010
By 
I must admit, Season 8 was the season that I started to tune out of Five-0. I'm a big fan of the first six seasons - for me, these seasons represent superb escapist television at its very best. In these early years, Jack Lord was coolness personified and the show was a no nonsense gritty AND entertaining drama.

Unlike in the latter years, in those early seasons, McGarrett's anger never appeared contrived or forced - you really felt this man's rage! Circa 1974 this changed and McGarrett's spontaneous outburst against life's injustices became elongated rants to whoever was within ear shot.

Additionally, the big attraction of the show was how one week you could see a light-hearted episode and the next you'd see a hard hitting thought provoking instalment - season 4 demonstrates this nicely, `Odd Man In' and then `Skinhead' could hardly be more different, but they were encompassed together within the same season. This kind of contrast was rife in the early years and, more importantly, superbly executed. With Season 7 there were signs of wear and I'm afraid that this increased with during season 8. It's really a paradox that the earlier episodes seem fresher and less dated than anything post 1974. What's the saying, quit whilst you're ahead, sadly this wasn't heeded, however, that said, there are still some very good episodes within this eighth season.

The opener, `Murder - Eyes Only' is a feature length special and is pretty good - this is how i'd have liked to have seen the show continue, i.e. as two hour long specials, maybe 6 or 7 in a season - that way we'd have kept quality over quantity. Unfortunately this wasn't to be and the remaining 22 episodes are the usual 50 minute affair. Other good episodes are `McGarrett Is Missing', `Termination With Extreme Prejudice', `The Case Against McGarrett', `Retire In Sunny Hawaii - Forever'. As I say, good episodes, but nothing truly outstanding - and IMO, this season is nowhere near the quality of Seasons 3;4;5 and 6.

I'm now in receipt of this DVD set (Region 1) and, with regards to remastering, its the usual mixed affair. Some episodes look very good, with rich vibrant colours - however, 'Wooden Model Of A Rat' appears less striking than other episodes on the set in this respect. As usual there is evidence of 'dirt' in certain scenes in certain episodes too. These are minor setbacks as the quality of even the lesser remastered episodes is way above anything I've seen broadcast on tv for this season.

All episodes contain episodic promos except for the opener, 'Murder - Eyes Only' - this feature length special is unabridged, coming in at just shy of 100 minutes in length (Based on Region 1 timings - this may change for this Region 2 release).

I've rated this set 3 stars because previous seasons set the benchmark extremely high - that said, in comparison to many shows of today and in terms of entertainment, this set would attain a five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and original, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawaii Five-O: Eighth Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I know about it since my childhood and did not have the chance to see all the series in my home country during 70's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent-as usual, 19 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. J. P. Scully (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawaii Five-O: Eighth Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
After I ordered season 8 I was expecting it to be below par with previous seasons, according to some reviews . However I was very pleased that it is just as good as any other seasons.Some have mentioned a few guest stars but not one has said anything about Henry Darrow,who played ` Monilito` in the TV Western `High Chapparal`. Also, Actrees/ Cabaret singer Amanda McBroom who plays policewoman Sandy Wells in the same episode " loose ends get hit", and she also appears again several times in season 9 is excellent ......Plus my copy of season 8 does see `Duke` as part of the Five-O team ,before season 9,just not in the opening titles !! Most of my Amazon DVD orders normally arrive long before estimated dates but this took a very long time to be delivered for some reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars would liked some extra, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawaii Five-O: Eighth Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Enjoyable, would liked some extra, s good quality dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PROBLEM - CAN'T PLAYBACK., 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawaii Five-O: Eighth Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
HELP! HELP! I HAVE BEEN REALLY ENJOYING WATCHING SERIES 1 - 7 BUT WHEN IT CAME TO SERIES 8, I COULD HAVE SAT DOWN AND CRIED BITTERLY WHEN I PUT THE DVD IN TO PLAY IT AND A MESSAGE CAME UP "REGION ERROR" - PLEASE EJECT DISC - PLAYBACK IS NOT AUTHORISED FOR YOUR REGION".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What are you waiting for, Christmas?, 17 Feb. 2011
By 
Harry Orwell (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Yes, it seems they are waiting for Christmas. I have just checked this set on the HMV site and they have a release date of 26 December 2011! So, arrival in the post about early Jaunuary 2012. Bizarre isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawaii Five-O: Eighth Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
My reason for submitting this is because having sent for it, it cannot
be played unless you have the neccessary equipment to play US
DVDs.
I tried to return it and met with all sorts of problems, so I have give up
trying any further, so I shall not order any further DVDs in this series.
Vernon Holland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hawaii Five-O: Eighth Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£9.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews