Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant heart felt singing
Shame he had to die so young, like all the other musical greats!

These songs delve into your soul and make you stop and think about life. Donny Hathaway was a super musician who was a proper soul singer but he drew on influences from different genres, such as ragtime and classical, and this makes for a varied collection of songs and it makes the albums a joy...
Published 21 months ago by dizzeechanne123

versus
19 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repackage or remastered Box Set?
While this set represents quite good value, if you are a fan of Donny Hathaway you really should invest in the french 4CD set "Someday We'll All be Free" which contains the bulk of Donny's albums, including the essential "Live" album, rare single sides and other live performances, and 5 previously unreleased 1974/5 demos as well as two previoulsy unreleased live tracks.
Published on 23 April 2010 by R. Conrad


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant heart felt singing, 28 Oct 2012
By 
dizzeechanne123 (wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
Shame he had to die so young, like all the other musical greats!

These songs delve into your soul and make you stop and think about life. Donny Hathaway was a super musician who was a proper soul singer but he drew on influences from different genres, such as ragtime and classical, and this makes for a varied collection of songs and it makes the albums a joy to listen to. It is hard to get bored listening, as non of the songs are 'samey' and if you enjoy good soul music, you'll enjoy this.

Because he died young he is pretty underrated, so if you do not know much about him, this album series would be a great place to start, as it includes 5 albums including the Fabulous Extension of a Man, and best of all it's good value for money, where else can you buy five albums for under 10?

I bought this as a present for my mother and she has not stopped playing it, virtually after listening to the first album he became her favourite artist, she even went out on a limb and said that he was better than Stevie wonder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 17 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. C. J. Fitzgerald (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
Five albums for 14... bargain! Having bought 'A song for you, live' I was looking to extend my Donny Hathaway collection but could not decide which album to buy next. I'm so glad I waited. I could have spent 5 times this amount but my patience (or indecision) was rewarded. Each and every album in this collection is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am a massive fan!!, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
I am a massive fan of Donny Hathaway. He was a great singer and absolute master at the keyboard. he could have been one of the biggest R&B stars but he died so young in 1979. To get all five albums in one compilation is an absolute steal!! I had all these albums in vinyl a long time ago but to now get them in CD quality is fantastic. I have ripped them on to my phone so I can enjoy them on the move. There are so many great songs on the album but my favourites are Magnificent sanctuary band, The Ghetto, Little girl and Young gifted and black. If you love R&B you will love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 2 May 2014
By 
sandra "granny taylor" (holt, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
Think my husband has worn this cd out already played and played and played. Wonderful but then it would be, it's sonny Hathaway after all. Just booked tickets to see Layla Hathaway, check her music out! Like father like daughter amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All time great, 15 Jan 2014
By 
Norman Field (Teddington Middlesex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
I caught up on the first album recently after many years, through the series here and have been a believer since the, it is argued, greatest, live album of all time. Well, let's not argue, up there, the collection is here is sensational and the value extraordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A short overview, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
A great collection and must for soul lovers.
I think that I would have preferred that the box had one more studio album than 2 live albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great soul great, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
If you have not heard the great man this album will signature his unbelievable talent- the live album is one of my all time favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most of Donny Hathaways hits., 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
An artist sadly missed today. An artist with real soul. All albums capture most of his hits, which you can only be categorised as real masterpieces - superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh what deep soul!, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
In the words of Amy Winehouse 'Donny Hathaway he had like...........something in him, he couldn't contain himself ' ! It's called deep down soul. A Song For You x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repackage or remastered Box Set?, 23 April 2010
By 
R. Conrad "Atco Man" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
While this set represents quite good value, if you are a fan of Donny Hathaway you really should invest in the french 4CD set "Someday We'll All be Free" which contains the bulk of Donny's albums, including the essential "Live" album, rare single sides and other live performances, and 5 previously unreleased 1974/5 demos as well as two previoulsy unreleased live tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series (5 Pack)
Original Album Series (5 Pack) by Donny Hathaway (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews