Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dirac, the definitive biography
Dirac was one of the founders of quantum theory and one of the most profound and original minds of the twentieth century. But, as the title of this book says, he was also a very strange man, austere in his personal relations, sometimes to the point of perversity, and unable to communicate, either emotionally or verbally, except with only a few very close friends. The...
Published on 19 Mar 2009 by Brian R. Martin

versus
55 of 66 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Author's Explanation of the Science Just Doesn't Work
I was an undergraduate at St John's, Cambridge in Dirac's time. I wanted to relish this book. But I can't. It has been greatly overrated.

The biographer of a great scientist has a massive problem: the science. Say nothing about the science and you omit the very thing that made the scientist notable; get deep into the science, and you greatly reduce the...
Published on 5 Aug 2009 by B. J. O'Brien


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Strangest Man: The Hidden Life of Paul Dirac, Quantum Genius, 29 May 2009
Easy to read and quite revealing of the true thoughts and behaviour of a great genius. Perfect summer reading biography for someone fond of science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ponderous, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strangest Man: The Hidden Life of Paul Dirac, Quantum Genius (Kindle Edition)
Interesting content, but on the dull side. Good factual detail, but very mild on opinions, won't upset anyone , room for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dirac Nobel Prize winner 1933, 17 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read particularly if you have any science or mathematical interest gives also an interesting insight to the society with which he and his contemporaries mixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Admirable, 4 April 2009
By 
Peter Munn (Chambery, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I heartily agree with the other reviews; the style is admirable and approaches a very difficult person extremely well. It was exciting following each step of the international race to develop the rules of quantum mechanics then becoming much more complex because of the Second World War. I cannot decide whether Manci was a saint or a selfish prig. She blessed Dirac but also seemed to have damaged her children??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 27 July 2010
By 
C. Parkinson (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading about a genius, whatever his quirks, is always enjoyable and this is no exception. It is also very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 31 July 2011
At best the book provides a useful description of Dirac, his fellow scientists, and his family. However there is no science of any note whatsoever. To have got through to the end of the book, and still have had no real description of the Dirac equation, was extremely disappointing.

Because I was reading the book on my Kindle the end of the text came as a surprise. I kept thinking the real science was about to come, but found that half the book was bibliographies, contents, indexes, footnotes, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dirac biography, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strangest Man: The Hidden Life of Paul Dirac, Quantum Genius (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting and well told story though the quantum physics was a bit hard going for an Arts graduate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars prompt and hassle-free service, 26 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. M. Dvorak - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Book arrived very quickly, brand new and wrapped up nicely. Overall very happy with this purchase. Thanks lots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paul Dirac, 7 Feb 2010
By 
Gordon Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very good book, but as it deals with relativity and quantum mechanics, it is not easy for the layman to understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book?, 15 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Is this a good book?

Why would you want my opinion? As Dirac would have said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews