Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something Different
The book is based around the idea that there are hidden codes within the bible and that God uses these codes to direct a group of people that He has chosen. This chosen group is tasked to find a hidden chapel underneath the Vadican along with an ancient artifact in the desert and then bring said artifact back to the chapel.
The book is very well written. The...
Published on 23 Feb 2012 by Thin lizzy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting religious conspiracy.
A book that will delight some and disgust others. Controversial depending on your understanding of Revelation. It's theology is debatable but causes you to think.
Published 6 months ago by pj


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something Different, 23 Feb 2012
This review is from: God's Lions: The Secret Chapel (Kindle Edition)
The book is based around the idea that there are hidden codes within the bible and that God uses these codes to direct a group of people that He has chosen. This chosen group is tasked to find a hidden chapel underneath the Vadican along with an ancient artifact in the desert and then bring said artifact back to the chapel.
The book is very well written. The characters are interesting and the story moves along quickly. The book is hard to put down and I'm looking forward to reading the second book in the series. Anyone who is a fan of the National Treasure movies or of The Davinci Code books will most likely enjoy this book. I highly recommend it.
Congratulations to Mr. Lyman You've made a fan out of me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gods Lions. The Secret Chapel., 17 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God's Lions: The Secret Chapel (Kindle Edition)
This is the first John Lyman book I have read, and I found it a great read. Would recommend John Lyman to anybody.
I found it a real page turner, and couldn't put it down. The second one in the series, The House of Acerbi was also a
wonderful read, can't wait for number three in the series to be published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining read - stick with it the sequel is even better, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: God's Lions: The Secret Chapel (Kindle Edition)
A great book, a page turner for sure, although at times it moves a little too fast when I would have liked specific scenarios too have been explored in more detail,there is so much crammed in it could have done with another couple of hundred pages to develop the plot further. I bought this book along with the sequel House of Acerbi which I found to be a much more satisfying read in terms of buying into the plot. Read together these were highly entertaining books and at such a knock down price, these books equate to incredible value. I will buy the paperbacks for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Read, 20 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God's Lions: The Secret Chapel (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book that kept me interested from start to finish. The characters were good with some surprising developments as the book progressed, and lots of twists and turns. One of those books that I found hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God's Lions: The Secret Chapel (Kindle Edition)
Bought this after looking at reviews and glad i did this was a great read , great characters , good plot fast paced and have just purchased the follow on house of acerbi both great value too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Read of my Life, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God's Lions: The Secret Chapel (Kindle Edition)
I'm not a great fiction reader, so that makes it even more impressive. My wife of 39 years encouraged me to read God's Lion's and after starting it, I simply could not put it down, its use of factual based information, the characters and the fiction all intertwine with ease, its allows you to suspend reality in favor of the
factual institutions and the ever moving city backdrops. Its such a fascinating book that I simply had to read the next two books in the series, which continue the
adventure, excitement and hold ones attention in an almost spellbound state.
A fantastic book, a great series, a must read for lovers of this genre or those like me who gave it a shot! - We have recommended it to friends, who do love books
by writers like Dan Brown, and until today all have said the same thing - this simply blows those books away. I for one can not wait till the next volume and that from a person who hasn't ready 10 fiction books in his life - get it now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Readable, But Also Very Silly, 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God's Lions: The Secret Chapel (Kindle Edition)
I must admit that I did enjoy this book a lot. The rough plot has probably been covered by other reviewers, so suffice to say it is about a group of Catholics, Christians and Jews who have been tasked by God to recover the Devil's Bible and give it to God to destroy, by taking it out of the dessert in Israel and into a secret chapel buried beneath the Vatican. It is a good book, but it starts silly and just gets sillier, so only read this if you can really just go with it and ignore the ridiculousness of it.
One thing I would say is that fellow atheists will be annoyed at the implication that the evil in the world is caused by more and more people becoming atheists and drifting away from God/the 'Jesus' religions. And I had to laugh out loud when one character announces to the others that he has figured out the identity of the big demon they fought: "Agaliarept, the Grand General of Hell". (I had no idea there were different ranks of demons!) I think if you are a Christian, Catholic or Jew, you'll probably be fine with this, but atheists beware - Christianity/God/The Bible is represented as 'the right thing' the whole way through, which might end up getting on your nerves a bit. I read a lot in this genre, so religion doesn't normally bother me, but this book has a little too much in the 'stridently religious' arena. But all in all, a very good book, with just a few minor irritations for heathens like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Chapel - Excellent read!, 21 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God's Lions: The Secret Chapel (Kindle Edition)
I sooo enjoyed this book! Read it in just over 24 hours (did sleep inbetween!). Fast paced, and when I got to the end, I wanted it to continue. We read Fiction books as an 'escape' from every day humdrum - and this did just that!! The Author has an easy writing style, and draws you into the book within the first few pages. This first book was an excellent read, and I highly recommend it. Can't wait to read The House of Acerbi! Thanks John Lyman, and keep them coming!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars god,s lions: the secret chapel, 11 May 2012
This review is from: God's Lions: The Secret Chapel (Kindle Edition)
this book holds your attention is hard to put down, a plausible plot in this day and age although the first book by this author i've read it will not be the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God's Lions: The Secret Chapel, 6 April 2012
By 
Dr. R. A. Jackson "Rob Jackson" (Keele, Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God's Lions: The Secret Chapel (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It ranges over a wide range of topics, from Christianity, Judaism, the Vatican and international terrorism. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

God's Lions: The Secret Chapel
1.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews