Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive...
After some time with this game now I have found myself wholly impressed. I was a huge fan of the first of Rocksteady's Batman games (Arkham Asylum) having played it from beginning to end on numerous occasions.
Batman Arkham City takes everything that was so great about Asylum and expands upon it immeasurably, then adds a load of new stuff for you enjoyment! Firstly,...
Published on 23 Oct 2011 by R. Keech

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity...
I played, loved and 100% completed Arkham Asylum on both 360 and PS3 (yes, it's that good - though not perfect) so you can imagine how much I was looking forward to Arkham City. Unfortunately, it hasn't lived up to my expectations. It seems like Rocksteady have sat down and gone over Arkham Asylum, picked out the bits that were praised and decided if they just do the same...
Published on 10 April 2012 by Jim Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive..., 23 Oct 2011
By 
R. Keech (Berwick upon Tweed, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (PS3) (Video Game)
After some time with this game now I have found myself wholly impressed. I was a huge fan of the first of Rocksteady's Batman games (Arkham Asylum) having played it from beginning to end on numerous occasions.
Batman Arkham City takes everything that was so great about Asylum and expands upon it immeasurably, then adds a load of new stuff for you enjoyment! Firstly, after a stunning opening sequence the game drops you straight into the action in the heart of a city overrun with criminal masterminds, mindless thugs and a good smattering of doctors, security and police personel who are trying to help bring pockets of order to what is essentially a city in a state of riot.
The beauty of being dropped straight into the action is that you immediately get the impact of the scale of this game - the environment is huge and explorable in a variety of ways. Straight off the bat (sorry) you can run, jump, glide, grappel, slide throughout the city. More and more of Batman's gadgets become available throughout the game allowing for access to the tiniest corners or furthest reaches of Arkham but you are free to explore a vast amount of the city and a good deal of gadgets from minute 1.

For me, the most notable improvements have to be the fact that the larger environment has allowed for side quests to be included. In the first you pretty much went from A to B occasionally stopping to collect riddler trophies. Yes it was fun, but also gave you a fairly linear story within Arkham Asylum. In Arkham city, you have the run of the city, you ARE Batman and whilst there is a strong narrative throughout - you can feel free to help this person, destroy that danger or discover those secrets without ever feeling like you're deviating from what the game wants you to do.

Riddler challenges have been massively improved too! No longer are they all hidden behind destroyable walls and in hard to reach places that you need a specific gadget for. Now they actually challenge you to think logically, or laterally or test your memoery, dexterity etc. They all actually feel like challenges for Batman from the Riddler! Also, the ability to record riddler challenges onto your own map if you can't reach them yet, or don't have time to collect just now etc. is an excellent and welcome addition.

One of the only criticisms I have read about this game is the inclusion of SO many villains that some are reduced to cameo performances rather than fleshed out stories - again, for me this plays into the story world beautifully. Imagine the world of Batman, played to such a scale as a whole city to explore yet only brushing shoulders with one or two villains!??! I feel that the scale demands the number of villains - and again, the games variety means thast some will be playing the role of main antagonist, some will be unlikely ally, some will be chance encounter. Stands to reason really!

Final thought is simply this. This is an outstanding game with many jaw dropping moments! Just remember to download the free Catwoman as a playable character element BEFORE you start playing the main game! It actually slightly changes the game right from the outset, but all in good ways!

Buy, play, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City of madness, 17 Sep 2014
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (PS3) (Video Game)
S T O R Y
A few years have passed since the events of Arkham Asylum. Arkham City has emerged to house the criminally insane. The dark knight is suited and booted, learning of an operation codenamed Protocol 10 being led by Hugo Strange. Joker is never far from trouble either, walled up with the other loonies of Arkham City. Batman seriously has his work out out for him in order to unveil Hugo Strange’s ultimate plan.

Arkham City doesn’t do a great job at handling all of the characters, where as Arkham Asylum kept a tight focus on the Joker. There’s a lack of continuity and flow to the story at times, in the end it makes sense, but its structure could do with some balancing.

G R A P H I C S & S O U N D
Arkham City is the playground that Batman maniacs have been crying out for - being able to glide across shadowy rooftops, swoop down onto its rotting streets and wander into some of its abandoned establishments. The map does have plenty of variety when it comes to locations, the courthouse is decayed and criminally infested, the steelworks are grand in design and claustrophobic upon entry, then we have the large cathedral, emphasising gothic architecture and excellent vantage points. The lighting is spectacular throughout Arkham City; the moon bursts through the clouds to light up the environments.

Batman’s character model looks even more polished than the previous game. displaying the detailed damage that signifies his descent into hell. There are many other characters that showcase exemplary design. The soundtrack excels yet again, matching the mood of Batman‘s journey and his desperate struggle for survival. The voice acting is superb; Mark Hamill and Kevin Conroy outdo themselves as the Joker and Batman, respectively.

The graphics haven’t been overhauled since the previous title, though this constraint can easily be '. down to the expansive nature of Arkham City’s map. The street thugs and other petty criminals seem l to have very few voice actors, a recurring issue that was also present in Arkham Asylum.

G A M E P L A Y
Learning to navigate Arkham City will become a very crucial way as to how you can get about with ease and efficiency. Whilst gliding you can dive at high speed and pull back up to give yourself greater air and continue your glide for a longer period. The grapnel gun is still as handy as ever, getting you to those hard to reach places and giving you a quick vertical boost if things get too confrontational. One of the best features in the game is combining the grapnel gun and the glide ability together, if you’re losing altitude then find a higher grapnel point and boost up towards it in an instant. it’s a fantastic way to keep you moving and not compromise any speed. Detective mode (DM) makes a welcome return; keeping Batman aware of his surroundings and helping him track down the baddies. The use of DM seems to have been toned down in this game, and for what it’s worth, it’s the right step taken by Rocksteady DM is more focused in its use and doesn’t outstay its welcome.

The combat systems feels tighter than ever, every hit feels powerful, countering is smooth and responsive, moving from enemy to enemy is seamless and beautiful in motion. Batman has a few new tricks up his sleeve too, there are plenty of bone-crunching attacks to deploy, which easily keep the combo counter on the rise and makes it a joy to take on waves of enemies. Enemies have received upgrades of their own too; equipped with battle armour and wielding deadlier weapons. A majority of gadgets from Arkham Asylum make a welcome return, but there are also some useful additions. The smoke bomb is a great way of avoiding mass confrontation and getting out of sticky situations, the electronic gun jammer renders enemy weapons useless and the electromagnetic gun helps stun enemies in a flash. These are some of the gadgets you‘ll utilise, but there are plenty more to unlock through the upgrade system.

The side missions are varied and there are plenty to " come across. You may think they are a distraction, Catch! but if you want to build upon Batman’s skills then they are worth doing. The side missions allow you to sway away from the story missions, but they are a great way of improving your skills and helping you get the best out of your desired tactics. Lastly, the Riddler is back to taunt us with more cryptic riddles.

I believe the overall game length is slightly disappointing, the story is oozing with content, but I feel as if so much of it does not translate into gameplay. The boss battles are disappointing, I found a couple of them challenging, but as a whole they lacked that ‘wow’ factor.

O V E R A L L
Rocksteady’s second outing of the caped crusader is another triumph. An open-world approach combined with Batman is a wet dream come true. The story could do with a tighter focus as it involves many heavy-handed plot elements, but it’s still an enjoyable romp while it lasts. Visually, Arkham City is beautiful and an engrossing spectacle. This is the playground that all Batman fans have wanted. Batman Arkham City holds its own as a quality experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10 game of the year, 9 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (PS3) (Video Game)
Buy this game, you will not regret it! Excellent story, the action is so griping you never get bored. The combat looks amazing and you look like your a jarjet zo or a karata pro but its so simple to control. Its got all the characters in and is a massive area to explore, 5 times bigger the asylem. The question is were will rocksteady go next with the series?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing., 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (PS3) (Video Game)
Perfect, excellent game play, amazing story, I loved it. The graphics were to die for, the add-ons so cool and what can I say: I can't wait to play the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (PS3) (Video Game)
really enjoyed the game and i arrived promptly so I can't complain. Worth a purchase especially if you're off work like I was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Arkham Asylum, 21 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (PS3) (Video Game)
Much better than Arkham Asylum, great story and great gameplay.

If you're a superhero fan then you should deffinately get this, I don't think this game could get any better.

Can't wait for the third game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 8 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (PS3) (Video Game)
I brought it for my boyfriend for Christmas and it was so good I ended up watching him play the game. It was very entertaining, there are lots of side missions and items to collect through out the game so you can always be doing something different. The graphics are quite good, although we did get stuck a few bits during the game for a while but at least its challenging. It was also similar to the first one but not too similar that you would get bored, different location, tasks ect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE!, 15 Dec 2011
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is a must have! It makes it worth having a playstation, not a single moment is boring and the open world allows a sense of freedom that other games lack. There is tons of content to undertake and explore even after you have completed the main storyline. If you have a bit of spare cash and want to treat yourself look no further, this game is your answer!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the finest games i have ever played, 15 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. B. Mian (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (PS3) (Video Game)
fantastic game, very well thought out. really good grafix, great story, great variation to gameplay (riddler challenges were phenomenally good!), great voice acting. the stealth elemant being applied to a whole city is a thing of magic, works very well. only thing which was a slight drawback is that other than mr freeze all the boss battles were a little samey and not as maybe challenging as I would have wanted. the ending was superb but the final boss battle wasn't. Still its the finest game i have played since AA last year. great job rocksteady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, batman back to his best!, 6 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City (PS3) (Video Game)
Awesome game! the storyline is excellent, lots of different enemies with lots of different missions - the joker especially is fantatstic.
The free roaming side of it is of particular preference...imagine assasins creed and batman combined and you have arkham city! Very enjoyable and well worth it. Please bring out a sequel!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: Arkham City (PS3)
Batman: Arkham City (PS3) by Warner Bros. Interactive (PlayStation 3)
£13.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews