Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars305
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS TapeChange
Price:£7.98+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2011
Toy Story movies are my favorite movies. so i think should have the bluray version. The difference with the dvd very plasticity in color and gradation background viscosity is not too rough. only if viewed at a glance the dvd version is actually quite good. but this toy story audio deserve the number 5 star.
review image review image review image
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A brilliant DVD that children and adults love to watch. Great gift idea for any little one that hasn't seen this film.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Toy Story is directed by John Lasseter who also co-writes the story with a whole host of other people! It features the voices of Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Don Rickles, Jim Varney, Annie Potts, Wallace Shawn, John Ratzenberger and Laurie Metcalfe. Music is by Randy Newman.

The first feature-length film animated entirely by computer, there's not a lot that can be said now that hasn't been said before about Toy Story, both as a film of heart and substance, and as regards its importance in the world of animation. Two further sequels would follow, both enormously successful and both equally as enjoyable. But it began here in 95, where Woody, Buzz and the gang operated on a level that beguiled the children whilst simultaneously bringing knowing laughs to the accompanying adults. Pixar paint a vivid colourful world, bringing us down to the toys level and etching in emotive threads about jealousies, friendships, neuroses' and the relationship between a child and his toys, while youthful splendour bathes the film constantly. Even though the plot is simple in terms of ambition, the characterisations are substantial and the film never panders to political correctness. The voice work of the actors is terrific, especially Hanks and Allen as Woody and Buzz respectively, their vocal comedy ticks wonderfully bring life to the animated figures, while Newman adds his optimistic tunes into the mix.

Never maudlin or cheesy with its messages and sombre moments (something some other Disney films can't lay claim too), Toy Story's only crime is being too short at an hour and fifteen minutes (both subsequent sequels would rectify this issue). But it's a small complaint, probably (in my case) born out by greed for a longer adventure involving these marvellous creations. This was the start of a beautiful friendship for many, up there on the screen, and here in our own lives, thank you Pixar, you knocked it out of the park with this one, a film for all that keeps on giving delights with each subsequent revisit. 9.5/10
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2010
So so happy to see this one availible again and amazed its in the BOGOF section - its been hard to get for so long!

One of the finest Disney 'modern' animation tales, Toy Story tells of Andy's toys, who ARE real (!) and their new addition Buzz (I'm a Space Ranger) Lightyear.
The story has many tales of danger, jealousy, hilarity, teamwork and peril, but ultimately it is a story about friendship (cue song 'you've got a friend in me...........').

Totally superb in every way, a classic, and enjoyable by all ages. We first had this when my now 19 year old was 4. She still loves it. As does her sister aged 3.

Buy this, and buy another for keeps. You just can't go wrong. 5 * although I'd give stars to infinity - and beyond!!!!
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2000
State of the Art computer animated technology. The fun and adventure that Woody and his toy room friends get up to will not only live in a child's mind but also any adults mind who watches this film. Watch out for Mt Potato head he is cool.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
Toy Story 3D/Blu Ray - Epic blu ray release, a must buy, the 3d/1080p remaster of this movie is pretty good.. worth the price
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
I obviously understand that this is now an old film, and a Pixar Classic. When releasing the third instalment it was made to be viewed in 3D, but the original two films were not. I found that this and the second film in 3D was poor. The picture quality was fantastic in blu-Ray but the 3D only slightly enhances the picture. We could watch this without the 3D glasses and therefore it doesn't really add anything to your viewing pleasure. If I were you I would buy the first two films in blu-Ray and the third in 3D as the 3D in that is perfect.
3D aside, the film is brilliant, I enjoyed my blast back to my childhood. It really is a fun film for all the family, people old and young will enjoy this film, it really is a classic.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
This is one of those movies where I knew that the story line provided for such a relate-able story and experience in life. Not to mention, that the set ups for the sequels were just plain awesome! Adding new toys along the way, etc. All great! Not to mention the time and effort that Disney and Pixar put into getting the characters right.

Pros: See above.

Cons: Nothing with the story or the animation. Would love to see these movies be able to be streamed for free after you buy them, not if you buy a specific pack. Just my 2 cents.

Recommendations: A digital copy of the music included in every blu-ray/dvd pack.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
Toy story1 was created in 1996 and directed by john lasseter.
It is now one of the most famous and best animation films alive.
The star voice characters being:
tom hank -woody
tim allen -buzz lighter
don rickles -mr poato head
jim varney -slinky dog
wallace shawn -rex
John Ratzenberger -Hamm
Annie Potts -Bo Peep
John Morris -Andy

toy story1 is about a kid called Andy who loves to play with his toys especially
Woody(his favourite toy).Andy is moving soon but what he doesnt know is that his
toys are alive and can talk,walk and do just do aout anything.
For Andys birthday he got a new toy called buzz lighter.
Woody, who is now consumed with jealousy, tries to get rid of Buzz.
After a mad mistake of revenge both Woody and Buzz are lost.
They must find a way to get back to Andy before he moves without them,
but they will have to pass through a ruthless toy killer, Sid Phillips.
Do they arrive in time....?

in my opinion toy story 1 is fantastic.I would recommened it to any one
who loves a bit of fun and adventure.its great for little ones theres no
rude things its utterly great for the family.my dad loved the fiml to bits
so i was fortunate to watch film 1,2,3 and 4.

Please buy you deffinatly wont regret:)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 January 2015
1995's Pixar animated smash hit 'Toy Story' was the very first computer-animated film, and the animation still looks something today, with a great attention to detail and remarkable eye and body movement for all the characters.

The movie itself has lost none of it's charm and appeal, it's a film for the whole family, whatever age you are, and not just worth watching the once.

Kids love toys, but what happens to them when humans aren't around? - why they come alive of course! That was happens here in young Andy's room, and his former favourite toy Woody (voiced by Tom Hanks) the cowboy has his nose pushed out of joint when space-ranger Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen) takes his place. Initially the pair despise one another, until they have to join forces when the toys are separated from their home, and a mutual friendship and respect is formed. There's a main antagonist in the bad kid Sid, and other lovable toys including Mr. Potato Head, Slinky Dog and Rex who work as scene-stealing side characters.

A sheer delight from start to finish, and I'm not actually the greatest fan of Pixar movies. With 'Toy Story', there is so much fun to be had, and if you still haven't seen it yet, join us!

The 'special edition' DVD includes lots of special features, including a 'making of' featurette, deleted scenes, and behind-the-scenes footage.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.