Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars25
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2004
Sexy and sassy,funny and kookie, a little mad and eccentric. Cyndi is all of these but above all she is a superb singer and a great performer.
Most people probably think Of "Girls just want to have fun" when the name Cyndi Lauper is mentioned, but in the twenty years since she released that song she has made some outstanding songs,a lot of which are included on this dvd.
Cyndi has an amazing vocal range and this is put to good use as she powers her way through songs old and new.
Cyndi has the ability to take a song a make it her own,just listen to "Stay" "Walk on by" and "Unchained melody" and you will think they are Cyndi originals not covers.She has also updated many of her older songs and put a new slant to them. "She bop" and "Time after time" are reworked brillantly,but the highlight for me is the superb "True colours" which Cyndi sings with such passion and emotion it will bring a tear to your eye.
It is a brilliant concert a mixture of old and new, fast and slow songs. It is also well directed, sometimes concerts are over edited and have far to many camera changes,but this dvd tends to focus on Cyndi which is of course what we want.
I'm a little jealous of the crowd because I would love to have been there but this dvd is close to the real thing and will make you almost beleieve you are there.
Cyndi is brilliant and the dvd is superbly made, a winning combination.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2009
I don`t know how anyone can give this two stars, its a five star DVD all the way........it shows for once and for all that Cyndi is a highly highly talented singer and dancer , she is as good today as she has ever been.
The track List is
Program Start
At Last
Stay
I Drove All Night
If You Go Away
All Through The Night
Walk On By
Don`t Let Me Be Misunderstood
She Bop
Sisters of Avalon
Change of Heart
True Colours
Shine
Its Hard To Be Me
Money Changes Everything
Unchained Melody
Time After Time
Girls Just Wanna Have Fun
Credits

If you only buy one music DVD this year I would strongly recommend this one ......you`ll still be watching it in 10 years time
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2004
Despite being a 24 yr old bloke, i really like Lauper, and this is a really great concert. I've always thought Laupers versatility and music to be very overlooked and underated, and am pleased that she still has a large fanbase. Lauper looks frankly amazing for someone past 50 (doesn't look any older from 1990 literally) and her voice (very underated, and all the more amazing considering she severely damaged her vocal chords pre-80's debut) is as good as ever, and her enthusasm plentifull. Highlight for me was definately the amazing 'I drive all night'. the only downside I have is that laupers perennial 80's favourite (which she re-worked for 1994, and vastly improved on the original in my opinion) 'Girls just wanna have fun' has been re-worked into a ghastly reggae number which frankly doesn't work no sounded right (a minor quibble i know)!!!
She Bop as also been re-worked, and there isn't much of her 80's catalogue played here (but all credit to her for not resting on her 'peak' classics at her shows). But all in all this is a great performance, from a great icon!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2005
Living in Israel, one of my dreams was to go and see a decent music gig (I mean, none of those U2/Madonna/Phil Collins mega-shows). We rarely got bands like Radiohead, Suede (when they were alive), Supergrass and such. So getting this DVD was the next best thing- and I'm glad I did.
The band plays like a well-tuned instrument. There are hardly any moments of a musician getting out-of-tune and when they do occur, they're insignificant. One of the things that strike you watching this DVD, is how accomplished musicians they all are. For instance, Jon Brookes (the drummer) shines here, as he is free of any studio-recording limitations that mostly cramped his style. Tony Rogers (the keyboardist) also turns out to be a competent replacement to the late-great Rob Collins. As a long-time Charlatans fan, it was always etched in my mind that Collins was better, mainly because it was delivered by the (older) studio material. But here, Rogers gets his chance to show off what he knows, and he doesn't blow it. The rest are doing fine work, hitting the nail on the head every song (of which there are many, covering every studio album the band has recorded bar "Up to our hips").
As for the technical side, the image is good, without too much of those "arty" shots, although it does get blurry and fuzzy sometimes; it seems they wanted you to feel as if you were there- well, as much as possible. Also, the sound quality is as expected, with a choice between 2 ch' Stereo and 5.1 Dolby.
So why only four stars? It's the singer... Pains me to say this (as one of the reasons I love the Charlatans is for Tim Burgess's voice), but I promised myself to be objective; It's not that he's bad, far from it. It just seems as though he's getting to that stage in every rock-singer's career, when the mountain of cigarettes and alcohol has caught up. The problem is that he's not able to be as powerful as the band, and because the music is mostly rock-ish, it can bother to some extent. An example to that can clearly be viewed during "A man needs to be told" which is a laid-back song. Suddenly, Tim is right up with the band, sounding great.
My opinion? All the more reason to buy this DVD, before his voice dies completely. And besides, it really is great music, delivered by a band unlike any other- after all, nobody plays the Charlatans' music better than the Charlatans...
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 April 2015
A lot of the reviews on this page appear to be for a Cyndi Lauper DVD? (Amazon should correct this) But this one is for The Charlatans' The Charlatans: Live at Last - Brixton Academy [DVD].

Recorded at Brixton Academy in December 2004, this is a great live performance, where the boys perform all their major hit singles from the past, as well as drawing heavily on the material from their then current album 'Up at the Lake', which makes for a top set-list. The gig runs at 1 hour, 44 minutes in length, and there is the bonus of a 8 minute interview with the band. This DVD is a must for fans of a rock band that have never really gone out of style, but there's certainly no Cyndi here.

Track listing
1. "Forever"
2. "Up At The Lake"
3. "Apples & Oranges"
4. "Toothache"
5. "Tellin' Stories"
6. "Feel The Pressure"
7. "One To Another"
8. "A Man Needs To Be Told"
9. "My Beautiful Friend"
10. "Impossible"
11. "Can't Even Be Bothered"
12. "Crashin' In"
13. "You're So Pretty"
14. "North Country Boy"
15. "Weirdo"
16. "How High"
17. "Lovin' You Is Easy"
18. "Try Again Today"
19. "Love Is The Key"
20. "The Only One I Know"
21. "Sproston Green"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
At last indeed. Great live dvd, the band look and sound amazing. Playing a great set list, so jealous i wasn't there!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2006
The underated Cyndi Lauper has to be my favourite female vocalist of all time and "Live At Last" proves that not only is she maturing into an incredibly strong standard singer but that her voice is as outstanding as it was when she released "True Colours". I absolutey love this DVD, had forgotten about her for a few years but this renewed my passion for her voice. The only thing disappointing about Cyndi is her reluctance to record new material with her new acoustic album relying on her biggest hits as so many of her latest albums have been. However, there is no denying that she is one of the greatest singers to come out of the 80's and when you watch "Live at Last" (with goosebumps I have to add) you fully appreciate her unique and extremely talented voice. Were Madonna has moved with the times, (she had to really as her voice will never be strong enough to be a standard singer), Cyndi has stuck with what she knows best, her big timeless classics and "I Drove All Night" has to be the most powerful performance of the whole concert, INCREDIBLE!!!. My absolute favourite performance, however, is "If You Go Away", originally a Sinatra song and then covered by Dusty, Cyndi gives this an emotion that to me neither of her predecessors managed. Christina Aguilera is a Cyndi wannabe but I wonder if 20 years from now, she'll be recognised as a great singer with an incredibly unique talent.

I cannot recommend this DVD highly enough, if you're a Cyndi fan (or even if you're not) this is superb!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
played this loads of times what a great voice and personalty and she can play her musical instuments some songs make the hair on your neck stand up buy it
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2006
At long last the most underrated group of the last 15yrs release a reflection of their greatest work.Taking in all but "up to our hips"(Crashin in?)this DVD truly encapsulates the groups experiments and continued improvement.Great photography reveals the magnetism of Tim Burgess and shows a truly intense group of fine musicians-John Brookes a particular highlight-drumming as though his life depended on it!Watch this, and realise why The Guardian once called them Britians best live group.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2009
This concert proved to me that Cyndi Lauper is an underrated and highly talented performer. I really enjoyed this dvd concert and it is a must have for any music video fan.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)