Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only way I've yet found to get "Sea Monsters" in Region 2!, 18 Jun 2010
By 
Beedo Sookcool (Torbay, Devonshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC_Walking with Dinosaurs Specials_Giant Claw_Sea Monsters_Land of the Giants_EU-Import (DVD)
I can't think of anyone I know who has seen the "Walking with Prehistoric Life" shows and not enjoyed them. Taking a "nature documentary" approach to dinosaurs and other ancient creatures, the shows combine science fact, theory, and conjecture, drama, and CGI animation to stunning effect. It is fairly easy to get most of the series and specials (all usually available here on Amazon), but one series seemed to get overlooked and left behind: "Sea Monsters," which I've been trying to track down for YEARS.

This one-disc pack contains two previously-released Nigel Marven specials, "Land of the Giants" and "The Giant Claw," as well as the infuriatingly hard-to-find 3-part "Sea Monsters" mini-series and a few supplementary extras. In fact, as the title of this review states, this is the ONLY place I've managed to find a Region 2 version of the BBC's "Sea Monsters" series, so on that point alone, this set is well worth buying if you want a complete set.

The default setting with this disc is English audio with Nederlands (Dutch) subtitles; the subtitles can be easily switched off. The transfers are good, and the episodes look stunning. Highly recommended for fans of prehistoric life and completists who want the entire BBC "Walking with" collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sea Monsters at last!, 11 Sep 2011
This review is from: BBC_Walking with Dinosaurs Specials_Giant Claw_Sea Monsters_Land of the Giants_EU-Import (DVD)
A must-have for anyone who's collected the Walking With... series. This is the only region 2 release of the three-part Sea Monsters series, and the BBC have stated that there are no plans for a UK release.
Yes, the menu's in Dutch, but it's not too hard to work out that "Ondertiteling aan/uit" switches off the subtitles.
Plus, of course, the episodes are complete, as opposed to the edited-to-fit-an-ad-break versions shown on the UKTV digital repeat channels.
Perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth importing, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: BBC_Walking with Dinosaurs Specials_Giant Claw_Sea Monsters_Land of the Giants_EU-Import (DVD)
Have been after this for my 9 year old for three years. Never released in UK. Very pleased with description. Easy to turn subtitles off as mentioned by other reviewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars we all love it!!, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC_Walking with Dinosaurs Specials_Giant Claw_Sea Monsters_Land of the Giants_EU-Import (DVD)
when this was originally on the tv I videoed the series and my, then 5/6 year old, daughter watched it over and over again and we loved it. I was delighted to find it on dvd for my two younger children (3 & 4); they absolutely love it ..I get demands for "Nigel, Nigel". There are Danish/dutch (I'm not sure) subtitles .. but you don't notice them after a while ..actually it's quite fun trying to read them along with the story. Sadly son stratched the disc badly ..but I will buy another ..it's that good and they are learning a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic Dinosaur Safaris and More, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC_Walking with Dinosaurs Specials_Giant Claw_Sea Monsters_Land of the Giants_EU-Import (DVD)
I already had The Giant Claw and Land of Giants, but was dying to get the Sea Monsters. I think this is the most awesome stuff Nigel Marven ever did on prehistoric safari issues. It is totally different from Jurassic Park, which is not at all about facts. There are some risky moments, but different from 'thriller'-movies. This is scientific stuff, it comes across like any other wildlife tv-safari, and Marvin gets excitingly close to huge dinosaurs. After having seen that stuff, I feel like: So what, this isn't scary at all; we can bring these animals back. It's just beautiful, exciting, awesome and sometimes even cute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a shame it was never released in the UK!, 23 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. N. DURRANT (Hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BBC_Walking with Dinosaurs Specials_Giant Claw_Sea Monsters_Land of the Giants_EU-Import (DVD)
Been meaning to review this one for a while now!

Quite simply the best Dino DVD out there. My son who is nearly 5 loves this DVD the best. He has virtually every Dino DVD available (including some of the awful National Geographic Fight Club ones) and this is his firm favourite by far. Worth while investment but it does pop up cheaper on the net sometimes. Can't praise it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BBC WALKING WITH DINOSAURS SPECIALS GIANT CLAW, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC_Walking with Dinosaurs Specials_Giant Claw_Sea Monsters_Land of the Giants_EU-Import (DVD)
If you enjoyed BBC Walking with Dinosaurs then you will love this dvd as although it is a bit different in style the story is well told and imaginative. The dvd is very well put together and you can almost imagine being back in the time of the dinosaurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: BBC_Walking with Dinosaurs Specials_Giant Claw_Sea Monsters_Land of the Giants_EU-Import (DVD)
These are great entertainment - my kids watch them absolutely spellbound. Just like Steve Irwin (The Crocodile Hunter) but with Dinosaurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews